Posting your rating...
Dark Matter Spiced rum

Dark Matter Spiced

United Kingdom | Spiced

6.5/10 (43 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
9
7
7
10
2
3

Rate Dark Matter Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


43 Dark Matter Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

52acf3a11e3f6acf119061d53fc090d2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Nathan from United Kingdom with 35 ratings

Friend got me Dark Matter. I'm not keen on it but still waiting to see if it grows on me, doubt it will.

It's the same mouth feel you get after drinking ginger beer, which I don't like. It's very heavy on the cloves and I don't get much else from it, so I find it quite one dimensional, whereas Rumbullion had a kaleidoscope effect.

5/10

96f7ccff0e28f094c864e0408bf5a374.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Ellis from United Kingdom with 19 ratings

The marmite of the rum world. Guy who recommended it at our local spirit and wine shop compared it to spicy Hot Cross Bunswhile his brother stated that he hates it. The smell is overwhelming as if the rum is going to be very harsh. Surprisingly, there is no burn at all but leaves a very warm tingly belly. It has a bug taste of cloves and the spicy hot cross buns reference was actually accurate.

I think you just need to try this rum and not rely on reviews as much as on other rums as it is very divisive. However, I am interested to see what more this new distillery produces over the coming years

A1fe2aa8ab593703e4f33edb37c79fa2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Reduced root-beer syrup infused with star anise and caraway. Dark caramelize apricot, subtle ashy tobacco notes and tangy mashed ginger underlay. Sweet but not cloying. (86/20)

P- Bold, heavily ginger with spiciness that excites, chewy ginger flower fragrant. May not taste in the gene of rum and more of a liqueur, but in a good way. Nicely infused with upfront and earthy character. (87/21)

F- Long, heavily infused, macadamia with spicy mix, sweet liquorice, warming molasses ginger syrup. Stir in some pure honey and this would make a rather 'healthy' booze in a cold Scottish night. (89/22)

B/B- 87/21

Weighted Rate- 84pt
— at The Rum Bar KL.

366bfe030bff3208fb63e802a6538e99.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted at The Rum Bar KL about 2 years ago by Terence from Malaysia with 56 ratings

It's a spiced rum for sure. Peppery, ginger spiced with prominent cloves and cardamom. It like munching marshmallow with a glass of ginger beer with tons of spices.

Earthy and herbicious which I enjoy very much (perhaps too much of angustura bitter shots lately, Malaysian Bartender's handshake) follow with gingery spice with touch of caramel. Ginger bread man!

Peppery, chili, gingery bite on the finishing. Follow with prominent sweet spices such as clove.

Might not suit everyone's palate unless they love gingery spicy food. Definitely not sugary sweet compare to many spiced rum.

B1cf2adf3349294644a682aff0db8d27.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Craig from United Kingdom with 22 ratings

I don't know if I got caught on a bad day or I poured heavy measures but It was going down pretty well but I don't normally get a bad head drinking rum but this stuff certainly gave me a sore head the next day lol. Will try it again tho

4ce5618981f3012b2b1576dc8518c64e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by J12kef from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

Was bought this as a Christmas present and I wasn’t too keen at first taste but the further I get through the bottle the more it grows on me, now half way through the bottle and I’d certainly buy this again. Stronger to the taste (not %) than some of my other normal rums but still goes down smooth, a very strong clove taste throughout with a smokeyness to it.

900f18e134f3195eb6653736dff54cb8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Samuelsbay from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

Gifted to me so already a winner, I went in open minded and neutral (ish). Pleasantly surprised at how quickly I adjusted to it when I added ice. Good enough to sip like that and was a guarded bottle, so that’s a good sign. Clever people the Scots. Need to refine the chemical balancing a wee bit so it is untraceable.

B90c777f805057fb7c21988ba2efca4e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 months ago by Smeds04 from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Has a unique spicyness to it that hits the spot. Totally recommend

480ef348d301b74b6c943075ad62610a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Loscoles@yahoo.co.uk from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

Fabulous taste and full bodied. Packs a punch and delivers a long lasting taste.

1ff411bfcccd22dfd62797e5fce75cb4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by anoinoz from Australia with 9 ratings

what a surprise this was. Was recommended it as “something special that’ll surprise you”. Surprised I was. As noted below, the rum is quite smooth, even though you’d expect otherwise from the aroma. But the spice. Chilli, peppery, gives you a warm inside feel. very peculiar and great for it

Ba87ca8f38a8998f6b6431a5e0cb5fa9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Canadian Captain from Canada with 55 ratings

Nice golden color. Strong aroma. Seems like it will be harsh. Smells strongly of cloves, ginger, maybe cardamom. Spicy.

At the first sip, surprisingly smooth. Peppery taste lingers. Gingery bite. (Wonder how it would be in a dark and stormy?). Obviously flavored, you almost miss the alcohol in it. I'm sure it's young rums, but it's not harsh at all. Very interesting. This is a very tasty sipper. I didn't try mixing it, especially not with Coke.

Not a sweet rum. But very tasty. Would be delicious in sauces. But if you like spicy, and cloves, cardamom, ginger... This is very worth trying.