Posting your rating...
Hamilton Jamaican Gold rum

Rate Hamilton Jamaican Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


15 Hamilton Jamaican Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

3d05c486bc00e7015b95b18181e39f32.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

This is pot still gold rum from the world-famous Worthy Park Estate in Jamaica. The aroma fills the room with spice and dunder and almost off-putting levels of funk...but once you taste this magnificent product, all is right with the world.

In the glass it is pale gold, quite pretty to behold. Nosing it fills the senses with overripe fruit, spices and oak. The flavor is positively sublime and yet mind-stranglingly complex. I love this rum straight up.

B71d0607147cfef3513eeb08b5eb0af7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by dl3000 from United States with 7 ratings

So pale, yet packed with flavor. The nose is pure hogo, with rotten fruit and fruity earthy tones. On the palate quite smooth and bursting with fruity funk and almost an oaky peatiness. Beachbum says this is what rums used to taste like. I love time traveling in the glass!

A5ee0d909520bbda04c9aa2f41f90179.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by nomad from United States with 126 ratings

It has taken me years to learn to love this rum and its ability to bring instant richness to any drink. I will add this to other rums straight up for a little kick. Same review for this and the black because they are the same.

6408b7f585358005fcdb9f323c380bde.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by DevilsChariot from United States with 4 ratings

This is a pale gold rum with a small amount of time in wood. It has bold, boozy, over-ripe pot still character but not to much wood character. Even 1/2 ounce will slap your favorite rum drink in the face and demand it try harder to please. Great in a Mai tai, navy grog, or sidewinders fang. Also good with coke or tonic and lime on ice.

40439403d5eb9c7a13b561e084ee52cc.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by jmp3 from United States with 88 ratings

I like the pot still flavors left in the rum. Great aroma even mixed with coke.

1ff5b6cf5a65436737f083200dd896c6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 days ago by Cory Wid from United States with 84 ratings

A light, unaged Jamaican rum. Its a bit unsettle if you have it neat, I'd recommend it mostly for mixing in cocktails (which I believe is entirely what it's made for). It does open up more and become more sweet/fruity as it rests in the glass.

06e775de3ea659802819e69660ac783b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 months ago by je_farley from United States with 103 ratings

From the minute it hits your nose you know this is going to be funky on the tongue. It has a solid taste but not the depth of some other of the Jamaican "funk" rums. This is a nice rum but if you are a really looking for funk try Dr. Bird or another with a broader flavor profile.

C05755fe1ed7745113179491d185efe1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Jaybird from United States with 47 ratings

The aromas upfront are fruity and warming. Molasses and soft sweetness. Flavor is drying and firm. Woody (or similar) with hints of fleeting caramel, leather and smokiness. Some of the expected funkiness too. A bit less funk than I would have expected.
Overall I'm just a little less complex than expected, I'd like a bit more depth of flavor but it does make a really excellent mixing rum. When used in tiki drinks it seems to really give them character! For the price it's a solid buy. Not my go to for a neat sipping rum. For what it is it's really nice. This will definitely do the job in a lot of drinks calling for a good moderately funky Jamaican pot still rum. Always on the shelf.
Same as the Pot Still Black minus the caramel color.

5e9ab08b33a624cb31f8e2648a74a28e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

Good introduction to hogo flavors for those that havent experienced it. It really packs a punch for those initial tasters and is fun to drink.

Fc7254408b93ef307e1bef847aa38e74.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 11 months ago by cowboykidd from United States with 5 ratings

Bitter flavor with a strange after taste. It is bad straight and just as bad mixed. It has a slight gold color, which it turns out comes from them putting just a little bit of caramel color it. One of the worst rums that Inhave had.