Posting your rating...
Old Monk 7-Year rum

Rate Old Monk 7-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


24 Old Monk 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 2 years ago by Ash B from Netherlands with 11 ratings

Smells very good, first taste is surprising, exactly how rum should taste, however in the end, the Kung fu really hits you.

Posted 7 months ago by Hotrod from Russian Federation with 5 ratings

I rarely throw away spirits. But that 's the case.

Posted at Galaktika Club 11 months ago by MrNucklear from Ukraine with 4 ratings

Well, for it's price of 7$ it's totaly great. Smell strikes instantly - some vanilla, peper and nuclear westes from chernobyl. Tastes same way. You just trying to get all taste and in end it burning like a Hiroshima. If you have a friend to drink with - it better than vodka for same price, drink it alone a realy sad and radioactive thing...

Posted about 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 136 ratings

It's strong taste, sweet, but there is not rich taste.
Caramel, vanilla, somethin spice and a little rubber flavor.

Posted over 3 years ago by Nathan from Canada with 8 ratings

Never have i had a rum that made me feel so good everything about it i loved, the finish i fell in love with if you like vannila and coke and thats the ulimate holiday rum drink

Posted about 1 month ago by mc from United States with 19 ratings

Caramel and butterscotch. Enjoyable sipping on the rocks or with coke. A nice surprise.

Posted 3 months ago by Napoon from Germany with 15 ratings

Ich hatte den Rum zu Beginn meiner Rum-Aficionado Laufbahn aufgrund der Beschreibung eines großen Rum-Onlinestores erworben, da ich Rums aus aller Herren Länder ausprobieren wollte.

Zu schmecken war lediglich das bekannte Rum-Aroma aus Bielefeld, evtl. mit ein bisschen Reifenabrieb. Aufgefüllt mit Industriealkohol. Aufgrund der Güte dieses Getränks hatte ich zudem sogar etwas Angst um mein Augenlicht.

Es passierte bis jetzt nur einmal das ich direkt nach dem Tasting eine Flasche dem Kanaligator opferte. Old Monk hat diese zweifelhafte Ehrung erfahren.

Geschmäcker sind verschieden, das mag sein, aber hier ist meiner Meinung nach jeder ausgegebene Cent verbrannt.

Posted 4 months ago by tortemd from Germany with 50 ratings

In Indien gilt er als Premium. Naja, man kann ihn trinken.

Posted 6 months ago by Echo from Ukraine with 11 ratings

It fits for those who love some rum experiments and in search of new taste.
Aroma and taste are strong. I like this rum, but it is a little bit spiced too much.

Posted 7 months ago by fraktahl from Estonia with 3 ratings

Tastes good, especially in cocktails. Quite unique taste and nose.

Posted 9 months ago by Hlodge274 from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

Strong sweet caramel smell. Was surprised by the light body. The burn is quite intense and the finish short. Was excited to try an Indian rum but this one left me high and dry.

Posted about 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Old Monk 7y Rum while vacationing in Auckland NZ. Low key bottle and label design. Strong oak, mild vanilla and pure unaged alcohol to your nose and palate when neat sipped. Strong and nasty burn at the end. Awful even when mixed.

Posted about 1 year ago by Aaron from Canada with 69 ratings

Sour apricot on the tongue, rich, oaky vanilla washes on the swallow to the aftertaste. A hefty tobacco/chocolate finish rounds out a complex experience. The flavours are vibrant but harsh, creating a conflicting contrast. Would recommend as a mixer.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Tomas from Czech Republic with 135 ratings

Mixture of spices is really wierd. Alcoholic taste and burn is strong.

Posted almost 2 years ago by ripperussr from Czech Republic with 96 ratings

Nice colour, but hollow taste.alcoholic taste is properly good, but I miss the body of the rum...

Posted over 2 years ago by Nicholas from Switzerland with 15 ratings

Amazing butter scotch and caramel nose but the taste punches you back to life.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 136 ratings

Unique nose with some butterscotch. Really strong taste, even more vibrant than most 151s I've had. Honestly I didn't like it at all, maybe some do - but just too harsh to get many flavors. Friend of mine says it tastes like an oyster with some brine. Likely good for whiskey drinkers.

Posted about 3 years ago by Ales from Czech Republic with 54 ratings

Sladké kouřové aroma. V chuti dřevo, není příliš sladký.

Posted over 3 years ago by Philippe Roy from Canada with 32 ratings

This was my first try at indian and maybe my last. Right of the bat the smell was bizzare. I tried just a sip and it was the most disgusting rum i've tasted yet. Than i tried it with a coke and once again it was probably the worst rum and coke i've had in exception to the one i drank in clubs. The taste was more like a cheap vodka rather than rum. On the upside the bottle is really unique and nice looking it could be a good looking bottle in a bar.

Posted over 3 years ago by Pierre from Canada with 86 ratings

Square bottle. Smells like caramel. Tastes sweet and spiced without being a spiced rum. Reddish dark colour. Nice and sweet with Sprite.

Posted over 3 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 194 ratings

I dont know if this bottles been sneakily topped back up with water or if its naturally this weak and watery ? Tastes of coffee , chocolate and a bit of caramel , very sweet but instantly forgettable....

Posted over 4 years ago by Dobso from Slovakia with 40 ratings

Ostrý, málo sladký, podobná chuť ako whiskey. Nebude môj obľúbený, ale nephrniem nad ním nos.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Hedonist from Germany with 59 ratings

Tast like Christmas spices. Sometimes sold for low prices in indian supermarkets sth. below 15€. Then it is worth trying.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Ben from Canada with 58 ratings

Gout sucré à la limite artificiel. On peut sentir les notes de caramel brulé et de vanille. Un gout different me rappellant le plastic brulé. Difficile de l'évalué car ce rhum est très différents de tout ce que j'ai pus gouter. Personnellement je n'est pas trop apprécié.