Posting your rating...
Clarkes Court Old Grog rum

Rate Clarkes Court Old Grog

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


16 Clarkes Court Old Grog ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 1 year ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Blackforest banana mousse cake garnished with strawberry and berry compote with drizzles of rich molasses, cotton candy floss sweetened hot coffee to go with it too. Sounds sweet? Indeed, but is not just sugar despite the rather intense cola sweetness. Whiff of strong nutmeg and chinese herb oilmen to keep it fresh. (85/19)

P- Not as fresh and charm as the aroma, thin over smoky oak, herb oilmen still presents and keep it quite comfort on palate. But then soapy and menthol gum emerge that feel rather artificial. (82/17)

F- Short, diluted oak juice, soft, harmless with lingering red fruits. (83/18)

B/B- 83/18

Weighted Rate- 72pt
— at The Rum Bar KL.

Posted about 1 year ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 121 ratings

Nez présent avec des arômes d’épices. Raffiné pour le prix et assez doux en bouche. Pas trop sucré, belle découverte

Posted over 1 year ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 149 ratings

The label in itself makes this rum earning its place at my rum shelf, but I really like it. It’s a very good everyday rum to bring to the table with lots of bananas in nose and taste as well as in the afterburn. Grenada rum is more or less impossible to find in Sweden. Bought this one and a Westerhall from UK.
Pictures: My Grenada shelf & My bar display with my Spanish styled Ron and some English styled in the front.

Posted over 1 year ago by Pascal from Canada with 181 ratings

je me laisse encore du temps pour l évaluer... a venir

Posted almost 2 years ago by Alexandre Rousselle from Canada with 29 ratings

Facile à boire, un peu boisé et épicé. Une belle découverte.

Posted about 2 years ago by Mark from Canada with 59 ratings

First of all I love the cloth sack it comes in - Nice! That said the bottle label is nice too - I'm a sucker for pictures of old time sailing ships.
This rum has a beautiful golden colour with a slight reddish hue. It has a nice syrupy smell accompanied by spices and vanilla with only a hint of alcohol. Sipping it straight was harsh at first, but it actually quite smooth with only a mild burn. This rum makes an excellent mixer with cola - A perfect light balance of spice and fruit (I thought of citrus, although I'm reading people say banana - Hmnnn).

Posted over 2 years ago by Taster from Switzerland with 104 ratings

This is quite a special one with a pretty distinct scent of banana in the nose. Positive: tastes less artificial than Bumbu (also banana). Not very complex though. A bit alcoholic and sharp, not very well balanced.
Serve it on the rocks on a hot summer eve.

5.5

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

This is a decent rum that is hard to come by in the States. Usually, I can only find this in the U.K. Clarkes Court is the largest distillery in Grenada and uses dark molasses to produce this lovely golden colored rum. Smooth with notes of oak, various fruits and spices linger long after the last sip.
Interesting tidbit is that Clarkes Court uses the old technology of steam to run and produce their rums.
Enjoyable neat or mixed...

Posted over 3 years ago by Ty from United States with 5 ratings

Truly the fruitless rum I've ever tasted. Can be difficult to find but well worth picking it up if you can. Very unique from other rums. One of the lightest I've experienced as well.

Posted over 3 years ago by Glen from United States with 50 ratings

But not all of it is good. Smells sweet, tastes like vanilla and bananas, might be good mixed

Posted over 3 years ago by Blacky from Austria with 79 ratings

Den hab ich direkt aus Carriacou bei unserem Segeltörn erworben :-) ist nur für meine Segelfreunde bestimmt :-)

Posted about 4 years ago by Stig Wolff from Denmark with 152 ratings

Jeg har lige været på cruise og der var vi blandt andet på Grenada hvor vi var på besøg på Clarks Court destilleriet.
En af de rom vi kunne smage var denne rom, men for mig som europæer er den frygtelig skarp, den virker ikke færdig, den er så skarp at man ikke kan smage noget.

Posted about 5 years ago by Juno from United States with 51 ratings

Hard to find in the states, I generally have to bring this up from Grenada. Not a spiced rum, but quit spicy. Notes of vanilla, nutmeg, cinnamon, and coffee give this rum a completely unique taste.

Posted over 5 years ago by Chris Williamson from Canada with 81 ratings

went to where it is made had a tour and some tastings it was a great experience the rum is smooth and has nice finish

Posted almost 6 years ago by thefatrumpirate from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

A really lovely banana flavoured rum Excellent when you fancy a change
See the full review at

http://thefatrumpirate.wordpress.com/

https://twitter.com/thefatrumpirate

Posted over 7 years ago by Daniel from United States with 29 ratings

Very heavily spiced. For those who are a spiced rum drinker, this will probably be great for you.