Posting your rating...
Chairman's Reserve rum

Chairman's Reserve rum is produced in St Lucia using continuous and pot stills. The rum from these stills are aged for 3-4 years separetly, then combined and aged for 6 more months to marry the flavors.

The first blend of Chairman’s Reserve was produced in 1999 by St. Lucia Distillers, which was founded in 1932, and overseen by the company's Chairman Laurie Barnard.

Rate Chairman's Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


128 Chairman's Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 187 ratings

commentaire a venir

Posted over 4 years ago by kosmik from Canada with 15 ratings

Plus intéressant que les rhums qui sont de tout début d'entrée de gamme, sans grande aspérité, sans grand intérêt non plus. Alcool trop présent au nez, en déséquilibre, brûlant en bouche. OK dans l'ensemble.

Posted over 4 years ago by Bastian from Germany with 14 ratings

Surprisingly smooth for a 3-4 years old. Not very sweet and perhaps not the most complex. I would love to drink a premium aged version of this one. Good value anyways.

Posted over 4 years ago by Peter from Hungary with 91 ratings

It's a new experience,reminding me on Trinidad rums and a bit of heavy Demerara style rums. Excellent,fruity in the nose but wields a punch of a whisky or cognac,not sweet at all. A real rum and a probably tricky at a blind-tasting if you have to guess where it's from. Worth of a try

Posted over 4 years ago by Mark from Canada with 59 ratings

Nice young aged rum for rum and cokes... Sweeter and less harsh than most other rums of this maturity. The beautiful reddish amber is inviting as is the light molasses smell.

My "go to" rum for a consistent drink!

Try their "Admiral Rodney" rum for a smoky top shelf sipper...

Posted over 4 years ago by Mark from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

Very harsh on its own. Severely lacking flavour whichever way you have it. In a blind taste I would rate this very low end. There's much better tasting rums for less.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Per Rosenhave from Denmark with 173 ratings

Er den rom jeg har fået fat på, desværre er den ikke på siden, så har måttet bruge denne i stedet.

Det en rom jeg ser frem til at smage, specielt fordi den er fra St. Lucia

Posted almost 5 years ago by Joseph Doherty from United Kingdom with 25 ratings

Sweet, smooth and nicely subtle. Very good for an evening nightcap.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Larry from United States with 4 ratings

a nice sipping rum on the rocks...not as smokey as others...smooth on the palate

Posted almost 5 years ago by Ben from Canada with 58 ratings

Un rhum de tout les jours. Facile a boire. Parfait pour commencer a découvrir différent style de rhum.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Sousou85 from France with 36 ratings

C'est un bon rhum mais qui n'est pas assez travaillé, cela manque de longueur en bouche.
Très bon nez par contre.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Phil from French Guiana with 146 ratings

Présentation : sobre et agréable mais bouchon à vis...Belle couleur ambrée
Odeur : agréable,sucrée, boisée.
Goût : agréable, avec un petit goût de toffee doux mais ce rhum manque terriblement de corps.
Correct pour 34 EC (vu moins cher) mais rien de mémorable.

Posted about 5 years ago by Jeff Smith from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

my first real step into rum whilst on holiday in St Lucia, where it's often mixed with ginger ale. Recommended, but not for serious sippers

Posted about 5 years ago by Hedonist from Germany with 59 ratings

This Rum would be a "Lowland" if it would be a whisky. Got it for around 20€ and you can sipp it. The taste is on the smooth side, close the DomRep and Cuban Rums, but still different. The distillate is of a high quality, for only 5 years it is already very smooth. BUT I would like this Rum to be sold in an older version, maybe even with a finish in a more fancy barrel than burbon. This could give St.Lucia a premium Rum product.

Posted about 5 years ago by Qban aficionado from Canada with 9 ratings

This is a simple but nice rum I just discovered. The bottle is nothing special and I like this rum a bit less than the HC7. However, taking into account that the contents of this guy have been aging for less than 5 years versus 7 for the Havana Club I give this spirit the same rating. Has a pleasant smell and the afterburn is not as strong as the HC7. This is certainly a sipper in my books and for about ~35CAD in the Ontario, Canada market represents a good value.

Posted about 5 years ago by Heist from Switzerland with 9 ratings

great taste of melasse rum. The nose smells some flower, coffe, caramell und the taste is little bit more herb than you expect, but very well. Price/quality is very excellent. High quality by low price

Posted over 5 years ago by Carl Saxmark from Sweden with 115 ratings

The scent is awfull the taste was better and the finish was okay..

Posted over 5 years ago by Steven James from United Kingdom with 33 ratings

The range as a whole represents good value. This rum has just enough pot still influence to keep it interesting and flavourful and at a good price point.

Posted over 5 years ago by Bill Rogers from United States with 33 ratings

I found this rum to be a good bourbon. It seams to me to have many of the same taste notes as a good bourbon. Very good for the price. Wish it was available in the States.

Posted over 5 years ago by Michael Evans from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

The spiced chairman reserve is really smooth and I was expecting the same from this but it's really not that great. Fairly bland flavour and a very harsh nose, might be better with a mixer.

Posted over 5 years ago by Brendan S from Canada with 55 ratings

Nose: Nutty
Feel: Gets warmer. Not overly smooth or harsh. Can be sipped. Flavours do progress nicely.
Taste: Very nutty (I would say walnut) and a little bit of spice. Almost no wood flavours which was disappointing given the colour but accepted given the price.
Presentation: Ugly.
Price: 33 Canadian. Reasonable.

Posted over 5 years ago by Chris Williamson from Canada with 81 ratings

Had it and it was not as smooth as I hoped had more of a ruff bite at the start but will keep it in my collection

Posted over 5 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 126 ratings

I tend to switch between this and 1919 as my everyday sipper. While the 1919 is a lot more commercial (and it has something I find appealing), this is in truth a much better rum. Very smooth, touch of vanilla and oak, but not enough to mask the gentle flavours on the palate. A nice medium length finish. While I note that others find the alcohol a wee bit harsh, this isn't something that I find. Given the low price this is really a 7½/10

Posted about 6 years ago by thefatrumpirate from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

Hard to find a better rum at this pricepoint. Smokey and fruity wonderful rum for long drinks

Full review at

http://thefatrumpirate.wordpress.com/

https://twitter.com/thefatrumpirate

Posted about 6 years ago by Bill Gaylor from United States with 51 ratings

I fell in love with St Lucia rum 12 years ago and this rum is very typical of the Island. definitely get the vanilla, a bit strong for sipping for me, but a great mixer foe coke zero. The color is warm, and the flavor is good. And the price is wuite right for me.