Posting your rating...
Chairman's Reserve rum

Chairman's Reserve

Saint Lucia | Aged

Chairman's Reserve rum is produced in St Lucia using continuous and pot stills. The rum from these stills are aged for 3-4 years separetly, then combined and aged for 6 more months to marry the flavors.

The first blend of Chairman’s Reserve was produced in 1999 by St. Lucia Distillers, which was founded in 1932, and overseen by the company's Chairman Laurie Barnard.

6.5/10
148 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
6
10
50
51
23
5

Rate Chairman's Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

148 Chairman's Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Michael from Ireland with 8 ratings

Smooth with a nice honey coloring.. Nothing wrong with it and nice to drink whilst relaxing with a book or paper..
Just not fully "up there"

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Ohoskins1989 from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

Last year a good friend who is also a lover of rum, recommended I try Chairman’s Reserve spiced rum. This quickly became one of my favourite rums, I then began a quest to sample all the rum Chairman’s Reserve had to offer, beginning with original.

Chairman’s Reserve hails from the island of Saint Lucia. The original was first blended in 1999 as a special project to create a fine rum to represent the island of Saint Lucia. It is a combination of selected aged rums of Coffey pots stills and copper pot stills and finished in oak for blending.

For this tasting I exchanged the ginger ale for a Kombucha ginger and lemon, for a healthier option. As per usual I began with it neat with ice and rums favourite friend lime. The quality of this rum really shines though with its smoothness, although being a lover of rums I rarely find one that I can drink neat and this falls into this unlikely category. It has a smoky-oaky aroma and on the palate has tastes of chocolate, tobacco and cloves.

The closest worthy accompaniment to this rum was the tonic water, it did help bring out some of the flavours but felt as though the tonic drowned out the rum. As far as the ginger and lemon Kombucha, this felt like the natural lime and the lemon flavouring, coupled with the other flavours just battled with each other to which there was no winner. With such a great rum, combining it with coke (especially a generic brand) feels wrong, and this did nothing to enhance or complement the flavours of the rum.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 200 ratings

Another stunning rum from this great St Lucia distillery. Great sipper. Not as much depth as the 1931 but very smooth. Great character. Not sweet. Bite with balance. Great price for a rum of this quality and distinctive flavor. Beautiful long slow finish. MORE PLEASE!

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Yohobro from Canada with 15 ratings

$42CAD Smells sweet which is deceiving. Strong bourbon-ish oak flavours. The finish goes on and on with lots of light notes coming out- orange maybe? Alcohol burn is minimal which, at this price point, is a bonus. Not sweet, but tasty enough to enjoy as a sipper. The more I sip it, the more I like it, but still, I prefer a more exciting rum. I would compare to a Flor de Cana 12, albeit more interesting.

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 6 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 274 ratings

Another rum sampled in St Lucia at an old plantation. Enjoyed it on ice before moving up to Admiral Rodney. Smooth enough golden hues. Not bad for young rum.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by tortemd from Germany with 66 ratings

Nichts Außergewöhnliches, aber durchaus lecker und für den Preis vollkomnen in Ordnung.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Andrewofcalgary from Canada with 80 ratings

Has that sharp flavour reminiscent of Jamaican rums. Banana leaf tones. Not my thing especially for the price. Much better flavoured rums out there for the price.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Paul from Australia with 127 ratings

Not so strong but a delight all the same. I was impressed with its flavour and the vanilla aroma
Was worth the buy

Small alien 200 200

Posted 9 months ago by Richard from Sweden with 74 ratings

Generic rum and almond smell. Taste is similar, quite sweet but not very well rounded, as if it hasn't been matured enough. It's still ok and not harsh. Too short aftertaste

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Oleh from Ukraine with 16 ratings

Nose: floral, sweet, alcohol. No resin (it is good ). Maybe some vanilla.
Taste: the same rose and sweet, green apple, and smth else i cannot identify. Dont have spirit in your mouth, but strong enough.
Aftertaste: smooth and ... floral )) More apples and sweetness.. )

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by David Kundrt from Czech Republic with 18 ratings

Základní rum, lehce aromatický, trochu ostrý a štiplavý, 5-6