Posting your rating...
Opthimus Malt Whiskey Finish 25-Year rum

Opthimus Malt Whiskey Finish 25-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

9.1/10 (52 ratings)
Truly a fantastic choice

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
36
11

Rate Opthimus Malt Whiskey Finish 25-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


52 Opthimus Malt Whiskey Finish 25-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Kenneth Olesen from Denmark with 77 ratings

A bit sharp in the nose, but very smooth in the mouth.Long lasting aftertaste, very good balance not nearly as sweet as other Opthimus. Im a fan!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 369 ratings

Für mein 200. Rating eine nette Flasche.

Im Glas schönes rotbraunes Mahagoni mit Kupfer Reflektionen.
In der Nase eine herrliche Tiefe die Dir das Wasser im Munde zusammen laufen lässt. Kandierte Früchte in Vanillesauce, karamellisierte und getoastete Hölzer liegen auf moosig torfiger Erde. Wow, jede Minute und jedes Grad wärmer bringt neue Düfte hervor.
Im Gaumen gleitet eine Armada von Aromen süss (34 gr.) und sanft über die Zunge. Eine ganze Palette von tropischen Früchten wie Banane, Mango, Papaya aber auch weisse Trauben und rote Beeren werden von Karamell und Vanille zart umhüllt. Es sind aber auch herbere Aromen mit im Spiel so wie harziges Holz, angesengte Sägespäne, zart-bittere Schokolade, Waldhonig und frisch geschnittenes Gras.
Im Abgang richtig süss und fast klebrig, herrlich und lang bleibt Karamell und Kakao.
Sicher einer der Besten aus dem Hause O&O und eine Nuance Vielschichtiger als der "Normale" 25-yo. Das Whisky-Fass tut hier wirklich gute Dienste. 9+
Ein absolutes Muss für Süss-Rum Liebhaber, passt sicher Gut zu einer herben Zigarre. 163/1500 2016

For my 200th rating a nice bottle.

In the glass beautiful red-brown mahogany with copper reflections.
In the nose, a wonderful depth that makes your mouth water. Candied fruits in vanilla sauce, caramelized and toasted woods lie on mossy peaty soil. Wow, every minute and every degree warmer brings forth new fragrances.
On the palate, an armada of flavors glides sweet (34 gr.) and gently over the tongue. A whole range of tropical fruits such as banana, mango, papaya but also white grapes and red berries are delicately wrapped in caramel and vanilla. But there are also herbier aromas in the game such as resinous wood, scorched sawdust, tender-bitter chocolate, forest honey and freshly cut grass.
In the finish really sweet and almost sticky, delicious and long remains caramel and cocoa.
Certainly one of the best from O & O and a shade more complex than the "normal" 25-yo. The whiskey barrel is doing really good service here. 9+
An absolute must for sweet-rum lovers, sure to go well with a tart cigar. 163/1500 2016

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Ngordon87 from United States with 47 ratings

Purchased this for about $100 USD after trying the 15yr. This one is nice and smooth with a bit of a slight burn at the end. Its a bit sweet but not overpowering. I still prefer my Foursquare over thus, but it is definitely a sipper I would like to keep on hand. Definitely worth the cost.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2662 ratings

Rum tasting in the Finnish wilderness with my good old friend continued with Opthimus 25y Single Malt Finish. Unique bottle and label design. Mahogany color. Sweet oak to the nose and palate when neat sipped. Sweet and mild burn at the end. Very well done Oliver y Oliver.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 214 ratings

Foarte placut, fin si aromat, un rom desavrsit in bunul stil Oliver&Oliver. Intr-adevar se simte vechimea de 25 de ani. Un rom puternic, dulce si nu prea.. Only On The Rocks!

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Chris from Switzerland with 30 ratings

If you're into more complex rums, this indeed is an awesome choice. I can also recommend to try different vintages. The 2015 is much different than the 2013 for example. What an adventure!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Piero from Switzerland with 4 ratings

love it....prefere the Oporto Finish but the Whiskey Finish is perfect in combination with a cigar..

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Maximo from Dominican Republic with 4 ratings

Medium-bodied and contemporary, this rum can be defined as opulent and exquisite. Strong mahogany color, intense aromas and an exceptional bouquet of cranberries, herbs and toasted woods, finished with a silky syrupiness flavor. Aged in American and French oak barrels

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Vicke from Sweden with 70 ratings

This is a very good rhum already without the malt whiskey finish. Smooth and sweet just as i prefer. A little less sweet however. Here comes a added taste from the whiskey barrel that brings it to a new level. I think I still prefer the regular 25y. But somehow I really like the added complexity.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Immiketoo (PREMIUM) from Greece with 40 ratings

I have the 15 year and while it’s nice, it leaves a bit to be desired.

The 25 year malt whiskey finish is exceptional.

Slightly sweet and spicy, the burn starts the instant you take a sip.

The nose and taste are slightly vanilla forward, but offset by the oak and malt whiskey notes.

The finish is dry like whisky with a lingering sweetness that’s quite nice.