Posting your rating...
Dark Matter Spiced rum

Dark Matter Spiced

United Kingdom | Spiced

6.4/10 (45 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
9
7
7
10
2
3

Rate Dark Matter Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


45 Dark Matter Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 427 ratings

For something brewed in the uk where molasses does not grow this is stunning,with an aniseed effect. this is unique as most spiced rums are sweet.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Ellis from United Kingdom with 19 ratings

The marmite of the rum world. Guy who recommended it at our local spirit and wine shop compared it to spicy Hot Cross Bunswhile his brother stated that he hates it. The smell is overwhelming as if the rum is going to be very harsh. Surprisingly, there is no burn at all but leaves a very warm tingly belly. It has a bug taste of cloves and the spicy hot cross buns reference was actually accurate.

I think you just need to try this rum and not rely on reviews as much as on other rums as it is very divisive. However, I am interested to see what more this new distillery produces over the coming years

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Reduced root-beer syrup infused with star anise and caraway. Dark caramelize apricot, subtle ashy tobacco notes and tangy mashed ginger underlay. Sweet but not cloying. (86/20)

P- Bold, heavily ginger with spiciness that excites, chewy ginger flower fragrant. May not taste in the gene of rum and more of a liqueur, but in a good way. Nicely infused with upfront and earthy character. (87/21)

F- Long, heavily infused, macadamia with spicy mix, sweet liquorice, warming molasses ginger syrup. Stir in some pure honey and this would make a rather 'healthy' booze in a cold Scottish night. (89/22)

B/B- 87/21

Weighted Rate- 84pt
— at The Rum Bar KL.

Ffffff

Posted at The Rum Bar KL over 2 years ago by Terence from Malaysia with 56 ratings

It's a spiced rum for sure. Peppery, ginger spiced with prominent cloves and cardamom. It like munching marshmallow with a glass of ginger beer with tons of spices.

Earthy and herbicious which I enjoy very much (perhaps too much of angustura bitter shots lately, Malaysian Bartender's handshake) follow with gingery spice with touch of caramel. Ginger bread man!

Peppery, chili, gingery bite on the finishing. Follow with prominent sweet spices such as clove.

Might not suit everyone's palate unless they love gingery spicy food. Definitely not sugary sweet compare to many spiced rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Craig from United Kingdom with 22 ratings

I don't know if I got caught on a bad day or I poured heavy measures but It was going down pretty well but I don't normally get a bad head drinking rum but this stuff certainly gave me a sore head the next day lol. Will try it again tho

Ffffff

Posted 9 days ago by Dave from United Kingdom with 18 ratings

The jury is out on this not smooth enough too clovey!

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by J12kef from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

Was bought this as a Christmas present and I wasn’t too keen at first taste but the further I get through the bottle the more it grows on me, now half way through the bottle and I’d certainly buy this again. Stronger to the taste (not %) than some of my other normal rums but still goes down smooth, a very strong clove taste throughout with a smokeyness to it.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Samuelsbay from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

Gifted to me so already a winner, I went in open minded and neutral (ish). Pleasantly surprised at how quickly I adjusted to it when I added ice. Good enough to sip like that and was a guarded bottle, so that’s a good sign. Clever people the Scots. Need to refine the chemical balancing a wee bit so it is untraceable.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Smeds04 from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Has a unique spicyness to it that hits the spot. Totally recommend

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Loscoles@yahoo.co.uk from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

Fabulous taste and full bodied. Packs a punch and delivers a long lasting taste.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by anoinoz from Australia with 9 ratings

what a surprise this was. Was recommended it as “something special that’ll surprise you”. Surprised I was. As noted below, the rum is quite smooth, even though you’d expect otherwise from the aroma. But the spice. Chilli, peppery, gives you a warm inside feel. very peculiar and great for it