Posting your rating...
Ron Esclavo XO Cask rum

Rate Ron Esclavo XO Cask

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


98 Ron Esclavo XO Cask ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 2 years ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 134 ratings

We all have that one rum, which got us hooked on the juice. For me it is this one. Someone once described the feeling of drinking this perfectly to me. It is like being cradled by your mother and punched by your big brother at the same time. Smooth, sweet and powerful at the same time.

Nose: Burnt sugar, vanilla and molasses
Taste: (Almost too) sweet with hints of caramel, vanilla and coffee and then a swift kick to the tastebuds by the 65abv. Long and warm aftertaste.
Overall: I love this rum. It is maybe a bit too sweet for my normal liking, but the alcohol level makes up for that and creates a fantastic experience.

Posted about 4 years ago by Staffan from Sweden with 26 ratings

What can I say. I put QRM 30 on the top shelf as my all time favorite, but I think I have to put another one right next to it. The Esclavo XO Cast is pure magic. It literally explodes in your mouth. Distilled by Oliver y Oliver and marketed by Danish based 1423 you can clearly find similarities with QRM as it is very sweet, very rich in both nose and body. But this one attacks all your senses with it's high, but not intrusive alcohol level, rich in butterscotch, dates, sugar cane and it's slightly smoky flavor. The high alcohol rate gives it a certain sharp licorice touch to it. It's INTENSE! The only gripe would be that after tasting this everything, literary everything, taste bland. So don't start with this when you're testing other rums. Finish with it!
It really feels exclusive with the numbering and it won't break the bank for you. A new favorite!

Posted over 4 years ago by Carl Saxmark from Sweden with 115 ratings

The color is dark, The taste is thick. The finish hit you like a sledge. If morse rums where like this i would be a happy puppy.

Posted over 2 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

This is one of the all time great rums I've ever tried. Purchased from Vinoble Skanderborg (Denmark), batch #5.

I thought I'd love this rum, as I rated the Esclavo XO a perfect 10. This one is even better (great rums taste better stronger). I like this even more than the Tres Hombres Captain's Choice rums, which are also quite amazing.

In fact, as of 300 reviews, I'd rate this as my #3 rum of all time (after the Centenario Real (#1) and the Centenario XX (#2)).

Very nicely sweet. Smells and tastes of caramel, butterscotch, vanilla, chocolate, and cinnamon spice. Simply a beautiful rum. And a pretty good value at only ~$70 (500ml). I hope I can find more!!!

Posted almost 4 years ago by Stig Wolff from Denmark with 152 ratings

Man fornemmer slet ikke at den er på 65%, den virker blød og rund i munden og pga. styrken holder smagen længe.
Der er noter af karamel, honning, vanilje og kanel.
Virkelig en rom der skal have en plads i samlingen og pga. styrken er det jo ikke en man drikker flere gals af, den skal nydes ;-) og det bliver den. ;-)

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

All I can say is wow, what an amazing rum. Truly a masterpiece! After well over 1,900 aged rums later, what an amazing find and what a big surprise. Ron Esclavo XO Cask Strength comes from the Oliver & Oliver group, so that does not surprise me a bit since most of their rums are simply stunning. The Ron Esclavo XO Cask Strength comes in a black clay bottle, handwritten label, it has a very deep color, surprisingly strong alcohol to the nose from being 130 Proof. Cask Strength differs greatly from the Esclavo XO in a sense that Cask Strength is all about chocolate whereas XO is all about coffee. The Cask Strength does not have any burn at all at the end which is very surprising taking into consideration its 130 Proof. This rum goes directly to my top 2 spot after well over 1,000 rums later. Stunning. Masterpiece.

Detailed scoring analysis:
10/100 Packaging, bottle and label design 10
10/100 Color of this rum 10
15/100 Nose test 15
20/100 Palate test 20
15/100 Afterburn of this rum 14
15/100 Availability to purchase this rum 11
15/100 Ultimate value for money 15
Total score 95

Posted over 2 years ago by LarsF from Sweden with 39 ratings

At the first smell you get a knock from the alcohol. After a while the sticky alcohol fades a bit and you can sense beautiful sweet aromas.

In mouth you will first get a kick from the alcohol but almost immediately you can taste vanilla, caramel and some spice. The 65 % alcohol makes this rum different in a good way. It almost vaporize in mouth. A very nice experience.

The aftertaste is very long and sweet.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Neville Midwood from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

Reading reviews I had built up in my mind how this might taste, and at the time when I started drinking Rum it was the best tasting (sweet) rum I'd tried. The bottle is boring and black with a white label. It is only 50cl.
The alcohol/sugar explodes in your mouth and the resultant aftermath tastes like I used to imagine a perfect sweet rum should taste. After a few months I could say maybe a little too much clove/five-spice.
There's also no depth, it's always wham, sweetness.
After a few months of drinking Velier, Foursquare and Agricoles I tried to go back to it. It wasn't enjoyable as a rum and it wasn't even worth keeping for cooking. Dumped down the sink.

Posted about 4 years ago by Kent Henriksson from Sweden with 17 ratings

This is a really strong and sweet rum with a big body and long finnish. Really good!

Posted about 4 years ago by Niclas Carlman from Sweden with 77 ratings

It's an explosion of sweet flavours in the mouth that lingers for ever. The only downside is the sharp hellfire burn on your tounge :-P

Posted over 4 years ago by Christoffer Sandberg from Sweden with 4 ratings

This one has a great aroma and the taste is even better. Even though it's a strong rum the alcohol taste doesn't take over as I expected it to do, instead there's an explosion of of different flavors that makes it very enjoyable. The aftertaste lasts several minutes afterwards.

Posted almost 2 years ago by RAVEZ from France with 1 rating

Testé au RhumFest Paris , vraiment très fort à la première gorgée mais la suite est une explosion de saveurs ! ! !

Posted over 2 years ago by Pleva from Czech Republic with 13 ratings

You will smell mainly alcohol due to 65% of content. But in alcohol is dissolved everything good and it is not diluted. After drinking a small sip or just few drops you will not guess 65%. I have drinked just one bottle, so i have tried only one batch but I hope that every batch is little bit different :-) Taste is extremely complex, smooth and strong with long and pleasant tail. You can feel everything you like in rum, but in this complex taste is hard for me differentiate anything dominant. Tail is long with strong flavor.
And price performance ratio is great also ;-)

Posted over 2 years ago by Thomas Breuning from Denmark with 180 ratings

Couldn't decide whether it should be a 9 or a 10, because I gave the original XO a 9. But I ended up with a toprate, because I'm surprised every time, that it's so smooth, soft and tasty even though it's 65 %. Absolutely brilliant. Worth every cent.

Posted over 3 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

A great rum. One of the best rum I have drank. Very special. A little bit to sweet, sugar added.

Posted about 4 years ago by Jonny Olsson from Sweden with 162 ratings

This could chock anyone! strong that it helpes to let it brief before, But to be so strong really goo!

Posted about 4 years ago by Luffsman from Sweden with 26 ratings

This drink is STRONG... And I am not a fan of those kind of strong things, the taste (in my humble opinion) are slightly warped with such a high procentage... But here it kind of works...

Posted about 4 years ago by Ken Klasson from Sweden with 21 ratings

Duft: lækker sød duft. vanilie, røget, blomme, kandis og en lille smule sprit.
Smag: sød og lidt røget i smagen. Karamel og blomme. God lang sød eftersmag

Posted about 1 month ago by tommyttn (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 1 rating

Wow.....and wow...

First of all, you do not notice the 65% alcohol since the taste is so intensive, explosive and you can drink many time and still can not figure all the flavours you can feel....

It is quite sweet on paper but you can not feel this since the combination of sweetness and alcohol is a truly harmony.

This is one of the best rum I taste so far....

Posted about 2 months ago by Myran from Sweden with 31 ratings

Strong and komplex with lots of tast, high proof makes this rum even more special.

Posted about 2 months ago by collinmaillard007 from Belgium with 31 ratings

This is a beverage for connoisseur. Very tasty though high in alcool. One glass should be enough to demonstrate its round character and its overwhelming power.

Posted 4 months ago by Maweis from Spain with 26 ratings

Un gran descubrimiento, con su potencia de 65 grados, quema la garganta, pero deja entrever su dulzor y sabores caramelizados y frutales, segun va pasando el tiempo y despues de 3 tragos se descubren mas y mas sabores, el final es largisimo, en relacion calidad precio no tiene rival, me ha encantado!!

Posted 5 months ago by Peterpanrha from Belgium with 27 ratings

Well
I do not know why,but those Danissh know how to hit the ball every time straight?wow,first the tres locos from the Vinoble team in Skanderborg and know this one
if there is a life after death, then I would like to come back as a Danish.

Posted 5 months ago by Pluring from Sweden with 8 ratings

Mycket stark men söt rom sprängfull med smaker! Ingen rom man häller upp en 6a utav utan 2cl av denna klarar man sig länge på. Enda problemet är att flaskan är alldeles för liten. 10 poäng!

Posted 6 months ago by HjaltiVignis from Iceland with 4 ratings

What can I say. Aþong the top five best rum that I have tasted. Amazing kick and rich flavour. If you want to have one good bottle of rum on your shelf, this is one that you should consider!




#