Posting your rating...
St. Nicholas Abbey 5-Year rum
St. Nicholas Abbey 5-Year rum

St. Nicholas Abbey 5-Year

Barbados | Gold

8.3/10 (14 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
4
7
1

Rate St. Nicholas Abbey 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


14 St. Nicholas Abbey 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

0a8cdb4ba2ce47c92a38474130a26026.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 232 ratings

The first rum 100% produced at st. Nicholas abbey (10, 12 and 15 year was made at foursquare). It's a cane juice based pot/collum still rum. The color is lightly golden, and almost clear. Beautiful. The first thing that hits my nose is fresh, sweet peaches followed by a bit of vanilla and newly cut hay. There's a very summer like feel to the scent. My mouth is met by a rum that, given it's age, is astonishingly and sublimely smooth and so well balanced. Slightly floral notes of hay, vanilla, peaches and figs unfolds in my mouth and finishes on a gentle wooden note. As with the 15 year big brother, this is an incredibly elegant rum, with delicate frail notes. St. nicholas abbey, more then lives up to the quality of the foursquare benchmark, and i'm really looking forward to seeing where this product lands with further maturation. This is bloody good!

1225b0c0f949f31636d184206daee557.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted at Sea Water Front 10 months ago by Drew from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Smooth, sipping rum that finishes like an 8 year old that grew up before its time. Small barrique, single estate, Barbados owned & run, this is the real McCoy of authentic Caribbean Rum.
Nice bottle too. I met the people who make this rum & they are passionate & friendly. Check out St Nicholas Abbey on your next trip to Barbados 🇧🇧

3d05c486bc00e7015b95b18181e39f32.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Hard to believe this rum is only 5 years old. Uncommonly smooth, with a delicate fragrance and a light presence. Because it hasn't been resting in wooden barrels in the hot tropics for very long, the oak tones are slight, making room for fruit and gentle spice. Wonderful stuff here.

C480f1f9cd13e1c8b1e6b20797ccf036.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by BoscUlrich from Canada with 2 ratings

After getting the 2011 12-year old as a gift and picking up the 10-year and 15-year of 2013, I was really looking forward to getting my hands on the Estate-produced St. Nicholas Abbey 5-year. The 5-year, although not a Fourquare-produced rum as the previous aged offerings were, carries the tradition of amazing Abbey rums. This is much more smooth and complex than what would normally be expected from a 5-year rum. It has more earthy tones to it than the older Abbey rums and is less sweet, but it so smooth. No harshness at all. No lingering bite. There is no way I would be using this as a mixer given how difficult it is to get it.

4eb36190a963506e34b5496e45e2d86e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

Exceptionally well balanced and the same soft velvety character that was in the nose comes forth here too. It`s rich, warm, welcoming with notes of toffee, vanilla, orange peel and tropical fruit backed up by some spicier woody notes.
Use this as both sipper and mixer.

388e0c2591281bbaa7be3ccdb282b09c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 124 ratings

Gorgeous aroma, not harsh at all and it tastes wonderful. Can’t believe it’s such a young rum.

3ce07723e3972d92e188717cb5b859ad.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Gareth J from United States with 8 ratings

After enjoying the 10 year I was pleasantly surprised by th 5 year old obviously not a smooth. As this rum is made from the sugar can rather than molasses, you get a much great depth of flavor. So although the young expression, I would keep this for sipping, its robust enough to mix but for me it would beca waste.

1f50a1c83239386a002acbf73f35980b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Michael LaRocca from United States with 10 ratings

I had the pleasure of tasting this rum while on the rum tour at the St. Nicholas Abbey distillery. The golden color didn't quite appeal to me, certainly not as much as a dark rum would, but the bottle was very nice and the overall look was attractive. The flavor though was really very good, and was actually quite a bit better than I expected. It's fairly smooth, and has a complex yet rich collection of flavors that confuse and delight you.

I gave it a weighted score of 7.53, which I rounded up to 8 for rumratings.com. My scoring system (with weights) is as follows:
-Packaging (10%): 8
-Color (20%): 5
-Nose (20%): 8
-Palette (25%): 8.5
-Smoothness (25%): 8

Definitely worth a try! It's a decent sipping rum, and I bet would also be a fantastic mixing rum.

8b64efa31917de69b299f4de0cf9fece.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Andreas Bisgaard from Denmark with 27 ratings

Jeg elsker normalt rom fra Barbados, men denne faldt ikke i min smag

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2597 ratings

Enjoyed a glass of St. Nicholas Abbey 5y while vacationing in Paris. Okay bottle design, but could be much fancier taken into consideration its price. Color is golden. Strong whisky flavors to both nose and palate. Quite a lot of burn at the end. I like my rums dark and sweet. This is just whisky spoiled rum in my books.