Posting your rating...
Cartavio 12-Year rum

Rate Cartavio 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


40 Cartavio 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

Smokey ,sweet, and a little spicy yet smooth. This makes an exceptional rum and coke too.
sugar test-8g

Posted 12 months ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

Figured Peru had rum, but what a surprise it turned out to be.

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

This rum is only 1/2 the price of the Cartavio XO, and is quite good. It's a bit dryer and seems more oaked than the XO.

Oak, toffee, banana, spice, and a touch of bourbon. Good. But the Cartavio XO is in another league, so try that too if you can!

Posted 6 months ago by MarioRonson from Peru with 38 ratings

Otro buen ron de la Casa Cartavio, excelente precio para la calidad del mismo (13 dolares en el Duty Free Aeropuerto Jorge Chavez), aun con mucho alcohol para tomarlo solo, excelente para hacer mixes. Muy recomendable

Posted 10 months ago by 5691Aa (PREMIUM) from United States with 22 ratings

It's a smooth rum. Aroma is nice, if a bit subdued. Dry and oaky flavor. Makes a good rum n coke, not great. Good for price

Posted 12 months ago by Michael N from United States with 69 ratings

For a $30 bottle it is a good choice for a decent rum. Not quite to the level of a bottle of Ron Cartavio XO, but not bad. The aroma is inviting, the taste is a little spicy and sweet with just a little lingering aftertaste.

Posted about 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 136 ratings

Good price and nice aroma and taste without too spicy.
This is standard rum for me.
Ron Cartavio 12 year is always in my cabinet.

Posted over 1 year ago by Lasse Antonsen from Denmark with 3 ratings

Sweet, not too spicy. A nice rum for the rum rookie

Posted over 1 year ago by Florianhagemann from Peru with 81 ratings

Es un ron perfecto para un buen Cuba Libre. A mi modo de vista mucho alcohol para tomarlo puro, pero a la vez mucho cuerpo y personalidad. Otro buen ron de la casa Cartavio.

Posted over 1 year ago by Jason from United States with 67 ratings

This is a great full bodied rum. It's great to mix or just sip on the rocks. Excellent price for what you're getting. It's a staple in my home.

Posted over 1 year ago by Václav from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

Sweet, with light burn in the middle, bit of banana taste (over ripe banana). On the other side of my taste (as whiskey enthusiast I like the complex taste).

Posted almost 2 years ago by Rob from United States with 50 ratings

It is flavorful, full bodied, with just the right amount of sweetness. It is similar to brugal 1888. Maybe a slight bit more sweet and less fruity but close. I paid $30 and considered that a steal for the quality. I can't wait the try the xo version.

Posted about 2 years ago by Rei from Germany with 98 ratings

taste and finish are both dominated by notes of tabac, coffee and caramel, coming by in a nice and balanced manner, mild and not complex. Overall this rum has a very sweet taste. Finish is not very long unfortunately.

Posted about 2 years ago by Erico from Peru with 8 ratings

Una muestra de los.excelentes rones que produce Cartavio, este en particular esta al nivel del Barcelo Imperial, si lo mezclas que sea con poca Coca Cola para que disfrutes su sabor

Posted about 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 299 ratings

I ran across this one this morning and remembered that this distiller got quite a number of reviews here. I also thought that it was from Columbia as I now seem to be gravitating to rum from there. A 12 Year Old Solera Rum for $33 sounded like a good deal......until I opened it up when I got home and found out that it was not a true Caribbean rum, being from Peru. Sorry, but the flavors just cannot match any rum from the Caribbean.

The first taste was after letting it breathe for only about 10 minutes, so it initially got an unfair rating of 5. One needs to let this one breathe in the snifter for at least an hour. Then the harsh alcohol taste finally fades to let the rich flavors come out with only 8 gpl of added sugar. The flavors are still no match for the finest of Caribbean rums since this one is in a class all by itself. It just takes getting used to. Be patient with this lady and you may come to love her.

February 8, 2020: Update almost two years later when I finally got my hands on two more bottles. One reason that I write these reviews is so that I can refer back to them after not having some of these rums for a very long time. This really helped in this case. My very first sip on this one rated as a lousy 5 due to excessive ethanol. After a whole hour of letting it breathe in the snifter, it jumped up to an 8. No other rum has done such a thing.

So this time, I took a tiny sip after the first pour and was not impressed. Thirty minutes later was better. After one hour, my own initial advice really paid off. One of my college professors had told us to always keep our notes and we all quietly laughed at him. It turns out that he was right. On another note, stay clear of Cartavio XO because it is overly sugared and the flavors will only last for about a month. Sweet sugar is downright evil!

Posted about 2 years ago by Iván Plata from Mexico with 32 ratings

Ron suave, dulce (no demasiado) e ideal para beberlo sólo o acompañado de refresco de cola.
Consta de un aroma frutal y un cuerpo sólido que nos dará una buena experiencia de sabores, en cuanto al alcohol es perceptible pero pasará inmediatamente.

Posted over 2 years ago by Javier FK from Peru with 30 ratings

Este ron es nuestro engreído, bueno, rico y barato. Probablemente el que más tomo.

Posted over 2 years ago by Lasse Bloch from Denmark with 59 ratings

Ikke en dårlig rom, men den mangler lidt mere smag, for at slå rigtig igennem!!!

Posted over 2 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

This rum is only 1/2 the price of the Cartavio XO, and is quite good. Sweet, smooth, caramel flavors, soft burn, good finish!

Posted over 2 years ago by EDUARDO LANDAVERY from Peru with 75 ratings

Un ron que le hace el pare a cualquiera.
Sorprende su calidad y finura en todos los sentidos!
Muy Bien Cartavio!

Posted over 2 years ago by Néstor from Peru with 36 ratings

Un ron con gran carácter. Tiene la base del XO. Al probarlo es del dulce ideal y no quema tanto al pasarlo. Se deja tomar solo y con hielo mejor aún.

Posted over 2 years ago by Ivan R. Lopez from United States with 19 ratings

I can definitely dig this one, not too sweet, not to strong. Def nice to sip.

Posted over 2 years ago by Henrik Hansen from Denmark with 56 ratings

Den er okay, men den er ikke nogen stor rom oplevelse. Lidt tør i smage, mangler lidt sødme. Den er god sammen med cola.

Posted over 2 years ago by Giancarlo from Peru with 60 ratings

Es un buen ron para mezclar con Cocacola, debido a que es un ron fuerte, de muy buen sabor y un ligero toque de dulzura.