Posting your rating...
Don Papa 10-Year rum

Don Papa 10-Year

Philippines | Aged

6.8/10 (140 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
6
5
5
25
49
34
9
4

Rate Don Papa 10-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


140 Don Papa 10-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Hekke from Denmark with 12 ratings

Det bedste ved denne Rom er flasken. Den er vildt cool.
Duften er sød og frugtig.
Smagen starter sødt, men bliver en smule besk.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Martin Tousek from Czech Republic with 21 ratings

Is it very good? Yes. Is it excellent? No. Is the taste worth approx. 4 times more money spent on the bottle than regular Don Papa? No. Smooth taste with traces of citrus fruit. Verdict, including price to quality ratio: 70%.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Thomas Breuning from Denmark with 201 ratings

Umiddelbart synes jeg faktisk den almindelige Don Papa Small batch er bedre. Måske jeg synes jeg noget andet, hvis man smager dem samtidigt. 10-year er meget sød og frugtig i duften, så man bliver overrasket, når den starter med at sparke din smagsløg igang , for der er virkelig power i til at starte med, men den bliver hurtig overtaget af brændt sukker, rosiner og dadler. Derefter fornemmer jeg en smule appelsin suppleret med lidt peber. Overordnet set sidder jeg dog tilbage med en oplevelse af frugt, og det trækker ned.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Javaznenevim from Slovakia with 52 ratings

I tested original Don Papa like a year ago. I dont remember the taste of it but I remember it wasnt anything special. Ten years old version is far better but still has a lot space to grow in quality. In Czech Republic you can get a bottle of 10yo for over 150USD and I dont really think this rum is worth of that money.

Bottle: Original Don Papa had a nice bottle and 10yo is almost the same, just in different colors. Its kinda pretty, but no original idea here.

Color: semi-dark with notes of melted gold.

Smell: I can smell some spice from Don Papa yet I am not sure about which it is. I smell some raisins and vanilla. There is almost no trace of alcohol smell at all, because its killed with sweetness. You can smell caramel as well

Taste: When you put Don Papa into a glass you can see its very sweet from how the liquid moves in the glass. And yes, it is very sweet. And also very smooth. It has very light traces of alcohol, but what you can taste most is caramel, raisins and sweetness in general. Some kind of dried fruit and thats all.

Don Papa 10yo is not bad. I wouldnt refuse it if it was offered to my to drink, but definitelly not buying a bottle of my own.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 124 ratings

Big step up for me from the ordinary Don Papa. Not keen on the aroma of the normal Don Papa but this is better and it has a dinstinctive flavour. Good sipper.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Greg from Belgium with 23 ratings

J'attendais de lui qu'il soit plus élaboré. Il rejoint fort le don papa classique. Cependant pour les amateurs du genre il est bon mais je le trouve un peu chère du coup...

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Alan from Belgium with 10 ratings

The smell is very strong butterscotch and also very alcoholic. The taste is a nice mixture of vanilla and butterscotch and is spoiled just a little bit by the strong smell of alcohol. Overall, very smooth and enjoyable

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Parmentier from Belgium with 1 rating

Very very good rum, this one is for me the best reference for begin to appreciate the first rum you taste

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Peter from Philippines with 1 rating

Mes amis et moi ne sommes pas experts en rhum, mais voici un breuvage qui nous a tous conquis, hommes et femmes, sans exception !
Un nez riche et voluptueux donnant envie de sentir et sentir et sentir encore avant de passer a la degustation proprement site avec des notes vanillees et chocolatees intenses, presque cremeuses, avant de passer a une finale d une longueur eblouissante.
Une veritable merveille qui fait le delice de nos palais depuis une bonne annee deja, que ce soit en Europe ou lors de nos sejours aux Philippines !

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Silvio from Italy with 8 ratings

Cola taste and lot of sugar, far from what a Rhumshould be...dont believe i will order it again or buy a bottle ever..

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Mayo from Italy with 22 ratings

Very dark,Orange,cannella, garofano, vin brulee, sangria.