Posting your rating...
Flying Dutchman Premium Dark rum

Flying Dutchman Premium Dark

Netherlands | Dark

The Flying Dutchman Premium Dark rum is produced in The Netherlands by the Zuidam family. Fermentation takes up to two weeks (substantially longer than most rums) before being distilled in copper pot stills. The Premium Dark variety is aged for up to 3 years in small wooden barrels.

5.7/10
34 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
4
5
9
13

Rate Flying Dutchman Premium Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

34 Flying Dutchman Premium Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Olaf from Netherlands with 72 ratings

This was a total turn down. Not sweet at all, according to my taste. It's more like whisky, but not a good one. It's harsh and has a non-describable taste. Tried it neat, on the rocks and mixed with a coke. All was bad. With ginger ale it was slightly better though. At least good enough to finish the bottle :)

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by soccerrd5 from Netherlands with 22 ratings

Didn't know the Dutch made rum in the Netherlands until I came across this one. Strong but smooth, very good for making Cuba Libre

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Andzin from Czech Republic with 21 ratings

Very hard to discribe, dry, alcoholic, no interesting on nose... End leaves with burn on throat.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Marty from Czech Republic with 66 ratings

Nic moc. .

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by JT from Norway with 36 ratings

en Rom lagret i 3 år har man ikke så store forventninger til. Ubestemmelig i lukten, og minner meg om en whisky og en sterk ettersmak.

Small img 5797

Posted almost 2 years ago by filovo from Czech Republic with 223 ratings

suchá whisková vůně
po chuti se lehce rozvine slasi ovocnejší chut, štiplavá po alkoholu

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Matje from Netherlands with 27 ratings

Geur en smaak meteen uit de fles wat wrang. Na opwarmen nog steeds niet echt prettig. Na wat drupjes water een stuk minder scherp en niet gek. Een fles kopen niet zo gauw, maar een cadeautje zou ik met smaak weg kunnen krijgen. Geen topper, maar ook zeker niet de minste.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Daniel Lindén from Sweden with 60 ratings

Färgtonen är en aning mörk gul. Aromen finner jag lakrits och torkad frukt. Smaken är förvånansvärt mjuk. Kryddig med torkad frukt, helt okej för en tre åring från Nederländerna.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Theodora from Slovenia with 100 ratings

Already on nose unexpexted aroma, not common for a rum, same with taste. After very short finish, I decided, not to my taste. It is good that rum in a rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Soweek from Czech Republic with 86 ratings

Smells like anise, tastes like pills. Reminds me a scotish whiskey. Not what I am looking for in rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 149 ratings

Rums produced in Europe seem to get a bad rep, but are getting more and more common as rum get more and more popular. This is one of the rums, that will have a hard time convincing people, that European rum is just as good as Carribean or South American rums.

Nose: Honeycomb, prunes and a floral bagground that gets more dominant with time in the glass
Taste: Fruity and rich with honey, licorice and notes of orange
Overall: To me this is a rum, that have a hard time deciding, what it wants to be. It tries hitting all the different notes, that are possible to hit with a good rum, but ends up hitting none of them.