Posting your rating...
Bayou Select rum

Bayou Select

United States | Aged

Bayou Select rum, a version of their base Bayou Rum that’s aged in used bourbon barrels for up to three years (with the traditional solera method) and bottled at 80 proof.

via American Rum Report

6.4/10 (37 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
1
5
10
8
7
2
1

Rate Bayou Select

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


37 Bayou Select ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

I'm generally not a big fan of American rums, but the Bayou (and also the Koloa) is one of the best.

Smells and tastes slightly sweet with sugar, spice, maple, oak, and perhaps a light hint of bourbon.

This is a nice rum that might do even better with age. The bottle doesn't say how long it's been aged, but I suspect it's still very young.

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 126 ratings

At first pour, a sipper with a small bite. After sitting for a bit, the bite is subdued and the slight astringency has disappeared. This will be a very good rum in 5 more years i think.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

This rum has so much potential but falls just a tad short. The color is a deep amber. It has a bit of an edginess in aroma...stinging the nose a bit. Hints of being harsh. It initially has an interesting molasses flavor with a little vanilla but fades into a bit overly hard oak tone. The burn is a bit harsher than I like. It's a good mixing rum especially in sweeter drinks (the dry aftertaste would counter the sweet well) and does well in Coke Zero but needs to be aged several more years to raise it to sipping rum status. This rum has so much potential and I sincerely hope they have more barrels of this in reserve to bring out in several more years.

I've tried their other rums (Silver, Spiced, and Satsuma) since they are readily sold locally here in this section of Florida. The Select is not and I had to go to Louisiana to get a bottle. It's pretty good stuff but I think it would be much, much better if aged longer.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 127 ratings

I'm usually a molasses man, but I do like to expand into sugar cane, and this is a good, inexpensive expression. Not so refined as the French ones, but to me that's not necessarily a bad thing. Burst of sweetness on the body is appealing and not so typical of cane rums, but its nice. Smooth and easy to drink. Not the greatest rum, but very drinkable AND when the price is taken into account, not bad.

I always like to have different rums on board. It gives me a break from the great ones that I have and makes me appreciate them more when I come back to them. Having said that, that's a bit negative about this rum as its more than acceptable.

There is a problem though.... the Bayou Single Barrel which is only a little more expensive.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Freek Lambrechts from Belgium with 40 ratings

Like it in cocktails, but not as a sipper. When you drink it as a sipper, you can smell and taste the agricole.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 334 ratings

I have long put off trying this one from Bayou since I was not at all pleased with their Spiced and Satsuma. Since I am now experimenting with Martiniquan agricoles and this one from Louisiana was on sale for $27, so I figured why not. I honestly was not expecting much when I got it home.

It starts off with 100% sugar cane juice from Louisiana and it is fermented with cane yeast. It is then distilled in copper pots before aging in American oak barrels. My bottle is from Batch 1704. Agricoles tend to pick up too much of the charred barrel taste, so lengthy aging times are not necessary. This one was wisely aged just right, but there is no age statement. My guess would be 3-4 years. Others have stated that it needs more aging, but that would indeed ruin this rhum. It has minimal vegetal and floral notes. The aroma and taste remind me of a toned down version of Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva, which is maybe why I like it. The sweetness is perfect with only an estimated 9 gpl of added sugar, which qualifies it to border on being semi-dry. This added sugar also would disqualify it in being a true rhum agricole. It also does not make a good Mai Tai.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 124 ratings

I like the bayou brand. This is a good sipper. I probably prefer it to the spiced.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 427 ratings

Not a good dark rum at all ... Very bad flavour and blend cheating the market

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by NYCRummy from United States with 3 ratings

Nice color on this rum. From there I'd like to see them age this more and reduce the burn on the backend.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by N Bishop from United States with 18 ratings

I was pleasantly surprised to find this rum today, Bayou spiced is one of my favorite rums. I have enjoyed everything that the Bayou company has put out so far, and this one is no exception. For a little less than twice the price of the regular Bayou you get a very smooth flavorful sipping rum. I do find this one to be more of a classic rum flavor than the regular spiced Bayou, but don't let that fool you, this rum tastes better than anything else at this price point. This reminds me of a rum I bought in Costa Rica, Ron Centenario Anejo Especial. Great rum to sip on in the winter.