Posting your rating...
Ron Esclavo XO Cask rum

Ron Esclavo XO Cask

Dominican Republic | Aged

9.0/10 (101 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
6
14
35
41

Rate Ron Esclavo XO Cask

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


101 Ron Esclavo XO Cask ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

C0f998c66f19a1143cb6e85ca5a6dc17.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Staffan from Sweden with 26 ratings

What can I say. I put QRM 30 on the top shelf as my all time favorite, but I think I have to put another one right next to it. The Esclavo XO Cast is pure magic. It literally explodes in your mouth. Distilled by Oliver y Oliver and marketed by Danish based 1423 you can clearly find similarities with QRM as it is very sweet, very rich in both nose and body. But this one attacks all your senses with it's high, but not intrusive alcohol level, rich in butterscotch, dates, sugar cane and it's slightly smoky flavor. The high alcohol rate gives it a certain sharp licorice touch to it. It's INTENSE! The only gripe would be that after tasting this everything, literary everything, taste bland. So don't start with this when you're testing other rums. Finish with it!
It really feels exclusive with the numbering and it won't break the bank for you. A new favorite!

80be7e9723e9073a50ab23f7ec9ae43d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Carl Saxmark from Sweden with 115 ratings

The color is dark, The taste is thick. The finish hit you like a sledge. If morse rums where like this i would be a happy puppy.

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

This is one of the all time great rums I've ever tried. Purchased from Vinoble Skanderborg (Denmark), batch #5.

I thought I'd love this rum, as I rated the Esclavo XO very high. This one is even better (great rums taste better stronger). I like this even more than the Tres Hombres Captain's Choice rums, which are also quite amazing.

In fact, after over 400 reviews, I'd rate this as my #3 rum of all time (after the Centenario Real (#1) and the Centenario XX (#2)).

Very nicely sweet. Smells and tastes of caramel, butterscotch, vanilla, chocolate, and cinnamon spice. Simply a beautiful rum. And a pretty good value at only ~$70 (500ml). I hope I can find more!!!

D17a0061c553bef6dc83598dc739a9bc.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Stig Wolff from Denmark with 152 ratings

Man fornemmer slet ikke at den er på 65%, den virker blød og rund i munden og pga. styrken holder smagen længe.
Der er noter af karamel, honning, vanilje og kanel.
Virkelig en rom der skal have en plads i samlingen og pga. styrken er det jo ikke en man drikker flere gals af, den skal nydes ;-) og det bliver den. ;-)

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2651 ratings

All I can say is wow, what an amazing rum. Truly a masterpiece! After well over 1,900 aged rums later, what an amazing find and what a big surprise. Ron Esclavo XO Cask Strength comes from the Oliver & Oliver group, so that does not surprise me a bit since most of their rums are simply stunning. The Ron Esclavo XO Cask Strength comes in a black clay bottle, handwritten label, it has a very deep color, surprisingly strong alcohol to the nose from being 130 Proof. Cask Strength differs greatly from the Esclavo XO in a sense that Cask Strength is all about chocolate whereas XO is all about coffee. The Cask Strength does not have any burn at all at the end which is very surprising taking into consideration its 130 Proof. This rum goes directly to my top 2 spot after well over 1,000 rums later. Stunning. Masterpiece.

Detailed scoring analysis:
10/100 Packaging, bottle and label design 10
10/100 Color of this rum 10
15/100 Nose test 15
20/100 Palate test 20
15/100 Afterburn of this rum 14
15/100 Availability to purchase this rum 11
15/100 Ultimate value for money 15
Total score 95

Ec96639ca1f6e5b0765185c214e991b9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by LarsF from Sweden with 39 ratings

At the first smell you get a knock from the alcohol. After a while the sticky alcohol fades a bit and you can sense beautiful sweet aromas.

In mouth you will first get a kick from the alcohol but almost immediately you can taste vanilla, caramel and some spice. The 65 % alcohol makes this rum different in a good way. It almost vaporize in mouth. A very nice experience.

The aftertaste is very long and sweet.

16aebda419bde193328cf4b6551cffc0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Neville Midwood from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

Reading reviews I had built up in my mind how this might taste, and at the time when I started drinking Rum it was the best tasting (sweet) rum I'd tried. The bottle is boring and black with a white label. It is only 50cl.
The alcohol/sugar explodes in your mouth and the resultant aftermath tastes like I used to imagine a perfect sweet rum should taste. After a few months I could say maybe a little too much clove/five-spice.
There's also no depth, it's always wham, sweetness.
After a few months of drinking Velier, Foursquare and Agricoles I tried to go back to it. It wasn't enjoyable as a rum and it wasn't even worth keeping for cooking. Dumped down the sink.

7bca594298d45b68243c7dc151d1577f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Kent Henriksson from Sweden with 17 ratings

This is a really strong and sweet rum with a big body and long finnish. Really good!

1838a628692b83407f67de1a5a7c3a0d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Niclas Carlman from Sweden with 77 ratings

It's an explosion of sweet flavours in the mouth that lingers for ever. The only downside is the sharp hellfire burn on your tounge :-P

0775415b8de7ced27d394fe64d6a25e9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Christoffer Sandberg from Sweden with 4 ratings

This one has a great aroma and the taste is even better. Even though it's a strong rum the alcohol taste doesn't take over as I expected it to do, instead there's an explosion of of different flavors that makes it very enjoyable. The aftertaste lasts several minutes afterwards.