Posting your rating...
Saint James Reserve rum

Saint James Reserve

Martinique | Aged

4.6/10 (16 ratings)
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
3
3
3
1
1

Rate Saint James Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


16 Saint James Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Label says "aged for 24 months" making it sound more impressive but it means only 2 years. Needs more aging. It says it's a blend of rums from around the Caribbean but doesn't identify where. One online source identifies it as an agricole rum from Martinique but it misses the mark.

A nice amber color. The aroma is quite astringent and strong. A warning sign.

The flavor. Harsh. Whatever cane juice flavor...a staple of agricole rum...it had is overwhelmed by the harsh ethanol flavor. Definitely not a sipper and frankly I wouldn't recommend it as a mixer except in circumstances where you could not find anything better...like being on a deserted island.

This is a cheap rum both in terms of price and quality. The more I sip it, the worse it gets (I keep debating with myself to give it a "2" but I'll stick with a "3"...barely). Definitely drown it in cola to make it palatable.

$20 USD a bottle seems overpriced.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2606 ratings

Tried the Saint James Reserve on a sunny Sunday afternoon. 6 to 10 year old rhum agricole made from cane juice at Saint James in Martinique means its super dry and absolutely no added sugar. Bottle and label looks mediocre. Golden color. Very strong alcohol to the nose. Rhum Agricole dryness and a nasty burn at the end. Not my cup of tea.

2f742d63da03bb2282c36ce429f35330.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Demno from Czech Republic with 91 ratings

Most rum beginners love Diplomatico, Spiced rums, whatever tastes so smooth and sweet (thats because Diplomatico has over 40g sugar per bottle added). This rum is just what it is, it has 43% of alcohol, thus it really bites... but you can feel the taste of sugarcane in there, the freshness.

I do really recommend this agricole rum, it is cheap and it is great (if you want smoother ones, go for Reserve 12 or let it stay for like 5 minutes to eliminate the alcoholic scent).

0befff6f3501ba19f4024925109a24a3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by FaithMonax from Canada with 13 ratings

Decent standard rum, but still prefer Appleton V/X in the same category (price/style).

2742a5fa383f6db3c69fd6fc75bce4b7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 12 months ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 196 ratings

This rhum smells better than it tastes. Nice dark amber colour in the glass with a nose of caramel , ethanol and maybe a slight honey note. In taste though thats when it goes downhill..
Strong burn with a whisky profile.. no fruits just a sweetish first impression in the mouth which rapidly turns dry and whisky like. Had to swamp with cola to finish it.

0b027afc02e6f0da79e33c0f25f81e86.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Amauri from United States with 29 ratings

I didnt really like it. The aftertaste was something really bad like a really cheap alcohol

Fbf24e1a2411ef95046279c167da7b88.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jan Staněk from Czech Republic with 108 ratings

This is more like agricole rums, which I dislike, si this was really hard for me to drink.

8d291bf9b56b449578800690faef9610.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by bill from United States with 88 ratings

Nice color and good legs. The aroma is ok but nothing special. The taste is a little harsh but I got a bottle for 17 bucks. I probably wont buy it again but I am glad I tried it once.

765d463d24808816e2ba832885f5695f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 390 ratings

This is a good rum that smoky and has a lot of flavour. It's my rum to a good standard I had it on the rocks which is a delight ...

5bd42496ccfef3a9554af15a04d0103a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Loxias from Czech Republic with 156 ratings

Aroma with tones of smoke and ash.
Taste bit spicy from 43% alohol volume but quite smooth. Strong notes of smoked oak casks.

6236074dc57533d0e69cd291eada5f0b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Threepwood from United Kingdom with 86 ratings

Not even an average rum. I was very disappointed in the rum, not smooth at all. Even as a mixing rum it wasn't very good.