Posting your rating...
Bayou Select rum

Bayou Select

United States | Aged

Bayou Select rum, a version of their base Bayou Rum that’s aged in used bourbon barrels for up to three years (with the traditional solera method) and bottled at 80 proof.

via American Rum Report

6.4/10
42 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
2
5
11
9
8
2
2

Rate Bayou Select

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

42 Bayou Select ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by James from United States with 29 ratings

Not a bad rum, but not a great rum. Has a good nose and the initial hit is a combination of molasses and oak. Finish is a bit weak and has nutmeg undertones.

Frankly this rum could use more time in a barrel and I would like to see it come at barrel proof instead of 80 proof. I really think there is a lot of flavor there, but Bayou waters it down. The potential is there.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 468 ratings

I'm generally not a big fan of American rums, but the Bayou (and also the Koloa) is one of the best.

Smells and tastes slightly sweet with sugar, spice, maple, oak, and perhaps a light hint of bourbon.

This is a nice rum that might do even better with age. The bottle doesn't say how long it's been aged, but I suspect it's still very young.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 131 ratings

At first pour, a sipper with a small bite. After sitting for a bit, the bite is subdued and the slight astringency has disappeared. This will be a very good rum in 5 more years i think.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 124 ratings

I like the bayou brand. This is a good sipper. I probably prefer it to the spiced.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

This rum has so much potential but falls just a tad short. The color is a deep amber. It has a bit of an edginess in aroma...stinging the nose a bit. Hints of being harsh. It initially has an interesting molasses flavor with a little vanilla but fades into a bit overly hard oak tone. The burn is a bit harsher than I like. It's a good mixing rum especially in sweeter drinks (the dry aftertaste would counter the sweet well) and does well in Coke Zero but needs to be aged several more years to raise it to sipping rum status. This rum has so much potential and I sincerely hope they have more barrels of this in reserve to bring out in several more years.

I've tried their other rums (Silver, Spiced, and Satsuma) since they are readily sold locally here in this section of Florida. The Select is not and I had to go to Louisiana to get a bottle. It's pretty good stuff but I think it would be much, much better if aged longer.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by N Bishop from United States with 18 ratings

I was pleasantly surprised to find this rum today, Bayou spiced is one of my favorite rums. I have enjoyed everything that the Bayou company has put out so far, and this one is no exception. For a little less than twice the price of the regular Bayou you get a very smooth flavorful sipping rum. I do find this one to be more of a classic rum flavor than the regular spiced Bayou, but don't let that fool you, this rum tastes better than anything else at this price point. This reminds me of a rum I bought in Costa Rica, Ron Centenario Anejo Especial. Great rum to sip on in the winter.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Rsvec from Austria with 80 ratings

Not much good is coming from the US - only the South has its merits. BAYOU is a cool brand with nice rums

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 139 ratings

I'm usually a molasses man, but I do like to expand into sugar cane, and this is a good, inexpensive expression. Not so refined as the French ones, but to me that's not necessarily a bad thing. Burst of sweetness on the body is appealing and not so typical of cane rums, but its nice. Smooth and easy to drink. Not the greatest rum, but very drinkable AND when the price is taken into account, not bad.

I always like to have different rums on board. It gives me a break from the great ones that I have and makes me appreciate them more when I come back to them. Having said that, that's a bit negative about this rum as its more than acceptable.

There is a problem though.... the Bayou Single Barrel which is only a little more expensive.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by evvyemz from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

Boy, what a find! I enjoy rum & bourbon and this is two in one. Aged in oak barrels, it is definitely flavourful and perfect for when you can't decide between the two spirits.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Freek Lambrechts from Belgium with 40 ratings

Like it in cocktails, but not as a sipper. When you drink it as a sipper, you can smell and taste the agricole.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Chet from United States with 193 ratings

Very nice rum, this is definitely Bayou's best. I would rate it at a 8.5. I have only tasted this stuff neat and it was very enjoyable from the nose to the finish. Definitely more complex than their other rums and more of a mans rum with less sweetness. Good Stuff!