Posting your rating...
Chairman's Reserve rum

Chairman's Reserve rum is produced in St Lucia using continuous and pot stills. The rum from these stills are aged for 3-4 years separetly, then combined and aged for 6 more months to marry the flavors.

The first blend of Chairman’s Reserve was produced in 1999 by St. Lucia Distillers, which was founded in 1932, and overseen by the company's Chairman Laurie Barnard.

Rate Chairman's Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


128 Chairman's Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 3 years ago by Elanita from Czech Republic with 17 ratings

Very nice aroma, smooth taste, full body with wood tobes.

Posted over 2 years ago by Tomas from Czech Republic with 135 ratings

Nothing extraordinary. Decent rum for the price, but too boring.

Posted over 5 years ago by Skipjack from United States with 20 ratings

This rum looks and tastes great in a flask and that is where you will find me enjoying it. On cold days when racing a single man dinghy, this rum will help keep me warm and reside in my PFD. My friends will come by and ask to partake and when we all come in, the flask will be dry.

Bottle: The label is interesting looking and a good representation of its birth home but the bottle fails to impress after that. Very little detail about the distillery, no syn-cork that says it is a better product, the bottle bottom notes indicates that it is not a cheap bottle. Presentation could be better.
Color: A very nice golden brown, it looks the part of a great rum.
Bottle Aroma: A heavy ethanol odor hits the nose first but the rum does come through.
Glass Aroma: The ethanol smell has dissipated and a light oak, easy drinking rum smell fills the nose.
Taste: The rum starts out light which surprises after the bottle nose, a good start of flavor hits and the caramel begins, then the oils leave the tongue and the heat comes back. This is another rum that I'll pack into a flask for cold days when the backbone needs strengthening, but this is not the rum I will chose in front of the fire.

This rum is a bit uneven but I do not dislike this trait in rums. Rums should not be 20 year old bourbons or 30 year old cognacs, they should bite a little and when they fail to do so, I tend to get bored. Some may find this rum a little harsh, but like my personality, I find the harshness true to character and enjoy the company.

Posted over 2 years ago by Bill from United Kingdom with 72 ratings

Not bad stuff. Bit rough to drink neat, nice with a mixer. Can't really give it a 7.

Posted about 4 years ago by Brian from United States with 9 ratings

View: Pours golden brown.

Nose: A ton of honey on the nose with some char.

Initial Tasting: One of the smoothest rums I've tasted. No bite whatsoever. Raisin and spice.

Body: Drinks like a bourbon. Spice and oak.

Fade: Smoother than a baby's behind.

Posted about 4 years ago by DeanH from United Kingdom with 29 ratings

Neat its a quite warm sip.better than when mixed with coke. I preferred it with a little breathing time. In other words I let it sit for a while. I'm not going to rush out and replace this bottle but not because i didn't like it. It's just very similar to other stuff and there's so many more to try.

Posted over 4 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

I drank about 20 or so glasses neat in St. Lucia. This is the way to go. This needs time to breath in the glass. As this sits for a while it really opens up. Nice strong spice and totally smooth with a nice amount of pot still rum. Picked up a 1L bottle in St. Lucia for 16 US. It has a strong alcohol when poured that needs time to rest to open a spicy enjoyable nose.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 136 ratings

Great nose that's slightly sweet and floral. First taste is overpowering with oily sour molasses. Long spicy finish that doesn't go down very well. Just not too many flavors cone through over a pretty substantial burn.

Posted almost 5 years ago by AdamN from Slovakia with 13 ratings

Quality mid range rum. Quite ok to sip straight, and with enough taste to be distinctive in mixed drinks. Pity there isn't a premium aged version available.

Posted over 6 years ago by Zeck from France with 61 ratings

Ste Lucie réserve bien d'autres merveilles, mais ce rhum a le mérite d'exister et d'être correct d'un point de vue qualité/prix.

Posted 18 days ago by IBO from Slovakia with 97 ratings

Tak toto je veľmi slušný rum,ktorý je u mňa na úrovni 6,5 bodu. Nedosladzovany,vhodný na bežné pitie a v kategórii do 15eur neexistuje podľa mňa nič lepšie.
Pekne chute, cítiť ovocné tóny i drevo. Záver stredne dlhy

Posted about 1 month ago by scottlalib from United States with 12 ratings

I picked up a couple bottles from the provisioning store on a BVIs sail, thinking it a serviceable mixer at $10 a bottle. Turned out much better than that, and we wound up restocking half way through the sail. Enough honey to stand up to ice and lime while still retaining enough character to be distinct. Still mixable though - a solo choice to provision.

Posted about 2 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 121 ratings

À boire sur glace, avec accompagnement du coke ou 7 up.

Posted 3 months ago by mmciesielski from United States with 22 ratings

Had on a few cubes of ice in Soufriere. Good balance of dry and sweet. Caramel and vanilla notes. A bit more rough than the Admiral Rodney, buy got better with time in the glass.

Posted 4 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 152 ratings

Not watery, but not rich of aromas in taste. Too many tannins.
Smell: vanilla, fermented citrus fruits, wood, some sweetness
Taste: vanilla, spice, bitterness, barrel/earth

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruit: 1.5/5
Spice: 2.5/5
Mildness: 3/5

Posted 4 months ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

Had some of this rum at the island of St Lucia, it is good not great but overall decent bang for your buck.

Posted 5 months ago by Drew Dyer from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

Surprised by this one, thought it would need a mixer but happily drunk as a sipper.

Nothing to rave about but it’s not expensive so would happily have as a go to rum

Posted at The Steamboat 5 months ago by Music4Beer from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

This rum compines all the qualities of dark rum, sweetness and spice you love with a sharp burn and smokey peaty finish.

Posted 5 months ago by Andrej from Czech Republic with 3 ratings

Vůně za 7, chuť za5, průměr tedy za 6. Nic zvláštního, ale rozhodně neurazí. Na běžné pití ideální. Když vím, že nepotřebuji vychutnávat, ale chci si zavdat, je to ideální pití.

Posted 8 months ago by I3R0K3N7FEET from United Kingdom with 63 ratings

Chairmans reserve has sat on the shelves in the local supermarket for quite a while, and because its pricing sat between several off the shelf favourites I never really gave it any time with its non-assuming bottle. Recently they had an event with some colourful designs on their bottle and I was looking for something different so thought I would give it a go.

WOW- instantly became a new supermarket fave, smooth, strong but mellow caramel, and a loong finish. Adds amazing character to mixed drinks and can easily be enjoyed neat. I recently saw these on sale for a ridiculously good price so grabbed a couple more bottles as it draws towards the christmas season. Will use it for some rum-buttercream for some cakes. Don't pass this one up if you see it on the shelf.

Posted 8 months ago by Anthossandro from France with 14 ratings

Rhum qui tire un peu sur le whisky, assez fort en goût mais les saveurs de vanille et fruit restent longtemps dans la bouche, très agréable.
Néanmoins il reste assez chère pour la qualité, d'autres rhums moins chère peuvent le dépasser.

Posted 9 months ago by Threepwood from United Kingdom with 86 ratings

I found this to be a mostly forgettable rum. I bought it along with 3 other new rums to try, and this just didn't stand out at all. Average.

Posted 10 months ago by Durbs from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

Along with Barbados and Jamaica, St Lucia don't allow sugar to be added to their rums.
So all CR rums are smoothed out only by ageing.

This does mean their original is pretty harsh sipped neat, but stick an ice cube in it, or use it in a cocktail or with a mixer and it's a good step above the average

Posted 12 months ago by Elburton from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

Smooth rum and can be drunk on its own or over ice. Also good with ginger ale.

Posted 12 months ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

Nothing special, but I'd drink it again. Interested.