Posting your rating...
Cartavio 12-Year rum

Cartavio 12-Year

Peru | Aged

6.9/10
46 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
10
16
16
1

Rate Cartavio 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

46 Cartavio 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

Es un ron que no sabe añejo y está muy perfumado a frutas, no lo volvería comprar!

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by nomad from United States with 131 ratings

Smokey ,sweet, and a little spicy yet smooth. This makes an exceptional rum and coke too.
sugar test-8g

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by 1marek from Croatia with 4 ratings

A lot of nice butterscotch aroma in the nose. Yes, the alcohol is also right there at the top but I like the butterscotch, this is something other rums in this price range that I've tried don't have. You can also smell oak and caramel.
Taste starts with the same amount of butterscotch, vannila and caramel, followed by a hint of oak. Sweetness is also there, in just the right amount.
For the price (30EUR) I think this is excellent rum as the flavors are really nice and finely defined, aroma in the nose are equal to the taste and the aftertaste is longer then what some more expensive rums have.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Michal Micko from Czech Republic with 445 ratings

Aroma is pleasant, but weaker.
Taste is without any significant character. A bit of wood a bit of brown sugar , bit burning with short bitter aftertaste.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

Figured Peru had rum, but what a surprise it turned out to be.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Jason from United States with 84 ratings

This is a great full bodied rum. It's great to mix or just sip on the rocks. Excellent price for what you're getting. It's a staple in my home.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Rob from United States with 50 ratings

It is flavorful, full bodied, with just the right amount of sweetness. It is similar to brugal 1888. Maybe a slight bit more sweet and less fruity but close. I paid $30 and considered that a steal for the quality. I can't wait the try the xo version.

Small jessica for rum ratings

Posted 3 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 411 ratings

I ran across this one this morning and remembered that this distiller got quite a number of reviews here. I also thought that it was from Columbia as I now seem to be gravitating to rum from there. A 12 Year Old Solera Rum for $33 sounded like a good deal......until I opened it up when I got home and found out that it was not a true Caribbean rum, being from Peru. Sorry, but the flavors just cannot match any rum from the Caribbean.

The first taste was after letting it breathe for only about 10 minutes, so it initially got an unfair rating of 5. One needs to let this one breathe in the snifter for at least an hour. Then the harsh alcohol taste finally fades to let the rich flavors come out with only 8 gpl of added sugar. The flavors are still no match for the finest of Caribbean rums since this one is in a class all by itself. It just takes getting used to. Be patient with this lady and you may come to love her.

February 8, 2020: Update almost two years later when I finally got my hands on two more bottles. One reason that I write these reviews is so that I can refer back to them after not having some of these rums for a very long time. This really helped in this case. My very first sip on this one rated as a lousy 5 due to excessive ethanol. After a whole hour of letting it breathe in the snifter, it jumped up to an 8. No other rum has done such a thing.

So this time, I took a tiny sip after the first pour and was not impressed. Thirty minutes later was better. After one hour, my own initial advice really paid off. One of my college professors had told us to always keep our notes and we all quietly laughed at him. It turns out that he was right. On another note, stay clear of Cartavio XO because it is overly sugared and the flavors will only last for about a month. Sweet sugar is downright evil!

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 472 ratings

This rum is only 1/2 the price of the Cartavio XO, and is quite good. It's a bit dryer and seems more oaked than the XO.

Oak, toffee, banana, spice, and a touch of bourbon. Good. But the Cartavio XO is in another league, so try that too if you can!

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Pavel from Czech Republic with 134 ratings

Pretty alcoholic nose, not too full body but quite smooth

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by AlexMo from Russian Federation with 171 ratings

The fragrance of sandalwood, nuts, respectable perfume. The incomparable fragrance, nothing to add, is a little heavy. Taste gives the impression of dry, although there is a small addition of sugar. The powerful medium-heavy solera. ……. Бесподобный аромат, к которому нечего прибавить. Округлость в первом глотке, истинная горечь во втором, ореховый привкус, брусничная терпкость. Вода освежает, но скучна.