Posting your rating...
Opthimus Malt Whiskey Finish 25-Year rum

Opthimus Malt Whiskey Finish 25-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

9.1/10 (53 ratings)
Truly a fantastic choice

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
36
12

Rate Opthimus Malt Whiskey Finish 25-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

53 Opthimus Malt Whiskey Finish 25-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Pavel from Czech Republic with 133 ratings

The very first sip was a bit disappointing for me, I just expected a little bit more. But then it reveals its potential, it's very well balanced, colorful strong, dark, longlasting smooth aftertaste

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Immiketoo (PREMIUM) from Greece with 43 ratings

I have the 15 year and while it’s nice, it leaves a bit to be desired.

The 25 year malt whiskey finish is exceptional.

Slightly sweet and spicy, the burn starts the instant you take a sip.

The nose and taste are slightly vanilla forward, but offset by the oak and malt whiskey notes.

The finish is dry like whisky with a lingering sweetness that’s quite nice.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by ripperussr from Czech Republic with 109 ratings

Strong aroma - caramel. Gentle body, almost none tail.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Tomas from Czech Republic with 144 ratings

Rich body with explosive fruity burn and body. The aftertaste is a bit plain, that's why I rate it 9.

Small 067776ec 7856 49b2 8c45 07afe364fe9d

Posted 7 months ago by VikingXO from Denmark with 127 ratings

The nice whisky touch just added the extra point up. Sweet and tasty!

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Peter from United States with 26 ratings

Bought on the strength of the reviews here and wasn't disappointed. Initially quite sweet but mellows out after a taste or two. Can't say I can pick out anything particularly 'malt whiskey's barrel about it but very nice nonetheless

Small 20210101 013939

Posted 1 year ago by RumBech from Denmark with 14 ratings

Opthimus, Markant sødme, nougat smelter på i tungen, meget fed og fyldig rom. Krydderi fra malt whiskyen. Eftersmag: Lang, fyldig eftersmag.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Michael N from United States with 72 ratings

I’ve tried several of the other rums offered by Opthimus and have never been disappointed. The standard 25 year was the first rum I gave a 10 rating, and it is well deserved. This 25 year malt whiskey finish is the best rum I’ve tried. It has all the flavor and smoothness of the standard 25 but is a little more complex and robust. An absolute must try for anyone who drinks rum. It will be a staple in my liquor cabinet from now on.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Underdog from United States with 18 ratings

Why did I wait so long to try. Nice bite on the tongue followed by a smooth velvety coating of vanilla, oak, buttery molasses with hint of orange. Ohh so good. Similar to Zacappa XO but a step up.
Highly recommended.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Taster from Switzerland with 114 ratings

Nose: voluminous scent of caramel and some orange. And some hints of smoke.
Palate: smooth, warm, voluminous body. Very well balanced, almost no burn. Very natural and authentic. Not too sweet taste (althrough it contains 34 g/l of added sugar) I like this one.

8,8 - 9

(EP)

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Nielf from Denmark with 152 ratings

Helt fantastisk rom som er yderst kompleks. Den har det hele.