Posting your rating...
Dzama Cuvee Blanche Blanc rum

Dzama Cuvee Blanche Blanc

Madagascar | Light

7.0/10 (11 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
1
4
2

Rate Dzama Cuvee Blanche Blanc

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


11 Dzama Cuvee Blanche Blanc ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

0b3eb738cf54231f7e6ab963742fb7f1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

The white rum is aged for 6+ months under the hot sun in Madagascar in ex-chivas regal barrels, the barrels are of Spanish, American, and French Oak, all are blended and said to add extra complexity to the resulting rum.

The nosing on this rum is very fruity mainly of intense citrus, lime, lemon, floral, with spice, very faint subdued alcohol. Very unique on this one.

The tasting is akin to the nosing here. I was taken back for more than a minute rather several hours. Intense citrus with forward lemon, mango, mandarins, pineapple, lime, banana in the mouth some slight spice is there like a fresh green pepper. The incredible citrus flavor remains in the finish with banana, which lasts quite long for a white rum. You can taste the flavor in your mouth for quite some time. The smoothness for a 6 month rum is incredible no bite no bitterness at all. This can be sipped straight without any wish to mix. However, the citrus flavor is nearly overpowering in this.

I read that the rum distiller washes the ex-chivas barrels prior to aging the rum with citrus laden water. The question here remains, is this terrior or additives from washing natural or otherwise? Should a rum with barrels washed with citrus laden water be considered and labeled as a flavored rum? Or is this the terrior as the company claims playing this massive effect on the rum?

Overall easy to drink but possibly cloying straight up due to citrus flavors but could be imbibed to no end if you enjoy the citrus flavors presented as much as I do.

647b50db0e65b2b473ba4629730cbd1e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Jd from France with 41 ratings

Presque un ti punch déjà tout prêt tant le citron est présent

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2606 ratings

Had a rum tasting on a sunny afternoon, because why not. Dzama Cuvee Blanche Prestige Rum bottle and label design looks nice and unique. Pure alcohol and dryness to the nose and palate. Strong burn at the end. Mix it up for your own sanity.

036920a60ae1d4e2c1a06f0a4be9ea68.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Cuisine from France with 20 ratings

Une belle finesse pour ce rhum blanc passé en fût ayant contenu des agrumes ce qui en fait un rhum au bouquet riche et fin.
Les notes d'agrumes apportent une belle finition sans sucrosité excessive

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I found this rum in a Total Wine & More in Jacksonville, Florida back in spring of this year [2017] and it's been on the shelf unopened. Finally got around to trying this.

First off this is the first rum I have tried from Madagascar. It comes in a rectangular bottle with very thick glass.

The rum itself it clear. No color whatsoever. I detect very little aroma. A little ethanol but nothing strong. There's more to it but nosing has never been my strong point. The rum has very good legs shown by clinging to the sides of my snifter only to slowly make its way back to the bottom.

The flavor is what took me by surprise. I was expecting the harshness from a white rum but instead I was immediately hit by a markedly lemon/lime zest flavor. There is a bit of an oakiness to it as well as a bit of pepperiness both of which come to the surface as the lemon zest flavor fades. The finish is pleasant coming from a diminished lemon flavor almost as if one has had a bite of lemon meringue pie. Once I got past the initial taste, I sorted wanted to try a little more. It sort of grew on me rather rapidly. At 80 proof one would expect a bit of a burn but it was just not there. Instead each sip was smooth and pleasant. There is a little sweetness to it and the rum itself manages to stick to the tongue rather well.

"Unique" would be an applicable word for this rum but in a very good way. This is one of the few white rums I would classify as a sipping rum. It also would make a good base for a fruit style cocktail. Especially other citrus like grapefuit. Some imaginative mixologist would probably come up with something worthy of this rum.

B1e1548127a75fc34f160300dd79388c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by guewen from France with 97 ratings

Un rhum arrange tout prêt, mais pas façon punch...j'ai trouvé le côté citronné un peu chimique, tirant sur le combava et le gingembre. Agréable, mais ça ne remplacera pas un vrai ti punch maison au sucre et au citron vert

7af7f0fa0973621cf674ba3f32ac365e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by clochardo from Belgium with 64 ratings

Attention ce rhum n'est pas un simple rhum blanc mais un hybride moitié rhum arrangé. Je m'explique: Les futs dans lesquels le rhum est mis à vieillir sont rempli au préalable d'eau et de citrons vert pressés afin que le bois en absorbe les arômes. Les futs sont ensuite vidés et on y met le rhum à vieillir. D'ou le gout citronné mais pas trop prononcé. Une belle manière d'aromatiser son rhum de manière douce et naturelle.

75e6dc26d9d2302e9a9fdd2735dbc84f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Greg from Canada with 34 ratings

This has an amazing story of where the sugar cane comes from and how it is surrounded by citrus fruit groves.
Very complex taste for a white rum. def. a summer time rum

4ac11e45a9aff80f5aee16e9cc5bc5c3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Julien T from France with 2 ratings

Bon Rhum à boire bien frais (pas de glaçons hein!)
Saveur du citron très présente.
Parfait pour l'été.

9229b706df62f20bd549d9bd42374835.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by YvesW from Belgium with 21 ratings

Very surprising taste: heavy on the lemon. I didn't recognize it as a rum but I still enjoyed it: a rather pleasant (but strong!) "ladies aperitif" (no offense!) If you're into this, it's a pleasure to sip.