Posting your rating...
Old Monk The Legend rum

Old Monk The Legend

India | Aged

5.6/10 (18 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
1
1
7
3
2
1

Rate Old Monk The Legend

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


18 Old Monk The Legend ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Mark from Thailand with 24 ratings

I was given this really cool bottle having asked a good friend to bring me a bottle of Old Monk rum back from India. Love the bottle, it looks more like an old Roman Statesman, not a monk. The taste could be more interesting, so I am tempted to infuse this bottle with a hint of spices.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by FilipT from Czech Republic with 42 ratings

Velmi výrazná chuť, která mě neoslovila. A jelikož mám radši jemnější rumy, tak to není nic pro mě.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Matagalpa from Israel with 8 ratings

I bought this at New Delhi airport duty free and was sure 20 USD for 1 liter of positively reviewed rum is a steal, until I tasted it. Not enjoyable for sipping at all. Has a strong aftertaste I can't pinpoint, and it's not pleasant. No issue with sweetness and not all that harsh. It's just that foul aftertaste. I'll update my review once I try to mix it with Coke, but I normally drink rum neat, so that's not a priority.

BTW, the bottle is very nice, but why not invest a few more rupees for a better looking cap and labels?

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Trevor Owens from United States with 5 ratings

Distinctly harsher than rums aged the same amount.

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by PaulB from United Kingdom with 14 ratings

I can't profess to be an expert but I'm guessing that the great age of this has also made it boring. The flavour was heavy with molasses & somewhat flat. There was no spiciness or complexity of aftertaste.
It was drinkable & improved when opened up with a little water or ice but I personally wouldn't ask for it or buy it myself.

Ffffff

Posted 12 days ago by evets0452 from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

Was suprised by this rum, not a bad drink to be honest and a funky bottle to boot. Not many rums come out of India but this is a fair one.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Junkmanuk from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

Had a bit of a jarring taste, not unpleasant but also not a smooth experience either. Not one I would go for again

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Ernie Higgs from Canada with 24 ratings

Drank a lot of this in India as it seemed to be the best available and brought a bottle home. I sip it occasionally but not my favourite by any means. A bit harsh with lingering aftertaste.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Pieter from Belgium with 2 ratings

Drank this in Goa. Nice bottle. Cheap cap.
Caramel and Toffee smell.
More coffee and hints of chocolate in taste. Nothing harsh. Pretty smooth finish.
Taste more like an after dinner liquor that is a bit too sweet.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by John frederick from United States with 42 ratings

Who knew there was such a thing as Indian rum? So my wife recently went to India and came back with this. I read some previous ratings and was little nervous to taste. Smelled decent, more on the sweet side as I prefer. Taste was exactly as it vanilla, cocoa, sugary, but was not too sweet and finished decent. Certainly not the best I've had but grateful to try something I would probably never seen. I think it cost $5US, how can you go bad? Not sure if it's available stateside, I've never seen it anywhere. If it is would love to see what it costs.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by AlexMo from Russian Federation with 143 ratings

The bottle is very original. But the glass and cork are shameful for the 21-year-old rum. The aroma is loud coffee confectionery sharp. There is nothing particularly original in the taste. Of course it is oily, round, sweet and burning hard. The finish is ripe orange and an unpleasant burp. Coordination worsens greatly.