Posting your rating...
Flying Dutchman Premium Dark rum

The Flying Dutchman Premium Dark rum is produced in The Netherlands by the Zuidam family. Fermentation takes up to two weeks (substantially longer than most rums) before being distilled in copper pot stills. The Premium Dark variety is aged for up to 3 years in small wooden barrels.

Rate Flying Dutchman Premium Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


32 Flying Dutchman Premium Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Youri from Netherlands with 62 ratings

I expected more of the zuidam distillers. Strong alcohol taste for a rum.

Posted 3 months ago by Marty from Czech Republic with 65 ratings

Nic moc. .

Posted 6 months ago by JT from Norway with 34 ratings

en Rom lagret i 3 år har man ikke så store forventninger til. Ubestemmelig i lukten, og minner meg om en whisky og en sterk ettersmak.

Posted 6 months ago by filovo from Czech Republic with 173 ratings

suchá whisková vůně
po chuti se lehce rozvine slasi ovocnejší chut, štiplavá po alkoholu

Posted over 1 year ago by Matje from Netherlands with 23 ratings

Geur en smaak meteen uit de fles wat wrang. Na opwarmen nog steeds niet echt prettig. Na wat drupjes water een stuk minder scherp en niet gek. Een fles kopen niet zo gauw, maar een cadeautje zou ik met smaak weg kunnen krijgen. Geen topper, maar ook zeker niet de minste.

Posted over 1 year ago by Daniel Lindén from Sweden with 60 ratings

Färgtonen är en aning mörk gul. Aromen finner jag lakrits och torkad frukt. Smaken är förvånansvärt mjuk. Kryddig med torkad frukt, helt okej för en tre åring från Nederländerna.

Posted over 1 year ago by Theodora from Slovenia with 76 ratings

Already on nose unexpexted aroma, not common for a rum, same with taste. After very short finish, I decided, not to my taste. It is good that rum in a rum.

Posted over 1 year ago by Soweek from Czech Republic with 71 ratings

Smells like anise, tastes like pills. Reminds me a scotish whiskey. Not what I am looking for in rum.

Posted over 1 year ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 135 ratings

Rums produced in Europe seem to get a bad rep, but are getting more and more common as rum get more and more popular. This is one of the rums, that will have a hard time convincing people, that European rum is just as good as Carribean or South American rums.

Nose: Honeycomb, prunes and a floral bagground that gets more dominant with time in the glass
Taste: Fruity and rich with honey, licorice and notes of orange
Overall: To me this is a rum, that have a hard time deciding, what it wants to be. It tries hitting all the different notes, that are possible to hit with a good rum, but ends up hitting none of them.

Posted over 1 year ago by Loxias from Czech Republic with 154 ratings

This rum is aged for a minimum of 3 years in 1/3 Casks made from American Oak (virgin and reused), 1/3 Casks formerly used for Oloroso sherry and 1/3 Casks formerly used for PX sherry. And the sherry cask aging makes a big inflence.
In the nose is brown sugar and tropical fruits.
Taste is sweet and bit smoky with hints of dried fruits and liquorice and long sweet aftertaste where sherry cask aging is recognisable.
It reminds me Dos maderas

Posted over 1 year ago by jandy from Czech Republic with 52 ratings

Vune - whisky, citron dub
Chut - koreni, orechy
Celkove zajimavy pocin, ale celou lahev si asi nekoupim

Posted about 2 years ago by Peter Kalnai from Czech Republic with 34 ratings

This rum was a pretty big disappointment. The expectations were high, because the bottle looked very nice. However, the taste was really harsh for me, as well as for my friends (non experienced rum tasters). The hope is in the aroma, which was the only nice thing.

Posted over 2 years ago by Danny Leij from Netherlands with 18 ratings

I like This rum and like the sweet taste. And Great on the Ricks.

Posted over 2 years ago by Mark N from Netherlands with 18 ratings

First thing that comes to mind is whiskey. Both taste and nose. Pretty smooth though. No extraordinary taste. I like it for every day use. Price is ok. Looking forward to see more international reviews here.

Posted over 2 years ago by Olaf from Netherlands with 56 ratings

This was a total turn down. Not sweet at all, according to my taste. It's more like whisky, but not a good one. It's harsh and has a non-describable taste. Tried it neat, on the rocks and mixed with a coke. All was bad. With ginger ale it was slightly better though. At least good enough to finish the bottle :)

Posted over 2 years ago by Jurgen from Netherlands with 7 ratings

Had a bit of hope i could sip this, but that was whishfull thinking. Not a lot of taste except the ethanol afterburn.
Not my cup of tea. This will be bottle that will last a very long time. Sorry can,t make it better than this.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Pedro from Netherlands with 10 ratings

It's not as smooth sipping rum what I was hoping for. It has the sweetness caramel vanilla tone, though quite a harsh finish. It's in the category of just above average quality dark rum - no wow factor.

Bottle label print and naming as stated here will change due to legal issues with Berry Bros & Rudd, owner of No 3 London Dry Gin.So future labels of Zuidam will be not No 3 but Number 3.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Wesley from Netherlands with 12 ratings

Makkelijk te drinken rum. Puur of on the rocks. Ik zelf vind hem on the rocks het beste smaken. Redelijk zoete rum met, al vind ik het zelf, een whisky achtige smaak.

Posted almost 3 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Nizozemsko
Aroma: Kandovaný ananas, ostřejší koření, vlašské, lískové a para ořechy, lehká kouřovost, hřebíček. Stylově jde o rum s lehčí a tenčí vůní. (83 b)
Chuť: Příjemně nasládlý, kořenitý, s vanilkou, medem a sladkou ovocností. V dochuti kokos a ananas. (85 b)
Body: 84/100
Shrnutí: Ochutnal jsem v Pivnici U Čolka v Brně-Žabovřeskách, kde mají velmi pěknou rumovou nabídku, odhadem asi 150-170 druhů.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Marc from Netherlands with 30 ratings

I was hoping to have a premium tasting dutch rum, but it simply is not.
I'm not saying that it's bad but it's just not what I expected.
There are some nice fruity notes and oak but it's just not well balanced and the alcohol taste is a bit to much.
With a cube of ice it does get a bit better but it's not one of those rum's that makes me want to rum to the store to get another one.

Posted about 3 years ago by Frank van Rossum from Netherlands with 16 ratings

Heerlijk rummetje om on the rocks te drinken. Zachte smaak

Posted about 3 years ago by ChrisCalculus from Netherlands with 5 ratings

Easy to drink rum, likeable by most (I presume). Not too complicated and currently my go-to rum to drink when I cannot decide what else to drink (although this might do it a little short).

Posted over 3 years ago by Myrthe from Netherlands with 31 ratings

Not quite my type of rum, too much alcohol taste and too sweet. Fun fact, my drinking buddy, who is into whiskey, prefers this rum over the others in my cabinet so I'm saving it for him!

Posted over 3 years ago by Michael Loggies from Netherlands with 50 ratings

Really nice to see a dutch brand producing such a nice tasting rum.

Posted over 3 years ago by Rob from Netherlands with 19 ratings

By surprise I bought it and it is a nice rum.
The bottle looks very nice, the color a bit light. the smell is deep. when you drink it the first thing I noticed is the deep flavours and aftertaste is soft.

Its a very nice rum