Posting your rating...
Hamilton Jamaican Black rum

Hamilton Jamaican Black

Caribbean | Dark

7.6/10 (33 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
6
12
8
1

Rate Hamilton Jamaican Black

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


33 Hamilton Jamaican Black ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Really hard to find this any more. Got the last bottle at one of my local haunts, hiding behind the Hamilton Jamaican Gold. Speaking of which, I've read that both rums are identical except that the Black has been colored with caramel. I did a blindfold taste-test and would agree that they are semi-identical twins. Like the gold, this black rum is pure Jamaican funk. Rotting bananas, spices, bandaids, and a bit of wood. You will either be revolted by this challenging rum or you will be enchanted by its unapologetic, savory assault on your taste and smell buds. I enjoy it neat because it deserves the spotlight all to itself...

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Howard from United States with 9 ratings

The first drink I made with this wonderful Rum locked me in. Taste is subjective and I can't speak for anyone else, but the Mai-Kai's Oh So Deadly is one of my favorite drinks and in my humble opinion, can't be made without Hamilton Gold and Black. I find no similarities between the Smith & Cross (which I like) and the Hamilton.

I tell people to try and drop any preconceptions about rums when I pour it for them. It's very different.

Out of the 53 rums I keep on hand, the Hamilton is in my top 3.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

Bottled at 46.5 the heat hits you right up front. The flavor and aroma is instantly recognizable as it should be and is in the same pocket as Smith and Cross Wedderburn pot still. However this is a tad sweeter, though not overly sugary for a dark rum, than the S&C and finishes with a medicinal tang. As you become acclimated to it a lovely black strap molasses creeps in.
At the price of $26 you can't go wrong. If you want a heavy dose of Jamaican funk with a bit more sugar than Smith and Cross than this is an easy choice.
I'm definitely going to buy another S&C before I burn through this Hamilton for a proper side by side.

Ffffff

Posted 19 days ago by rennerg from United States with 21 ratings

This is a really excellent rum for the price point (around $30 here in the Midwest US). There’s a ton of unapologetic personality in this bottle, exactly the Jamaican kind you’d expect.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by John frederick from United States with 41 ratings

Bought this one after seeing reviews here. Tried it on the rocks first. Very spicy and strong as previously described. Could only muster two glasses, it was tough for me to drink straight. Tried it in a dark and stormy, perfect, I recommend this way. I liken it to a spicier and stronger Goslings

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Mike Pooch from United States with 38 ratings

If you love Appleton and that Jamaican funk In your tiki mixes this is an extreme version done the old way with the pot still method. I would recommend this for anyone who is a serious connoisseur of Jamaican rums, my rating is for using it as a mixer, but I suggest using a little less in simple mixes, because it is strong and can overpower a mix. For those multiple ingredient mixes like Rum Barrels or vintage Zombies this can work well. As a sipper it’s kind of a fun novelty if you want to see how much HOGO you can handle! It does have a whiskey profile mixed with that Coruba or Myers type Jamaican. Try 1 oz Hamilton with 1oz simple syrup, 1 oz lime and a dash of bitters swizzle with crushed ice and a couple luxardo cherries. Basically a riff on Stephen Remsberg’s Planters Punch, with less rum. A fun sipper to sample with your rum buddies to see how far they have taken the funk! A rare find that I give a 9 because of rarity and uniqueness and because Ed Hamilton is a gentleman, scholar and fine judge of rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 86 ratings

Had it in a tiki drink called "Doctor Funk", which may be the most expressive Hogo-Heaven beverage I've ever consumed.
If I'm going to have a dark rum, I want it to be bursting with flavor. Hamilton delivers, and so we have the perfect rum for a Dark n' Stormy for us drinkers that relish the funk. It represents a unique category of rum, with only itself as a member - Jamaican Pot-Still Dark - genius. Rich, thick, and dark with all the best of the Jamaican style. A fine addition to many a tiki drink. $20 in WI (Discount Liquor)

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

This is an interesting rum. It has a really unique flavor that others are calling 'funk'. I'm not a big fan of this 'funk' flavor (I don't have a better description other than 'dark agricole'); it's a little on the dry side for me. But if you like this rum, then I recommend you try the Taildragger 'After Dark' rum, which has a somewhat similar 'funk' to it, but is sweeter, stronger, and a little better imho.

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by Toast from United States with 39 ratings

Very dark pour. Aroma is funky, but not off putting. Taste is slightly sweet, but runs more on the earthy/ woody side. Finishes smooth.

Ffffff

Posted 24 days ago by sebastospud from United States with 9 ratings

Sipped neat, and this is so neat - vegetal herby nose. But then lush licorice and molasses on the tongue. Really great and funky.