Posting your rating...
Cartavio 12-Year rum

Cartavio 12-Year

Peru | Aged

6.9/10
43 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
10
15
14
1

Rate Cartavio 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

43 Cartavio 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

Es un ron que no sabe añejo y está muy perfumado a frutas, no lo volvería comprar!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Lasse Antonsen from Denmark with 3 ratings

Sweet, not too spicy. A nice rum for the rum rookie

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Florianhagemann from Peru with 83 ratings

Es un ron perfecto para un buen Cuba Libre. A mi modo de vista mucho alcohol para tomarlo puro, pero a la vez mucho cuerpo y personalidad. Otro buen ron de la casa Cartavio.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Jason from United States with 77 ratings

This is a great full bodied rum. It's great to mix or just sip on the rocks. Excellent price for what you're getting. It's a staple in my home.

Small stl177468

Posted over 2 years ago by Václav from Czech Republic with 75 ratings

Sweet, with light burn in the middle, bit of banana taste (over ripe banana). On the other side of my taste (as whiskey enthusiast I like the complex taste).

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Rob from United States with 50 ratings

It is flavorful, full bodied, with just the right amount of sweetness. It is similar to brugal 1888. Maybe a slight bit more sweet and less fruity but close. I paid $30 and considered that a steal for the quality. I can't wait the try the xo version.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Rei from Germany with 106 ratings

taste and finish are both dominated by notes of tabac, coffee and caramel, coming by in a nice and balanced manner, mild and not complex. Overall this rum has a very sweet taste. Finish is not very long unfortunately.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Erico from Peru with 8 ratings

Una muestra de los.excelentes rones que produce Cartavio, este en particular esta al nivel del Barcelo Imperial, si lo mezclas que sea con poca Coca Cola para que disfrutes su sabor

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 400 ratings

I ran across this one this morning and remembered that this distiller got quite a number of reviews here. I also thought that it was from Columbia as I now seem to be gravitating to rum from there. A 12 Year Old Solera Rum for $33 sounded like a good deal......until I opened it up when I got home and found out that it was not a true Caribbean rum, being from Peru. Sorry, but the flavors just cannot match any rum from the Caribbean.

The first taste was after letting it breathe for only about 10 minutes, so it initially got an unfair rating of 5. One needs to let this one breathe in the snifter for at least an hour. Then the harsh alcohol taste finally fades to let the rich flavors come out with only 8 gpl of added sugar. The flavors are still no match for the finest of Caribbean rums since this one is in a class all by itself. It just takes getting used to. Be patient with this lady and you may come to love her.

February 8, 2020: Update almost two years later when I finally got my hands on two more bottles. One reason that I write these reviews is so that I can refer back to them after not having some of these rums for a very long time. This really helped in this case. My very first sip on this one rated as a lousy 5 due to excessive ethanol. After a whole hour of letting it breathe in the snifter, it jumped up to an 8. No other rum has done such a thing.

So this time, I took a tiny sip after the first pour and was not impressed. Thirty minutes later was better. After one hour, my own initial advice really paid off. One of my college professors had told us to always keep our notes and we all quietly laughed at him. It turns out that he was right. On another note, stay clear of Cartavio XO because it is overly sugared and the flavors will only last for about a month. Sweet sugar is downright evil!

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Iván Plata from Mexico with 32 ratings

Ron suave, dulce (no demasiado) e ideal para beberlo sólo o acompañado de refresco de cola.
Consta de un aroma frutal y un cuerpo sólido que nos dará una buena experiencia de sabores, en cuanto al alcohol es perceptible pero pasará inmediatamente.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Javier FK from Peru with 30 ratings

Este ron es nuestro engreído, bueno, rico y barato. Probablemente el que más tomo.