Posting your rating...
Bayou Satsuma rum

Bayou Satsuma

United States | Flavored

6.6/10 (14 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
6
4

Rate Bayou Satsuma

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


14 Bayou Satsuma ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 436 ratings

This is a very good orange rum. It has a fantastic nose and a nice taste. My biggest complaint is that it is weak at 30%abv, and for that reason I definitely prefer the Clement Creole Shrubb (40%) and the Santa Teresa Orange Rhum (40%) which are similar, but better. Still a very good orange rum, ESPECIALLY if you find 40% too strong for you.

38fdc1cc00a9074ddaebecec187e9a27.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 191 ratings

Sugar: estimated at 80 gpl.
This is not rum, and the label is honest about that as it does state that it's an orange rum liqueur. The rum part is smooth enough and it has a very nice aroma of oranges, but drinking this will put you into a sugar coma. I tried it on the rocks, with club soda, and in a Hurricane, but it failed. I suppose that with some effort you could come up with a decent orange flavored rum drink. There is some potential but with so many good rums on the market I think it's a waste of rum time.

Ee9838836519cd539b0dcbab5771c048.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by N Bishop from United States with 18 ratings

Everything I've had from Bayou has been fantastic and this is no different. This rum has a sweet satsuma flavor with minimal bite, I enjoyed it most just on the rocks as a nice sipping rum in the heat of the summer. I tried a variety of sodas and mixers but none of them really caught my fancy. It was interesting mixed with regular Mountain Dew, might also work in Mountain Dew Live Wire. I would have liked to have found a really good mixer. This is one of those rums that's great to break out at a rum tasting, great to have on hand.

C35fa30af9df3e0ff30d52a8aff4e1b4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Doug Buhler from Canada with 4 ratings

Finally a rum my wife will drink. Great straight on rocks. But I love it with Coke Zero.

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

This is actually labeled Bayou Satsuma Rum Liqueur and comes in at 30% ABV rather than the normal 40% or higher ABV for rum. Also it's not for everyone considering it's quite sweet with the Satsuma flavor. With that said I like it. To me it's as if someone used a good, smooth rum in a 16oz bottle of Diet Sunkist orange soda (or Diet Orange Nehi, or Diet Orange Crush...you get the picture). That's not necessarily a bad thing but unique enough where many just won't care for it. It isn't all that bad straight either once you get used to its sweetness and citrus flavor. This would be an interesting rum in various mixed drinks...maybe a "Satsuma Hurricane"?

75b8f08cf418bb4298456d76635b7821.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Ubertulsons from Latvia with 7 ratings

Sweet fruity, like aperativ, sip slowly, apricot aroma

Cc134864b09cc356cd1c0c3a6d676b20.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 11 months ago by TheGolfBallGuy from United States with 10 ratings

I'm planning to use it in the place of orange liqueur for cocktails.

61ed3a196a5a4359a40670104e6148e1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 310 ratings

It is late autumn in southeast Louisiana, which means that satsumas are in season. At 80 gpl of added sugar, I have been long hesitant in buying a bottle of this. However, after stuffing a duck with satsumas for Thanksgiving, I told myself WTF and bought a bottle of this for only $15 more than a week later.

Somehow, this distiller does indeed capture the flavor of satsumas, which is a close relative to the mandarin. Both are naturally sweet. This distiller does not lie and states on the label that it is only a 30% ABV rum liqueur.

I cannot see myself sipping this one neat, but when drinks such as the Mai Tai or Goombay Smash call for an orange flavored liqueur, this one should work quite well. Since Clement Creole Shrubb is somewhat hard to find where I live and this one is always on my grocer's shelf, this makes a great substitute. However, no matter what quantity of this stuff that I use, it ruins a perfectly good Margarita.

Update 19 days later: This rum liqueur has great flavor, but is so disgustingly sweet that it cannot be consumed any way. For a Mai Tai, I would rather use orange juice instead of this syrup. I now drop my rating from a 6 to a 4. (Notice that I never use the word "cloying" to describe excessive sweetness. No one has ever accused me of being a gentleman, since I have always been brutally honest.)

B137f73cad20358ef2f866b5e883cc19.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

Very nice from the bottle to the finish. Excellent flavor, ya it’s not your typical rum but take it for what it is and you will enjoy it. I like it neat or you can float a shot to your current rum and coke and kick it up a notch. Great price at 15$. Good stuff.

77ee3321eb363abcc00d7e770720bfa7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Joseph Blossman from United States with 40 ratings

Probably the best of the Bayou line. However, this to me is more like a rum version of Grand Marie or Cointeau. After trying it I put it in in some home-aid daiquiris with capt morg, and pineapple coconut daquori mix.

37d91b016394262a265950be9e19991a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Mike from United States with 6 ratings

Good for what it is I like it now to come up with some drinks.