Posting your rating...
Carta Vieja Anejo rum

Carta Vieja Anejo

Panama | Gold

6.1/10
12 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
3
3
2

Rate Carta Vieja Anejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

12 Carta Vieja Anejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Graham from United States with 14 ratings

This rum has a very potent initial bite but then falls off at the finish. Has a toasted wood & maple flavor

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 401 ratings

I have been a fan of Carta Vieja 18 Year and 8 Year for many years. Then a website showed this one being $5 US cheaper than the 8 Year. When I finally got to their store, sure enough, it was in an entirely different labeled bottle with no age statement. Thinking that less wood aging would make it taste better than their 8 year old and always looking for a good buy, I bought two bottles (like a damn fool).

Well, their 8 year old rates as a 7 by me, but this one can garner no more than a 5. Their silver rum tastes so much better. Their choice of wood is what screws this one up. I will never buy this rum again, but so many other rums that I have tried are rated even worse. I will stick with their 18 year solera and 8 year anejo. If it works, don't fix it! The wood taste was so bad that I wound up giving both bottles to a neighbor.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Lloyd from Australia with 31 ratings

Sipping this in Panama with little ice around it’s a lovely change to the usual on ice rums I’ve tried. Instantly you get a sweet taste followed by a smooth woody flavour. The flavour lingers too. Love it

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Lukasz from Poland with 20 ratings

Rum from Panama, three years old. Aroma of kerosene, dried cherries, dried plums. The taste has a lot of snuff, like Grande Champagne cognac, dry, zero sweets, skin, bitter tea, cherry juice, green walnuts. The finish is also very dry, tart, very leathery, tobacco, besides pears in syrup, raspberries.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Philip Rademaker from Curaçao with 50 ratings

I had a Brugal extra viejo with soda, and after that I tried this one in the same combination. While the Brugal is not outstanding, though quite nice in the mix, The Carta Vieja did not deliver. a raw, unfinished taste, the alcohol coming through while the sweetness did nothing to finesse it. Quite cheap though, and I will buy it again, and have raisins and prunes soak in it, add a little honey and cinnamon for an after dinner "Bajativo".

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by AlexMo from Russian Federation with 166 ratings

A lot of smells - overdone with flavors?
Quality alcohol with an excess of sugar and acids.
It's burning for women, it's sugary for men, it's optimal for students?

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Farid from United States with 1 rating

all around good rum, is smooth, Taste and aroma also very finished

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by nomad from United States with 131 ratings

But flawed. Wouldn't buy again. Still only a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Tony Lindo from Panama with 132 ratings

Para compartir con Amigos fabuloso para compartir con Amigos ron profundamente joven especial para carnaval en las tablas

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Rick Walton from United States with 5 ratings

The color, taste and smell was superb. The rum on the rocks with a splash of Limon was excellent.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by jsanca from United States with 58 ratings

So soft, easy for mixing, non-strong alcohol. It was easy to drink :)