Posting your rating...
Opthimus Malt Whiskey Finish 25-Year rum

Rate Opthimus Malt Whiskey Finish 25-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


46 Opthimus Malt Whiskey Finish 25-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 3 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

Ok, now I thought the 18 was tasty but this one is a whole new level of tastiness. From the nose which smells of dry fruit and sweetness to the finish it is a SOLID rum. There was no let down. Just the right amount of sweet and the smooth finishes hangs on your tongue for 7-8 minutes after you ingest it. I would highly recommend giving this guy a taste. Fantastic Rum to say the least.

Posted about 5 years ago by Kenneth Olesen from Denmark with 77 ratings

A bit sharp in the nose, but very smooth in the mouth.Long lasting aftertaste, very good balance not nearly as sweet as other Opthimus. Im a fan!

Posted 10 months ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Rum tasting in the Finnish wilderness with my good old friend continued with Opthimus 25y Single Malt Finish. Unique bottle and label design. Mahogany color. Sweet oak to the nose and palate when neat sipped. Sweet and mild burn at the end. Very well done Oliver y Oliver.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 342 ratings

Für mein 200. Rating eine nette Flasche.

Im Glas schönes rotbraunes Mahagoni mit Kupfer Reflektionen.
In der Nase eine herrliche Tiefe die Dir das Wasser im Munde zusammen laufen lässt. Kandierte Früchte in Vanillesauce, karamellisierte und getoastete Hölzer liegen auf moosig torfiger Erde. Wow, jede Minute und jedes Grad wärmer bringt neue Düfte hervor.
Im Gaumen gleitet eine Armada von Aromen süss (34 gr.) und sanft über die Zunge. Eine ganze Palette von tropischen Früchten wie Banane, Mango, Papaya aber auch weisse Trauben und rote Beeren werden von Karamell und Vanille zart umhüllt. Es sind aber auch herbere Aromen mit im Spiel so wie harziges Holz, angesengte Sägespäne, zart-bittere Schokolade, Waldhonig und frisch geschnittenes Gras.
Im Abgang richtig süss und fast klebrig, herrlich und lang bleibt Karamell und Kakao.
Sicher einer der Besten aus dem Hause O&O und eine Nuance Vielschichtiger als der "Normale" 25-yo. Das Whisky-Fass tut hier wirklich gute Dienste. 9+
Ein absolutes Muss für Süss-Rum Liebhaber, passt sicher Gut zu einer herben Zigarre. 163/1500 2016

For my 200th rating a nice bottle.

In the glass beautiful red-brown mahogany with copper reflections.
In the nose, a wonderful depth that makes your mouth water. Candied fruits in vanilla sauce, caramelized and toasted woods lie on mossy peaty soil. Wow, every minute and every degree warmer brings forth new fragrances.
On the palate, an armada of flavors glides sweet (34 gr.) and gently over the tongue. A whole range of tropical fruits such as banana, mango, papaya but also white grapes and red berries are delicately wrapped in caramel and vanilla. But there are also herbier aromas in the game such as resinous wood, scorched sawdust, tender-bitter chocolate, forest honey and freshly cut grass.
In the finish really sweet and almost sticky, delicious and long remains caramel and cocoa.
Certainly one of the best from O & O and a shade more complex than the "normal" 25-yo. The whiskey barrel is doing really good service here. 9+
An absolute must for sweet-rum lovers, sure to go well with a tart cigar. 163/1500 2016

Posted about 2 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 206 ratings

Foarte placut, fin si aromat, un rom desavrsit in bunul stil Oliver&Oliver. Intr-adevar se simte vechimea de 25 de ani. Un rom puternic, dulce si nu prea.. Only On The Rocks!

Posted about 3 years ago by Chris from Switzerland with 30 ratings

If you're into more complex rums, this indeed is an awesome choice. I can also recommend to try different vintages. The 2015 is much different than the 2013 for example. What an adventure!

Posted about 4 years ago by Piero from Switzerland with 4 ratings

love it....prefere the Oporto Finish but the Whiskey Finish is perfect in combination with a cigar..

Posted almost 5 years ago by Maximo from Dominican Republic with 4 ratings

Medium-bodied and contemporary, this rum can be defined as opulent and exquisite. Strong mahogany color, intense aromas and an exceptional bouquet of cranberries, herbs and toasted woods, finished with a silky syrupiness flavor. Aged in American and French oak barrels

Posted 5 months ago by Peter from United States with 25 ratings

Bought on the strength of the reviews here and wasn't disappointed. Initially quite sweet but mellows out after a taste or two. Can't say I can pick out anything particularly 'malt whiskey's barrel about it but very nice nonetheless

Posted 5 months ago by RumBech from Denmark with 12 ratings

Opthimus, Markant sødme, nougat smelter på i tungen, meget fed og fyldig rom. Krydderi fra malt whiskyen. Eftersmag: Lang, fyldig eftersmag.

Posted 6 months ago by Michael N from United States with 69 ratings

I’ve tried several of the other rums offered by Opthimus and have never been disappointed. The standard 25 year was the first rum I gave a 10 rating, and it is well deserved. This 25 year malt whiskey finish is the best rum I’ve tried. It has all the flavor and smoothness of the standard 25 but is a little more complex and robust. An absolute must try for anyone who drinks rum. It will be a staple in my liquor cabinet from now on.

Posted 12 months ago by Underdog from United States with 17 ratings

Why did I wait so long to try. Nice bite on the tongue followed by a smooth velvety coating of vanilla, oak, buttery molasses with hint of orange. Ohh so good. Similar to Zacappa XO but a step up.
Highly recommended.

Posted about 1 year ago by Taster from Switzerland with 104 ratings

Nose: voluminous scent of caramel and some orange. And some hints of smoke.
Palate: smooth, warm, voluminous body. Very well balanced, almost no burn. Very natural and authentic. Not too sweet taste (althrough it contains 34 g/l of added sugar) I like this one.

8,8 - 9

(EP)

Posted about 1 year ago by Nielf from Denmark with 119 ratings

Helt fantastisk rom som er yderst kompleks. Den har det hele.

Posted over 1 year ago by Anders Ravn Jørgensen from Denmark with 86 ratings

Så vild en rom, hvis du kommer i nærheden af denne så køb den, endnu bedre end den almindelige 25 års. Bør være i et hvert barskab trods prisen (kan fås til 700 kr i Tyskland)

Posted over 1 year ago by Pavel from Czech Republic with 133 ratings

The very first sip was a bit disappointing for me, I just expected a little bit more. But then it reveals its potential, it's very well balanced, colorful strong, dark, longlasting smooth aftertaste

Posted over 1 year ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 149 ratings

It’s a complex Ron with lots of nice notes, but the strength (43%) don’t quite balance up the sweetness. Lots of vanilla and you can clearly feel whisky notes in your nose and in the end. With a little less sweetness it should have been a top rate.
Picture: My Dom. Rep. Shelf & My opened bottle.

Posted over 1 year ago by Mario de Lara from Brazil with 2 ratings

Mouth watering taste. Rich, smooth, perfect balance of spices and sweets. I’ld drink it every day

Posted about 2 years ago by Adam from Poland with 86 ratings

Znakomity! Nie wiedzieć czemu nie spodziewałem się zbyt wiele po tym rumie. Błędnie. Nie rozlewają zbyt wiele tych butelek, kolor znakomity. Zapach akurat nie jest najmocniejszą stroną, ale smak...no muszę przyznać, że kompozycja, balans, smak...świetny. Czuć te 25 lat, czuć lekki finisz whisky. Mimo to bardzo łagodny, ale ciekawy i dość długi posmak.

Posted about 2 years ago by Teis Madsen from Denmark with 114 ratings

Har dog ikke smagt Port finish, men denne er bedre end 25eren. Lidt fed i smagen på den gode måde og tilpas sød.

Posted over 2 years ago by Giancarlo from Peru with 60 ratings

I recently had the chance to taste this delicious rum Opthimus 25 years Malt Whiskey Finish, but in principle as is already recurrent in Oliver & Oliver the presentation is rarely the best, on the other hand the mahogany color that presents is very attractive; The aroma of vanilla, fruits and a little coffee. By tasting it you can feel the great taste, soft, warm and with light notes of whiskey.

Hace poco tuve la suerte de probar este riquísimo ron Opthimus 25 años Malt Whiskey Finish, pero en principio como ya es recurrente en Oliver & Oliver la presentación muy rara vez es la mejor, por otro lado el color caoba que presenta es muy atractivo; el aroma a vainilla, frutas y un poco de café. Al probarlo puedes sentir el estupendo sabor, suave, cálido y con ligeras notas de whisky.

Posted over 2 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

This one is just amazing! The finish in the whiskey barrel provides a incredibly balanced taste. Sweeter than many may like but the vanilla tones and smooth finish makes this sipping rum a desert replacement in my house.

Posted over 2 years ago by Tobias Hansen from Denmark with 96 ratings

Husker ikke nærmere bedømmelse da det er et godt stykke tid siden jeg smagte den og blot gav en karakter.

Posted over 2 years ago by Axel from Germany with 89 ratings

Bin mit wenig Erwartungen an die Flasche ran......er hat mich sehr positiv überzeugt. Ein wirklich leckerer Rum

Posted over 2 years ago by Waly Vega from United States with 15 ratings

Dark caramel color with amazing aromas of vanilla and chocolate! Cheers!