Posting your rating...
Chairman's Reserve rum

Chairman's Reserve rum is produced in St Lucia using continuous and pot stills. The rum from these stills are aged for 3-4 years separetly, then combined and aged for 6 more months to marry the flavors.

The first blend of Chairman’s Reserve was produced in 1999 by St. Lucia Distillers, which was founded in 1932, and overseen by the company's Chairman Laurie Barnard.

Rate Chairman's Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


128 Chairman's Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 181 ratings

commentaire a venir

Posted 12 months ago by pebron from Slovakia with 16 ratings

Vona pekna vyrazna, chut priemerna, mix sladkeho a korenisteho. Neurazi, ale ani neoslni.

Posted 12 months ago by Rich from Canada with 25 ratings

This was an afternoon supper, went down smooth and good aftertaste. I would like to try it next time on the rocks and put it in a flight of other higher rated rums

Posted about 1 year ago by narc714 from United States with 49 ratings

If you like St Lucia rums, this is a good and decently priced.
I have not yet tried the "Forgotton Casks" version which is almost twice the price, but get good reviews

Posted about 1 year ago by Edward Martens from Canada with 30 ratings

Hint of fruit, and tastes mostly of alcohol.
Colour very light amber. A little edgy when sipped neat, but taste melded will with some Coca Cola.

Posted over 1 year ago by mrakoplas from Slovakia with 35 ratings

Vôňa spočiatku príliš po alkohole, korenie, v chuti alkohol, neskôr jemný. Dobrý rum, za dobrú cenu. Čí viac rumov som vypil, tým viac mi chutí.

Posted over 1 year ago by Svehloun from Czech Republic with 15 ratings

Je poznat, že nějakou dobu zrál v sudech. Na chuti ovšem podtón něčeho "chemického". Spíše rum do kotejlu než na samotné piti

Posted over 1 year ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

Nose: A rich, fruity nose. Good sweetness.

Palate: Medium to full with a supple delivery. Sweet spices, creamy.

Finish: Medium, fruity.

Posted over 1 year ago by pmcl from Canada with 7 ratings

This is a well priced rum (at least where I’m from) that punches well above its weight class. Extremely smooth and very subtle though not overly complex. It’s oaky and a nice, smooth sipper.

Posted over 1 year ago by Chef Bobo from Sweden with 13 ratings

Chairman's is probably the very best choise for you who prefer drinking your rum with coke!
A clean, dry rum with enough oak and cane caracter. Not overwealmingly sweet.

Yet still really good to be enjoyed in a glass by it self but I would drink this one with coke !

Posted over 1 year ago by Art from United Kingdom with 9 ratings

I’m currently sipping this with a couple of ice cubes. I get a taste of faintly sweet raisins and although, obviously there’s alcohol there its not harsh or ‘burny’

I have mixed it with coke, thumbs up, and ginger beer, wobbly thumb, but my preference has become just over ice, sometimes with a lime wedge.

I picked this up in a uk supermarket for £20 so should I be writing a review on a site full of expensive Rum’s? Of course I should. After years of drinking Woods, Lambs and Pussers I’m looking to change things up and this a a darn fine start.

Posted over 1 year ago by AJ from Canada with 1 rating

Found this as a staff pick at my local liquor store and I did spent some time in St Lucia so I was intrigued to try it. What a disappointment! This rates among the worst runs I have ever tried. Very harsh with a turpentine finish. Nothing smooth about it. Not sure I would even mix it.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Les Fry from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Chairman's Reserve is a cracking rum, representing excellent value for money. A blend of pot and column still married together after around 5 years builds a well rounded and reasonably full Flavour, Stewed fruit and raisins on the nose and nice tingle of ethanol, the palate delivers a short hit of sweetness, banana and pear, and finishes with a lingering spicy warmth and a hint of chocolate and oak.

I love a Chairman's Reserve at the end of the night mixed with Ginger Beer, especially a fiery brand like Grace from Jamaica. it also mixes really well, the obvious choice as base for a Mai Tai and other Tiki style drinks.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Carl from United States with 22 ratings

This did not meet expectations. Lacked any smoothness and the burn drowned out any flavor the rum might have had.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Marc-Andre from Canada with 21 ratings

Il y a beaucoup mieux à boire, rhum à découvrir mais pas nécessairement en acheter 1 bouteille.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Marc from Netherlands with 30 ratings

Not a sipper but a very decent rum for mixing.
As a sipper it would be a 6, but as a mixer a solid 8.
Fruity with a hint of tabaco so be carefull which mix you want to put it in because it will bring some flavor in the mix of it's own.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

I normally like my rum chilled over ice. This is the only rum i actually prefer at room temp. Not special either way though.

Posted almost 2 years ago by bill from United States with 88 ratings

Not great, but only $24 at Total Wines. A like bit of a strong after taste but pretty good. I will buy it again.

Posted about 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Good quality rum mixes well with coke or juice I prefer lilt. For the price its a steal better than the supermarket rums of similar price

Posted about 2 years ago by Lee Riordan from United Kingdom with 19 ratings

I'd read a few good reviews and planned to treat myself to a bottle for home use. I then see this for sale within a pub in Bath and thought why not.
I would definitely buy again but in my opinion not the best and did not meet my expectations after reading the reviews

Posted about 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 149 ratings

Most people wants to find rum with good value for money. Well, here it is. It’s very hard to find anything better for this amount of money. The only one I found is the English Harbour 5y, which is extraordinariy and also cost a little bit more.
But this one is also something special with its flavours and nice afterburn. After what I have heard it’s the most consumed rum in St. Lucia. So it can’t be more karibik. This is a very good everyday rum to a very low price.

Posted about 2 years ago by Gilles from France with 3 ratings

Kind of standard rum, tasty but not extraordinary. Good one for sipping n' talking xD

Posted about 2 years ago by Tim from Canada with 54 ratings

Far from decent, but can stand in for virgin islands mixer I suppose... call me crazy, but it’s got the same profile to me!

Posted about 2 years ago by Chris Edwards from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

Warm, but not overpowering. Lovely to sip in the evening. Caramel, zest and a mild spicy note make for a perfect rum to chill with.

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

Having been to St Lucia twice, it ranks right up there with St Vincent and Dominica for being the most beautiful island in the Caribbean. I have finally found an affordable rum from this rugged island. Something also tells me that the molasses is sourced from Jamaica, but that is just my own hunch.

The aroma is of caramel and leather. The taste is similar to one of the funky Jamaican rums from Appleton Estate. The after taste is pure Jamaican funk. The burn is toned down a bit.

After breathing in the bottle for 10 days beyond the first test, the subdued funky Jamaican flavors are now even more subdued and replaced with the taste of butterscotch. Nutmeg is probably also in the mix as noticed by the strange feeling it gives after only two drinks, as well as morning after ill effects. After six months with about 75% of the bottle remaining, it retained it's initial taste, but the side effects caused me to pour the rest of the bottle down the drain and never want to buy this one again. This one started out as a 6 rating, then up to a 7, and now down to a 4.