Posting your rating...
Vigia Gran Reserva 18-Year rum

Vigia Gran Reserva 18-Year

Colombia | Aged

6.7/10 (18 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
4
4
1
3
2
2

Rate Vigia Gran Reserva 18-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


18 Vigia Gran Reserva 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Elgrande from Cuba with 56 ratings

Very well balanced and aromatic. Sweet fruity entrance followed by a dry finish.
Great choice for those who look for a good price/taste option amongst the Cuban high class rums.
The rum is named after the Finca La Vigía, the Cuban residence of Ernest Hemingway. The red sign on the bottle is Hemingways family crest.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by LuxAlpha from Luxembourg with 7 ratings

I found it rather disappointing for a rum that claims 18 years of aging. The taste is somewhat one dimensional, it's on the dry side. Without being unpleasant, I can't really call it enjoyable. There are much better Cuban rums for the money.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 157 ratings

Was looking forward to sample Ron Vigia Grand Reserva 18 yr rum and recently visited “La Casa del Ron” in Varadero, Cuba where I purchased a bottle. Upon paying for it the teller told me there are much better rums available on the premises but based on my research I was set on purchasing a bottle of this rum as it was said to be very dry.

My first sampling upon my return home was to say the least very disappointing, this rum is indeed dry and oaky but there is an after taste that lingers and is not pleasant at all. Glad I only brought back one bottle of this rum. Pleased to have tried it but will not purchase this product again.

Update: This was so bad that I dumped the last 1/3 of the bottle in the drain!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Daniel from Canada with 3 ratings

It has a bit that lingers after swallowing. Tobacco, very light brown sugar and sight medicinal tastes. I liked it but would I buy it. As a single drink.. yes, as a bottle... probably not.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 124 ratings

Slightly medicinal aroma. It’s strong on the tongue. Pungent. I get the feeling 18 years is a bit too long. Such a disappointment for a drink in the dram.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

What a disappointment the Vigia Gran Reserva 18 year old rum was during my last trip to Havana. Very strong alcohol smell and taste to it for an 18 year old rom and the burn at the end is just awful. Struggles to earn a 4.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Robert G from Canada with 30 ratings

This is kept in the dark recesses of my bar. Yes I keep it for myself as it is the most well balanced rum I have found to date. It comes out when I am home alone and I can listen to music and enjoy a cigar. The phone is unplugged so I can truly not be bothered while I enjoy my evening. In fact no one is home and the time is right.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by George from Canada with 25 ratings

It’s a good rum but not worth the dollar amount it’s sold for. Slightly different flavour but many familiarities as other Cuban rums.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Romo from Slovakia with 29 ratings

Tasty and smooth. Cuban rum, very good taste. Recomended

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Teis Madsen from Denmark with 114 ratings

Af en 18 års rom er den ikke i nærheden af, hvad man ellers kan få. Den er mangler i den grad sødme. eftersmagen er ok, men spar pengene.