Posting your rating...
Black Magic Black Spiced rum

Rate Black Magic Black Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


57 Black Magic Black Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by Michael N from United States with 69 ratings

Side by side with kraken it’s tough to tell the difference, except this one is not as bad. Drinkable if you had to, in a mix it might be ok.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Lonely Coast from United States with 16 ratings

Very sweet with strong caramel and what I guess could best be described as a very sweet vanilla. Maybe a hint of what reminded me of chocolate candied cherry.

In the mouth, comes on very sweet, very thick and syrupy, and surprisingly very smooth. The spiciness kicks in with some oak on the finish, but still pretty smooth. To me though, it seems the smoothness comes only as the result of sugar.

I tried looking this up on the added sugars list but it isn't on there. I'm guessing based on the sweetness there is a lot of sugar added to this rum. While smooth, unless you are into sipping maple syrup, this rum is too sweet to enjoy except as a mixer. At that it does a pretty decent job. In Coke with a splash of lime juice it did very well. But I'd buy Kraken over this.

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Had a rum tasting on a sunny afternoon, because why not. Black Magic Black Spiced Rum bottle and label design looks very quirky in a positive way. Quite dark brown color from artificial flavoring. Strong alcohol, caramel, vanilla and a plethora of artificial flavors to the nose and palate. Strong burn at the end. Barely mixable.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Timothy from United States with 1 rating

Similar to Kraken but smoother finish one of my favorites! Love it neat!

Posted about 2 years ago by Lee Riordan from United Kingdom with 19 ratings

I sampled this while in a pub in Ilfracombe, Devon. Not one I would rush to try again

Posted over 2 years ago by Adam from Poland with 86 ratings

Sweet spiced rum. You can feel chocolate, carmel and for me little cinnamon. Great color and really good price

Posted over 2 years ago by Dan from United Kingdom with 32 ratings

I was surprised to see that some of the reviews of this aren't overly complimentary.

It's very sweet, which I suppose might put people off, but it's also incredibly easy to knock back.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Ellis from United Kingdom with 19 ratings

Edges to a 9 due to the price point. I have a sweet tooth so love the caramel taste with vanilla that is evident and I find easy to drink neat which I can't say for Kraken. If you don't have a sweet tooth then Kraken would be more your taste.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Chris L from United Kingdom with 78 ratings

Like a mix between Kraken and Rebellion. Nice very sweet flavour, well spiced with a warming aftertaste.

Posted about 1 month ago by Konrey from Poland with 3 ratings

Ciekawy smak aczkolwiek lekko za słodki dla mnie. Gładki smak który nie razi podniebienia.

Posted 4 months ago by Rhun from United States with 11 ratings

I stumbled across this - literally; the case was in the middle of a dark aisle floor - and decided to try it. I’m not usually a fan of spiced rums, but this one has a very interesting flavor and a clean finish. Afterwards, I kept thinking about it and could still taste a honey - vanillla. Still thinking about it. Perhaps that’s the magic.

Posted at The Steamboat 5 months ago by Music4Beer from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

This rum of mid amber hue has a hot mouth burn but sweet first taste of vanilla and toffee.

Posted 5 months ago by Slick72 from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

Very smooth and a nice caramel taste and nice dark colour

Posted 6 months ago by MityMo69 from United States with 3 ratings

This was so bad, I could clean the inside of a gun barrel with it. I could sprinkle it out on the lawn and it would kill snails. Before I bought I went on Google and looked for ratings and reviews. This bottle of death somehow got 4 out of 5 stars on most sites. These reviewers either had to be employees of the company that makes this, friends and family of the guy who makes this or people so angry with their lives they think drinking formaldehyde mixed with antiseptic mixed with battery acid will get them out of their misery and to the next life quickly since they are prohibited from buying guns and are on the fence about a gallon of Clorox doing the job.

As I mentioned in my earlier posts, most people don't get Black Spiced Rum ("BSR") It is a mixer, not to be partaken of neat. And it must be chilled, served in a chilled glass. I've read from people who drink it warm, or pull straight from the bottle. Read the above about people who hate their lives and are angry, empty and burned to a cinder inside. You can drink it neat, you just shouldn't. It is meant to enjoy, not to entice one to consider committing felonies. Especially not against small furry animals.

If you drank this and thought your world had changed for the better. Learn to love yourself. Grab a bottle of Jonahs Curse or Doubloons. Chill it, mix it/cut it, serve it in a chilled glass and sit back and treat yourself to a fine reward. Enjoy with a cigar (May I recommend Nat Sherman Metropolitan Bankers, Gordo size), cig (I smoke Chief Stix CBD or Camel Platinum) and perhaps a really nice steak. Or really good Szechwan. Live a little. Enjoy life. Reward yourself.

Don't punish yourself by picking up a bottle of this. Bad. Just plain bad. It deserves the lowest award. Here we go: Crap-crap-crappy-crap. Bullshit-bullshit-bullshit.

Posted 7 months ago by Hulohulo from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

Being a sweet tooth the rum appealing to me, only downside is the bitter aftertaste if taken neat.

Posted 7 months ago by Anthony Lomas from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

Smooth and good with a mixer, particularly if you have a sweet tooth.
I enjoyed this rum, as described in a previous review, similar to kraken but smoother and preferential.

Posted 7 months ago by hrh from Bulgaria with 20 ratings

It is really tasty. It has strong vanilla and caramel flavor.

Posted 8 months ago by djbobski from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Stumbled upon this dark spiced rum and thought I’d give it a go based on the amazon reviews. Lovely stuff, easy to drink. Well balanced flavour. Great value for money

Posted 8 months ago by Patricebru (PREMIUM) from France with 28 ratings

more caramel flavour than Kraken, but very similar, sweeter

Posted 9 months ago by je_farley from United States with 98 ratings

Nose has many different spice with just a hint of the alcohol. One of the few spiced rums that I have sipped that can be a sipper, full body with a touch of burn, very nice, I loved it mixed with cola and citrus but very special in ginger ale, I look forward to blending it in some other drinks in place of traditional rums.

Read some of the complaints about Black Magic but I personally like it and will keep it i my bar as a solid spiced rum and a great value.

Posted about 1 year ago by Kodanik from Estonia with 5 ratings

My favorite black spiced rum among Captain Morgan and Kraken

Posted about 1 year ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Cola candy, vanilla and coconut layered. Creme caramel and milky white coffee. Roasted almond coated with cocoa powder. Recognizable fragrant and not overwhelm with sugar like some other brand does. (19/25)

P- Acceptable sweetness with light texture letting the usual vanilla and spices to come thru effortlessly, notable assam-boi and preserved calamansi juice for extra dimension. (20/25)

F- Short-medium, like the zing of salted calamansi freshness. (19/25)

B/B- 20/25

Weighted Rate- 78pt
— at The Rum Bar KL.

Posted over 1 year ago by Bladerunner26354 from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Nice and smooth one of the nicest spiced rums i have had the pleasure to try

Posted over 1 year ago by NewMenace from Romania with 13 ratings

Tried it neat. Chocolate, caramel,vanilla and cinnamon are the dominant notes of this rum. Fairly sweet but super smooth. Decent for the price, it is a better sipper than the Kraken rum but a worse mixer.

Posted over 1 year ago by Ts from United States with 1 rating

Color and label are good. Open that bottle up.....whoa! Get ready for heartburn and rotgut. Know that nothing you could mix with this will make it better. NOTHING! If you do drink it, get ready for the weirdest nightmares. Oh, and not even a hint of caramel or rum smell.




#