Posting your rating...
Old Monk 7-Year rum

Old Monk 7-Year

India | Aged

5.5/10
39 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
4
8
13
5
2
1
1

Rate Old Monk 7-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

39 Old Monk 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Philippe Roy from Canada with 32 ratings

This was my first try at indian and maybe my last. Right of the bat the smell was bizzare. I tried just a sip and it was the most disgusting rum i've tasted yet. Than i tried it with a coke and once again it was probably the worst rum and coke i've had in exception to the one i drank in clubs. The taste was more like a cheap vodka rather than rum. On the upside the bottle is really unique and nice looking it could be a good looking bottle in a bar.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Ash B from Netherlands with 11 ratings

Smells very good, first taste is surprising, exactly how rum should taste, however in the end, the Kung fu really hits you.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by DMG from United States with 11 ratings

The best use for this rum is probably mixing considering the price, but you can try to enjoy it alone. It will not stand up to any typical ~8y offering by large brands, but it's ok on its own.

Nose: Vanilla is the most obvious, not a high quality vanilla but I've definitely smelled worse. Some desert notes, and light fruitiness. Maybe cantaloupe, whipped cream, marshmallow, nothing heavy at all. A tiny bit of caramel but nothing prominent. The smell is better than the taste undoubtedly.

Taste: Much more vanilla, a bit of deeper bread notes almost charred maybe. Some basic caramel, although the taste is quite lacking in roundness. This tastes a bit too young and sharp for my taste, not enough oomph in the note intensities to offset these flaws. Expected for the price though. Aftertaste duration is fairly long, but the intensity is not quite up there. Prolonged note of something mildly sweet but light will linger, hard to pinpoint but again something like roasted marshmallow or cantaloupe is pretty close.

This is not meant to be enjoyed alone, but if you insist then I recommend some water or ice for sure. Cuts down on the sharpness noticeably and gives you a light hearted rum without too much fuss. A bit funky and sharp when neat, not desirable.

Neat: 4/10, with ice about 5.5 or 6/10, as a mixer maybe 6.5/10. This rating also factors in the price: if stepping up to $20-25 is of no concern then this easily falls down a full notch. It simply cannot compete with more established 8 year offerings, it's quite clear. The overall lightness of this rum can compliment other ingredients fairly well and not overpower them when mixed, which is quite nice considering the price.

Small download

Posted 1 year ago by 5xo (PREMIUM) from Slovakia with 270 ratings

Noticeably sharper than the 12y/Gold Reserve version, which is not a bad thing. Less sediment and coffee, but the nose has fruitiness. Really the difference between 12y and this is about preference.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Hotrod from Russian Federation with 5 ratings

I rarely throw away spirits. But that 's the case.

Ffffff

Posted at Galaktika Club 2 years ago by MrNucklear from Ukraine with 4 ratings

Well, for it's price of 7$ it's totaly great. Smell strikes instantly - some vanilla, peper and nuclear westes from chernobyl. Tastes same way. You just trying to get all taste and in end it burning like a Hiroshima. If you have a friend to drink with - it better than vodka for same price, drink it alone a realy sad and radioactive thing...

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Reiwa from Japan with 142 ratings

It's strong taste, sweet, but there is not rich taste.
Caramel, vanilla, somethin spice and a little rubber flavor.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Nathan from Canada with 8 ratings

Never have i had a rum that made me feel so good everything about it i loved, the finish i fell in love with if you like vannila and coke and thats the ulimate holiday rum drink

Ffffff

Posted 13 days ago by ZTrain1177 from Canada with 64 ratings

I liked it. It has a definitive vanilla caramel taste. Good for mixing.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 434 ratings

barva světlé hnědá až do oranžová
- vůně jemná, karamelová
- chuť jemná, nasládlá, nedozrálé vlašské ořechy, ostřejší koření
poměr cena výkon sakra dobrý 👍

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Andrewofcalgary from Canada with 106 ratings

For something that tastes like nail polish remover with a hint of vanilla and banana leaf, its surprisingly potable. I thought Id diversify my cabinet and taste something from the east but this one was a fail. Thought about throwing it out but it cost more than the average bottle so Im going to suffer through. Definitely an acquired taste.