Posting your rating...
Flying Dutchman Premium Dark rum

Flying Dutchman Premium Dark

Netherlands | Dark

The Flying Dutchman Premium Dark rum is produced in The Netherlands by the Zuidam family. Fermentation takes up to two weeks (substantially longer than most rums) before being distilled in copper pot stills. The Premium Dark variety is aged for up to 3 years in small wooden barrels.

5.7/10
33 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
4
5
9
12

Rate Flying Dutchman Premium Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

33 Flying Dutchman Premium Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Andzin from Czech Republic with 21 ratings

Very hard to discribe, dry, alcoholic, no interesting on nose... End leaves with burn on throat.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by jandy from Czech Republic with 52 ratings

Vune - whisky, citron dub
Chut - koreni, orechy
Celkove zajimavy pocin, ale celou lahev si asi nekoupim

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Peter Kalnai (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 34 ratings

This rum was a pretty big disappointment. The expectations were high, because the bottle looked very nice. However, the taste was really harsh for me, as well as for my friends (non experienced rum tasters). The hope is in the aroma, which was the only nice thing.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Danny Leij from Netherlands with 18 ratings

I like This rum and like the sweet taste. And Great on the Ricks.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Mark N from Netherlands with 18 ratings

First thing that comes to mind is whiskey. Both taste and nose. Pretty smooth though. No extraordinary taste. I like it for every day use. Price is ok. Looking forward to see more international reviews here.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Olaf from Netherlands with 63 ratings

This was a total turn down. Not sweet at all, according to my taste. It's more like whisky, but not a good one. It's harsh and has a non-describable taste. Tried it neat, on the rocks and mixed with a coke. All was bad. With ginger ale it was slightly better though. At least good enough to finish the bottle :)

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Jurgen from Netherlands with 7 ratings

Had a bit of hope i could sip this, but that was whishfull thinking. Not a lot of taste except the ethanol afterburn.
Not my cup of tea. This will be bottle that will last a very long time. Sorry can,t make it better than this.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Pedro from Netherlands with 10 ratings

It's not as smooth sipping rum what I was hoping for. It has the sweetness caramel vanilla tone, though quite a harsh finish. It's in the category of just above average quality dark rum - no wow factor.

Bottle label print and naming as stated here will change due to legal issues with Berry Bros & Rudd, owner of No 3 London Dry Gin.So future labels of Zuidam will be not No 3 but Number 3.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Wesley from Netherlands with 12 ratings

Makkelijk te drinken rum. Puur of on the rocks. Ik zelf vind hem on the rocks het beste smaken. Redelijk zoete rum met, al vind ik het zelf, een whisky achtige smaak.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 314 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Nizozemsko
Aroma: Kandovaný ananas, ostřejší koření, vlašské, lískové a para ořechy, lehká kouřovost, hřebíček. Stylově jde o rum s lehčí a tenčí vůní. (83 b)
Chuť: Příjemně nasládlý, kořenitý, s vanilkou, medem a sladkou ovocností. V dochuti kokos a ananas. (85 b)
Body: 84/100
Shrnutí: Ochutnal jsem v Pivnici U Čolka v Brně-Žabovřeskách, kde mají velmi pěknou rumovou nabídku, odhadem asi 150-170 druhů.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Marc from Netherlands with 30 ratings

I was hoping to have a premium tasting dutch rum, but it simply is not.
I'm not saying that it's bad but it's just not what I expected.
There are some nice fruity notes and oak but it's just not well balanced and the alcohol taste is a bit to much.
With a cube of ice it does get a bit better but it's not one of those rum's that makes me want to rum to the store to get another one.