Posting your rating...
Afrohead XO 15-Year rum

Afrohead XO 15-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

7.6/10 (17 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
3
3
6
1

Rate Afrohead XO 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


17 Afrohead XO 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Ramon from United States with 74 ratings

I first tasted this rum when my local purveyor had a bottle on the sample table. They also had a representative from the distributer on hand who shared the story of the rums origin. This is a very well balanced good tasting rum as one would hope. I tend to like a good dark rum and this one is close to the mark but the barrel flavour makes it taste a bit like bourbon. I think my whiskey drinking friends would be turned on to rum after sampling it. I would drink this straight up or on the rocks with a side of Coke, I wouldn't mix it, I kinda like the burn. The price is a bit high, but it may be hard to find. When you do find it, the box and the bottle look great, it's like a gift set year round so treat yourself - YOLO

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Juno from United States with 51 ratings

Had this rum in Miami and had to buy a bottle. Very floral taste that leaves sugarcane on the palate. Not a fan of the XO bottle because it hides the caramel color.

Ffffff

Posted at Hidden Harbor 8 months ago by beeporama (PREMIUM) from United States with 23 ratings

Despite the attestation of Toby Tyler (master blender) that there is no added sugar, this had a vanilla sweetness that reminded me of Zaya. For something of this age, I would have expected more oak... it's there, but not the kind of smokiness I'd like. I know this is aged in bourbon barrels, but overall, it was way smoother than I expected. Which would be a good thing for almost anyone, so I do recommend this as a sipping rum, but I think I prefer styles with more character.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by je_farley from United States with 107 ratings

Very floral to both the nose and tongue with a strong bite at the end. A very interesting taste but not to my liking...felt there was not a lot of body for an aged rum. It was nice to try but will not be a stocker.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

I recently discovered this rum in the Bahamas.

I was skeptical. I understand and appreciate the cultural and ethic significance of the bottle but at first glance I found it bizarre and not typical of a high quality rum. But, this is a high quality rum.

The nose is floral and maple. Its very balanced, a little on the spicy side but still has a nice strong sweetness. It really has a bit of everything going on which I found very unique. The finish is smooth with an added oak and citrus note.

Anything less than a 9 for this rum is ridiculous... This is a must try.

This is a sipper.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Capt. Rick from United States with 3 ratings

Incredibly smooth and so sippable either on the rocks or straight up. This rum is always my go-to rum when friends come over. And knowing the history of how it's made, I have gotten my whiskey drinking friends to really appreciate a good rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by DucksFan16 from United States with 52 ratings

VERY deep and complex aroma, oaky, delicious. Taste is very complex, deep, bold, vanilla, slight alcohol, smooth. Tastes very similar to El Dorado 21 to me, except more bold and dry. 90+

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Amalas from United States with 65 ratings

A little bit of burn, but in a good way. Following that is a ton of flavor, including botanicals and oak.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Had a rum tasting on a sunny afternoon, because why not. Afrohead XO Rum bottle and label design looks nice and unique. Light golden color from artificial flavoring. Strong alcohol, wood and vanilla to the nose and palate. Strong burn at the end. Whisky lovers can add 2 points, but this is not my cup of tea.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Toast from United States with 39 ratings

Smooth and tasty. The usual flavors you’d expect are all here. Good rum but nothing special.