Posting your rating...
Don Papa 10-Year rum

Rate Don Papa 10-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


134 Don Papa 10-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by DAAM from France with 7 ratings

Le gout très sucré de ce rhum est vraiment appréciable! Les aromes de vanille, caramel sont vraiment present mais la forte teneur en sucre peut perturber les amateurs de rhum plus traditionnels ou agricoles.

Tout comme la nouvelle vague de rhum type diplomatico, ce rhum s'apprecie bien en fin de repas.

Posted over 2 years ago by boyblueau from Australia with 47 ratings

This is not that much of an improvement on the normal Don Papa. If anything it seems they've just added some darker sugar and black food colouring. Again, the marketing is excellent and if you like the bottle design, go for it. Just don't expect anything other than a sugar syrup.

Posted about 4 years ago by Kie humphreys from United Kingdom with 21 ratings

Smooth and sweet good tasting dark rum. Couldn't taste as much of the age as I would like.

Posted about 1 year ago by Diogenes the Rumantic from AF with 37 ratings

Bien loin du goût trafiqué du Don Papa. Prix tout de même élevé par rapport à des rhums de qualité équivalente

Posted almost 2 years ago by Bill from United Kingdom with 72 ratings

Rich, dark, fairly smooth. Sweet and fragrant with orange peel. Perhaps the true purists will wonder what 10 years did to it.

Posted over 2 years ago by dany from France with 30 ratings

nez caramel plein pot
goût caramel , pointe de miel orange et épices , tres chaleureux

Posted at The Rum Bar KL over 2 years ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- So the Don on the label got older, but the lizard on the head still remain young. Prelude with good ashy notes, darker with cocoa, as well rustier and mineral, bitter sweet, spent match stick and whiff of phenol from the wood. (18/25)

P- Sweet menthol, toothpaste, dust of pepper and herbs. More muscle with higher abv, dark coco and vanilla. The citrus from the 7YO is missing here, hence heavier and syrupy. (16/25)

F- Short-medium, boiled spices with more dryness offering a better mouth feel and make it for a better sip, though still sugary sweet and creamy. (17/25)

Balanced:- Surely not a serious and complex sipping rum, but not bad for a casual sips, would be nice with ice, by the pool, under the sun. Like the cocoa. (18/25)

Weighted Rate:- 69pt
— at The Rum Bar KL.

Posted over 3 years ago by JU04 from France with 45 ratings

Tastes of orange, vanilla and burnt wood but a lot of sugar.
Nice to drink, better than Don Papa 7 years.

Posted over 3 years ago by Michael Tobola from Belgium with 13 ratings

DON PAPA 10 ans, un rhum 100% Phillippines

Cette édition est rhum d'assemblage, issu de la fermentation d’une mélasse très riche en sucre, est distillé dans des alambics à colonnes. Il est ensuite élevé pendant 10 longues années sur l’île de Negros, au pied du volcan Kanlaon, dans des anciens fûts de chêne américain ayant contenu du bourbon. Ces fûts ont été "re-toastés", c'est à dire légèrement brûlés à l'intérieur, afin d'apporter des notes de chênes et de vanille aux arômes gourmands et fruités du rhum. En raison du climat, la part des anges aux Philippines est très importante et la distillerie a une volonté de ne pas re-remplir les fûts avec du jeune rhum. Cela donne un rhum plus concentré en arômes, tout en intensité, avec une robe sombre, presque noire.

Une Edition Limitée

Ce rhum des Philippines est produit en édition limitée. Seulement quelques bouteilles de ce rhum seront disponibles pour le marché français. Pour cette expression, le maître distillateur a sélectionné le meilleur, rien que le meilleur...

NOTES DE DÉGUSTATION

Couleur : Ambre foncée à reflets sombres.

Nez : Profond et riche avec une impression de puissance. Marqué par des notes d'agrumes et de vanille.

Bouche : Gourmande et complexe, avec des notes marquées de cacao, d'agrumes et de fruits secs.

Finale : Longue et riche sur les fruits secs et les agrumes, relevés d'une pointe de cacao. Délicieux.

Posted over 4 years ago by Hekke from Denmark with 12 ratings

Det bedste ved denne Rom er flasken. Den er vildt cool.
Duften er sød og frugtig.
Smagen starter sødt, men bliver en smule besk.

Posted over 4 years ago by Detlev from Germany with 5 ratings

a really fruity taste and different from all i tasted before, so if you sometimes like something real different here is one

Posted over 4 years ago by Tof from France with 1 rating

D'une robe sombre a l'image de la bouteille ce rhum 10 ans a plus de caractère que le Don Papa classique.
Il est moins aromatique que le classique mais garde la même base fruité, relativement moelleux il est quand même plus sec que son cadet.
Très épicé il ne plaira pas a tous le monde moins que la classique tout du moins. On retrouve des notes cacao vanille avec une touche de cannelle selon température de dégustation. Cela reste un très bon rhum et difficile a trouver

Posted over 4 years ago by Stefano from Italy with 12 ratings

I like Don Papa, but is a rum not for always, taste of orange, cinnamon, and so much spices. Is nice to drink just one glass, because i so much particular!
Raccomanded to try!

Posted 12 days ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 63 ratings

The second one I tasted from Don Papa but this one is also a great failure to me!! No Don Papa for me, that's for sure!

Posted 14 days ago by Immiketoo from Greece with 6 ratings

For the money, I was expecting to be blown away considering how much I like the 7 year. Much darker than the regular Don Papa, it’s rich, sweet and very drinkable, but for the money I’d buy something else next time. Wish I’d known about this site before buying as there are many others I’d like to add to my collection.

Posted about 1 month ago by George from Canada with 24 ratings

Love this rum! Cinnamon, orange peel and smoke flavours with a hint of honey . I’m trying to savour this rum for a long time, until my friend goes back for some more. Nicely done Don Papa!

Posted about 2 months ago by Pavel from Czech Republic with 133 ratings

I just hate Don Papa, the smell is terrible, but this one is a whole different story, full body, sweet, well balanced...just the smell

Posted 2 months ago by Frazwardo from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

Easy to drink, nice aftertaste, no real burn. Bit expensive for the quality IMO

Posted 3 months ago by Marty from Czech Republic with 65 ratings

Velmi milé překvapení, pitelný rum..... .

Posted 3 months ago by Rinushorn (PREMIUM) from France with 60 ratings

Plus évolué bien sûr que le 7 ans il s'est bien assombri et a profité des meilleurs tanins pendant ce vieillissement sans ouillage.
Très gourmand. Parfait pour une soirée entre amis.
Seul hic, le prix !!

Posted 3 months ago by filovo from Czech Republic with 172 ratings

Věřím že bude chutnat většině uživatelům, ale na mě je až moc ovocně/ chemický
tmavá barva , kořeněná vůně

ale zklamání pro mě ty citrusy jsou nějaké chemické

Posted 4 months ago by Alkin from Latvia with 28 ratings

A bit better than regular one, but it's overpriced for such liquor type rum...

Posted 5 months ago by IBO from Slovakia with 97 ratings

Absolútne si neviem vysvetliť tak vysokú cenu tohto rumu Don Papa. Jediný dôvod je asi jeho nedostatok na trhu. Kvalitou za cenou výrazne zaostáva. Je pitelny,no za tú cenu človek očakáva ďaleko viac. Je typický sladky s náznakmi sušeného ovocia,či kakaa. Osobne sa mi až veriť nechce,že zreje v sudoch po whiskey. Zaujímavá skúsenosť,no ďalšiu fľašku by som si už nekúpil.

Posted 6 months ago by PhM from Belgium with 12 ratings

Only had 1 Glass but I liked it. A bit of a different taste than most

Posted 7 months ago by Dennis66 (PREMIUM) from Netherlands with 16 ratings

Good rum. Liked it a lot! Pure and with a coke and ice