Posting your rating...
Black Magic Black Spiced rum

Black Magic Black Spiced

Caribbean | Aged

6.5/10 (64 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
3
9
10
22
9
5
2

Rate Black Magic Black Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

64 Black Magic Black Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by djbobski from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Stumbled upon this dark spiced rum and thought I’d give it a go based on the amazon reviews. Lovely stuff, easy to drink. Well balanced flavour. Great value for money

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Timothy from United States with 1 rating

Similar to Kraken but smoother finish one of my favorites! Love it neat!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Lonely Coast from United States with 16 ratings

Very sweet with strong caramel and what I guess could best be described as a very sweet vanilla. Maybe a hint of what reminded me of chocolate candied cherry.

In the mouth, comes on very sweet, very thick and syrupy, and surprisingly very smooth. The spiciness kicks in with some oak on the finish, but still pretty smooth. To me though, it seems the smoothness comes only as the result of sugar.

I tried looking this up on the added sugars list but it isn't on there. I'm guessing based on the sweetness there is a lot of sugar added to this rum. While smooth, unless you are into sipping maple syrup, this rum is too sweet to enjoy except as a mixer. At that it does a pretty decent job. In Coke with a splash of lime juice it did very well. But I'd buy Kraken over this.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Lee Riordan from United Kingdom with 19 ratings

I sampled this while in a pub in Ilfracombe, Devon. Not one I would rush to try again

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Adam from Poland with 91 ratings

Sweet spiced rum. You can feel chocolate, carmel and for me little cinnamon. Great color and really good price

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Dan from United Kingdom with 45 ratings

I was surprised to see that some of the reviews of this aren't overly complimentary.

It's very sweet, which I suppose might put people off, but it's also incredibly easy to knock back.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Ellis from United Kingdom with 19 ratings

Edges to a 9 due to the price point. I have a sweet tooth so love the caramel taste with vanilla that is evident and I find easy to drink neat which I can't say for Kraken. If you don't have a sweet tooth then Kraken would be more your taste.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Chris L from United Kingdom with 77 ratings

Like a mix between Kraken and Rebellion. Nice very sweet flavour, well spiced with a warming aftertaste.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by CaptainGreen (PREMIUM) from United States with 54 ratings

Avast! I do enjoy me a sweet sippin' rum, and this be a right dandy. She smells sweet, like sugary candy, with kola, cinnamon, and a hint of cloves. No oak or hint of aging. As for taste, cinnamon got the drop on me first, but on later sips, I got vanilla, then toffee, then cinnamon, then other spices. She smells sweet, but she not be tastin' TOO sweet, but then she finishes off like she were too sweet after all. This lass be all over the shippin' lanes in that regard. Smooth tho. Not much burn goin' down the hatch. This be a fine rum to share with the crew, or to keep on hand for those landlubbers new to rum...

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by felix31x from Chile with 33 ratings

Very sweet with a hint of artificial vanilla, not too bad but kraken is still better

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Konrey from Poland with 3 ratings

Ciekawy smak aczkolwiek lekko za słodki dla mnie. Gładki smak który nie razi podniebienia.