Posting your rating...
Flying Dutchman Premium Dark rum

Flying Dutchman Premium Dark

Netherlands | Dark

The Flying Dutchman Premium Dark rum is produced in The Netherlands by the Zuidam family. Fermentation takes up to two weeks (substantially longer than most rums) before being distilled in copper pot stills. The Premium Dark variety is aged for up to 3 years in small wooden barrels.

5.8/10 (32 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
5
9
12

Rate Flying Dutchman Premium Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


32 Flying Dutchman Premium Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

15aa70c944d2c9469e99a18b7214e3e3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by Marty from Czech Republic with 67 ratings

Nic moc. .

94b964e08d67b06d827b5d8dd01fde75.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by JT from Norway with 34 ratings

en Rom lagret i 3 år har man ikke så store forventninger til. Ubestemmelig i lukten, og minner meg om en whisky og en sterk ettersmak.

69fb36e55457d26566e311f68dee0c5c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by filovo from Czech Republic with 174 ratings

suchá whisková vůně
po chuti se lehce rozvine slasi ovocnejší chut, štiplavá po alkoholu

5cba59c6aa86a459f827d2893fdb12b8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Matje from Netherlands with 23 ratings

Geur en smaak meteen uit de fles wat wrang. Na opwarmen nog steeds niet echt prettig. Na wat drupjes water een stuk minder scherp en niet gek. Een fles kopen niet zo gauw, maar een cadeautje zou ik met smaak weg kunnen krijgen. Geen topper, maar ook zeker niet de minste.

1567cd0c6f783445408f29fa4c18d800.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Daniel Lindén from Sweden with 60 ratings

Färgtonen är en aning mörk gul. Aromen finner jag lakrits och torkad frukt. Smaken är förvånansvärt mjuk. Kryddig med torkad frukt, helt okej för en tre åring från Nederländerna.

4be253d45d9416576db896f9813d14ab.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Theodora from Slovenia with 76 ratings

Already on nose unexpexted aroma, not common for a rum, same with taste. After very short finish, I decided, not to my taste. It is good that rum in a rum.

9924f88b00eb14d3783e76e30aff5556.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Soweek from Czech Republic with 71 ratings

Smells like anise, tastes like pills. Reminds me a scotish whiskey. Not what I am looking for in rum.

10025d4670ff50de5c2b9a20aec4c8d0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 137 ratings

Rums produced in Europe seem to get a bad rep, but are getting more and more common as rum get more and more popular. This is one of the rums, that will have a hard time convincing people, that European rum is just as good as Carribean or South American rums.

Nose: Honeycomb, prunes and a floral bagground that gets more dominant with time in the glass
Taste: Fruity and rich with honey, licorice and notes of orange
Overall: To me this is a rum, that have a hard time deciding, what it wants to be. It tries hitting all the different notes, that are possible to hit with a good rum, but ends up hitting none of them.

5bd42496ccfef3a9554af15a04d0103a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Loxias from Czech Republic with 156 ratings

This rum is aged for a minimum of 3 years in 1/3 Casks made from American Oak (virgin and reused), 1/3 Casks formerly used for Oloroso sherry and 1/3 Casks formerly used for PX sherry. And the sherry cask aging makes a big inflence.
In the nose is brown sugar and tropical fruits.
Taste is sweet and bit smoky with hints of dried fruits and liquorice and long sweet aftertaste where sherry cask aging is recognisable.
It reminds me Dos maderas

25f6bf9e901fc0c462ab5dffa7011128.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by jandy from Czech Republic with 52 ratings

Vune - whisky, citron dub
Chut - koreni, orechy
Celkove zajimavy pocin, ale celou lahev si asi nekoupim