Posting your rating...
Black Magic Black Spiced rum

Black Magic Black Spiced

Caribbean | Aged

6.4/10
72 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
4
11
11
24
10
6
2

Rate Black Magic Black Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

72 Black Magic Black Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Vince11881 from United States with 26 ratings

Honestly I’d have to do a side by side to taste the difference, but this is essentially Kraken. A supposed black strap molasses rum, that is sweet, smooth and syrupy. However the artificial flavors of vanilla, and the obvious Carmel coloring and strong post-distillation sugar make me wonder how much of this magic is meant to cover up a mediocre rum at best. I’d assume that hangovers are in store for repeat offenders of this dark rum. I’ve definitely had worse but that’s not in any way a recommendation. Unless you’re looking for a sugar coma steer clear.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 29 ratings

This rum is a great addition to the collection. It starts off sweet, middle is a oak taste and then ends with a rich finish of spices that will leave your taste buds tingling. If you like to try something different than the norm than I would suggest grabbing a bottle of black magic for your collection.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Xavier from France with 6 ratings

Doux et des notes prononcées de bonbon caramélisé avec un peu de vanille. Plaisant au palet mais on s’éloigne de la cane à sucre.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Aaron from Canada with 69 ratings

A blast of HEFTY caramel sweetness on the tip of the tongue. Washes to a toffee finish. Notes of caramel on all levels. No other real way to describe it. Very unique. Quite interesting.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Michael N from United States with 73 ratings

Side by side with kraken it’s tough to tell the difference, except this one is not as bad. Drinkable if you had to, in a mix it might be ok.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Handsome Alex from United States with 88 ratings

Poured neat, it has a nice aroma of chocolate and caramel with a slight tickle of the nose that hints of the 94 proof. The first taste gives you that caramel, with maybe a bit of toffee, but also the oaky spiciness. It does leave behind a bit of oily sweetness, however, that would knock it out of a sipping category. Makes a decent rum and coke, or maybe even a pina colada.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by John from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

Interestinh arwork on bottle similar to kraken in a lot of ways just falls short of the mark.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Siim from Estonia with 1 rating

First rum I bought that wasn't some random carriage for mixing. Really smooth and silky dark rum. I did drink it neat. If mixed with coke it got way too sweet in my opinion.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Marc from Netherlands with 30 ratings

Still not sure what to think of this one.
It's not bad with a coke and is almost like kraken, but just not the same.
Kraken is also not top of the line spiced rum but compared to this one I think I enjoy kraken just a bit more.
Black Magic is not bad but for a spiced rum but it seems to be missing something that makes it stand out of other black spiced rum's.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by rumroel from Netherlands with 22 ratings

Dit is bijna net zo erg als de Schotse rum.
Rare zoete smaak iets van drop en kerst kruiden

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Lezizmo from Belgium with 42 ratings

Ok Black rum but I think the Kraken has just a bit more to offer.