Posting your rating...
Vigia Gran Reserva 18-Year rum

Rate Vigia Gran Reserva 18-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


18 Vigia Gran Reserva 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 3 years ago by Elgrande from Cuba with 56 ratings

Very well balanced and aromatic. Sweet fruity entrance followed by a dry finish.
Great choice for those who look for a good price/taste option amongst the Cuban high class rums.
The rum is named after the Finca La Vigía, the Cuban residence of Ernest Hemingway. The red sign on the bottle is Hemingways family crest.

Posted 4 months ago by LuxAlpha from Luxembourg with 7 ratings

I found it rather disappointing for a rum that claims 18 years of aging. The taste is somewhat one dimensional, it's on the dry side. Without being unpleasant, I can't really call it enjoyable. There are much better Cuban rums for the money.

Posted 6 months ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 153 ratings

Was looking forward to sample Ron Vigia Grand Reserva 18 yr rum and recently visited “La Casa del Ron” in Varadero, Cuba where I purchased a bottle. Upon paying for it the teller told me there are much better rums available on the premises but based on my research I was set on purchasing a bottle of this rum as it was said to be very dry.

My first sampling upon my return home was to say the least very disappointing, this rum is indeed dry and oaky but there is an after taste that lingers and is not pleasant at all. Glad I only brought back one bottle of this rum. Pleased to have tried it but will not purchase this product again.

Update: This was so bad that I dumped the last 1/3 of the bottle in the drain!

Posted about 1 year ago by Daniel from Canada with 3 ratings

It has a bit that lingers after swallowing. Tobacco, very light brown sugar and sight medicinal tastes. I liked it but would I buy it. As a single drink.. yes, as a bottle... probably not.

Posted over 1 year ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

Slightly medicinal aroma. It’s strong on the tongue. Pungent. I get the feeling 18 years is a bit too long. Such a disappointment for a drink in the dram.

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

What a disappointment the Vigia Gran Reserva 18 year old rum was during my last trip to Havana. Very strong alcohol smell and taste to it for an 18 year old rom and the burn at the end is just awful. Struggles to earn a 4.

Posted over 2 years ago by Robert G from Canada with 30 ratings

This is kept in the dark recesses of my bar. Yes I keep it for myself as it is the most well balanced rum I have found to date. It comes out when I am home alone and I can listen to music and enjoy a cigar. The phone is unplugged so I can truly not be bothered while I enjoy my evening. In fact no one is home and the time is right.

Posted over 2 years ago by George from Canada with 24 ratings

It’s a good rum but not worth the dollar amount it’s sold for. Slightly different flavour but many familiarities as other Cuban rums.

Posted about 3 years ago by Romo from Slovakia with 29 ratings

Tasty and smooth. Cuban rum, very good taste. Recomended

Posted over 3 years ago by Teis Madsen from Denmark with 113 ratings

Af en 18 års rom er den ikke i nærheden af, hvad man ellers kan få. Den er mangler i den grad sødme. eftersmagen er ok, men spar pengene.

Posted over 3 years ago by Enzo from Italy with 5 ratings

I think it's hard to find a well balanced rum in all components: smell, taste, aromas and alcohol. Whenever you drink it you immediately think ... I want more.
It's one of those rum that you must have in your cellar.
You can drink it alone or with friends, but be careful, they'll end up everything!

Posted almost 4 years ago by Marc-André from Canada with 29 ratings

Voici une belle surprise.

De fortes notes de tabac, cacao et de cuir.
Arômes de Vanille et d'agrume en arrière plans.

Pas un grand rhum j'en conviens, mais qui nous amènes définitivement ailleurs!

J'hésitais entre un 6 et un 7... 6.5 serait plus près de la vérité!

Posted about 4 years ago by John Smith from Canada with 37 ratings

Hard taste. No sweteness. This rum is Ok but for the price, you can gave much better.

Posted about 4 years ago by DonDanD from Switzerland with 69 ratings

..........................................................................

Posted over 4 years ago by Ben from Canada with 58 ratings

Good rum but a little disapointed for a 18 years. Taste : tobaco ,leather, earthy typical to any cuban rhum.

Posted almost 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Kuba
Aroma: Suchý styl už podle vůně. Dřevo, propolis, k tomu se přidává větrové aroma (máta), kakao. Vůně mi v prvním dojmu nepřišla tak zajímavá, ale postupně ukazuje svoji hloubku a další odstíny. Najdete v ní i kůži a trochu medicíny. (86 b)
Chuť: Žádný slaďouš to není. Nasládlost tu je jen v náznacích. Lehká medicínskost, propolis, ale ne tak moc jako třeba u Angostury. Kakao, dřevo. Suchá, trochu nakyslá dochuť s tropickým dřevem. (84 b)
Body: 85
Shrnutí: Další z rumů ochutnaných na Hořické ochutnávce u josého. Vigia Gran Reserva je solidní kousek.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Natalio from Argentina with 68 ratings

Lejos el mejor

Posted about 6 years ago by Brendan S from Canada with 55 ratings

One of the more expensive Cubans it is definitely worth it for this smooth sipping rum. Good nose. Smooth caramel taste with hints of spice and a heavy citrus flavour. Great smooth mouth feel and low-medium burn.




#