Posting your rating...
Black Magic Black Spiced rum

Black Magic Black Spiced

Caribbean | Aged

6.4/10
72 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
4
11
11
24
10
6
2

Rate Black Magic Black Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

72 Black Magic Black Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Vince11881 from United States with 26 ratings

Honestly I’d have to do a side by side to taste the difference, but this is essentially Kraken. A supposed black strap molasses rum, that is sweet, smooth and syrupy. However the artificial flavors of vanilla, and the obvious Carmel coloring and strong post-distillation sugar make me wonder how much of this magic is meant to cover up a mediocre rum at best. I’d assume that hangovers are in store for repeat offenders of this dark rum. I’ve definitely had worse but that’s not in any way a recommendation. Unless you’re looking for a sugar coma steer clear.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by TJ from United States with 3 ratings

Strong, bold black rum, very good flavor and alcohol content. This rum finishes smooth without the burn for me.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by DeanH from United Kingdom with 30 ratings

Familiar spiced rum aromas. A bit harsh neat with a warm and slightly rough edge. Sweet vanilla and caramel confine this to the "with coke " department. I'm a fan so ok for me

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Chris Maler from United States with 3 ratings

This rum attempst to cash in on the Kraken name, it's an okay Black spiced, but the flavor is lacking. I tasted more licorice than vanilla. Not a deal breaker, but nothing to write home about.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Keith Brockmiller from United States with 26 ratings

I haven't had Kraken in a long time, but since they are adjacent on the shelf, this is what one is supposed to assume, I assume. It is quite good, easy to drink. Even good for sipping. Not as sweet as some of the "candy rums" but fairly well balanced. Almost seems to be geared to getting drunk. Woke up this morning and that seems to be what happened.
I like it. Due to the events of the day, I really needed to unwind. Did that and more.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Piotr from Poland with 42 ratings

Dark, sweet, with strong accents of caramel, vanilla and cynamon, this rum is a very fine budget version of Kraken, quite similar in taste and overall flavor.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 488 ratings

Not your usual spiced rum that overpowers in vanilla... Suttle and clever in flavour but still a mixing rum

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Lyle from United States with 8 ratings

Initially tried it on its own and found it to have a strong burnt taste that was hard to get down. I enjoyed the vanilla in it tho and found that when mixed with coke it tasted like good cream soda.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by james Ford from United States with 27 ratings

I actually preferred this one neat rather than mixed. As soon as you crack this one open you detect a moderate maple aroma and hints of vanilla greet your tongue. A decent price for the product as well.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Garbage man from United States with 11 ratings

I believe everyone that comes across this will see it as a discounted kraken. If you were to do a blind test you would easily be able to differentiate between the two. For price it's really not a bad rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Matthew Judd from United States with 4 ratings

I came across this one next to kraken and saw it was cheaper and came with a 2 liter of Coke and a shot glass. So why not? It seemed very similar to kraken but taste and aroma told me they were different. I didn't get swept away with the sweet smell that seeps out of kraken. It indeed had that aroma I pictured potions from Harry Potter would emit. For price taste wasn't that bad. not a kraken but for a black spiced rum I think it was enjoyable.