Posting your rating...
Afrohead XO 15-Year rum

Rate Afrohead XO 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


17 Afrohead XO 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Ramon from United States with 74 ratings

I first tasted this rum when my local purveyor had a bottle on the sample table. They also had a representative from the distributer on hand who shared the story of the rums origin. This is a very well balanced good tasting rum as one would hope. I tend to like a good dark rum and this one is close to the mark but the barrel flavour makes it taste a bit like bourbon. I think my whiskey drinking friends would be turned on to rum after sampling it. I would drink this straight up or on the rocks with a side of Coke, I wouldn't mix it, I kinda like the burn. The price is a bit high, but it may be hard to find. When you do find it, the box and the bottle look great, it's like a gift set year round so treat yourself - YOLO

Posted about 5 years ago by Juno from United States with 51 ratings

Had this rum in Miami and had to buy a bottle. Very floral taste that leaves sugarcane on the palate. Not a fan of the XO bottle because it hides the caramel color.

Posted at Hidden Harbor 4 months ago by beeporama (PREMIUM) from United States with 23 ratings

Despite the attestation of Toby Tyler (master blender) that there is no added sugar, this had a vanilla sweetness that reminded me of Zaya. For something of this age, I would have expected more oak... it's there, but not the kind of smokiness I'd like. I know this is aged in bourbon barrels, but overall, it was way smoother than I expected. Which would be a good thing for almost anyone, so I do recommend this as a sipping rum, but I think I prefer styles with more character.

Posted about 1 year ago by je_farley from United States with 101 ratings

Very floral to both the nose and tongue with a strong bite at the end. A very interesting taste but not to my liking...felt there was not a lot of body for an aged rum. It was nice to try but will not be a stocker.

Posted about 1 year ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

I recently discovered this rum in the Bahamas.

I was skeptical. I understand and appreciate the cultural and ethic significance of the bottle but at first glance I found it bizarre and not typical of a high quality rum. But, this is a high quality rum.

The nose is floral and maple. Its very balanced, a little on the spicy side but still has a nice strong sweetness. It really has a bit of everything going on which I found very unique. The finish is smooth with an added oak and citrus note.

Anything less than a 9 for this rum is ridiculous... This is a must try.

This is a sipper.

Posted about 1 year ago by Capt. Rick from United States with 3 ratings

Incredibly smooth and so sippable either on the rocks or straight up. This rum is always my go-to rum when friends come over. And knowing the history of how it's made, I have gotten my whiskey drinking friends to really appreciate a good rum.

Posted over 1 year ago by DucksFan16 from United States with 52 ratings

VERY deep and complex aroma, oaky, delicious. Taste is very complex, deep, bold, vanilla, slight alcohol, smooth. Tastes very similar to El Dorado 21 to me, except more bold and dry. 90+

Posted over 1 year ago by Amalas from United States with 65 ratings

A little bit of burn, but in a good way. Following that is a ton of flavor, including botanicals and oak.

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Had a rum tasting on a sunny afternoon, because why not. Afrohead XO Rum bottle and label design looks nice and unique. Light golden color from artificial flavoring. Strong alcohol, wood and vanilla to the nose and palate. Strong burn at the end. Whisky lovers can add 2 points, but this is not my cup of tea.

Posted over 2 years ago by Toast from United States with 39 ratings

Smooth and tasty. The usual flavors you’d expect are all here. Good rum but nothing special.

Posted over 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

This is a very nice tasting rum.

Vanilla, spice, toffee, oak, and bourbon. A bit strong at 43%abv, but I find the taste good enough for that strength (I only like stronger rums if they're really good).

Posted over 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 5 ratings

so, where is Afrohead supposed to originate? Mine is from Trinidad, aged 15 years in oak casks. The label says to expect flavor of vanilla and caramel. To me, this is an OK rum, but not really up to my expectations. Perhaps it will have a unique charm to some folks, but not for a regular in my glass. Life is too short, and there are a lot of rums to try.

Posted over 3 years ago by Darrell from United States with 26 ratings

Not bad but nothing to write home about. I would drink it in a pinch. On the harsh side without the depth.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Kim from United States with 10 ratings

Found this harsh. The makers are bottlers not distillers. It had a rum burn, I find this in lower rums.
Like the bottle and art.

Posted almost 4 years ago by David Sauter (PREMIUM) from United States with 5 ratings

Smooth with slight smoky finish. Found it in Nashville which is not whisky country!

Posted about 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I had read about this rum from several sources. I tried to order it via local stores but no one could get it for me. Then I take a weekend trip on the Florida Gulf Coast...a section known as "the Forgotten Coast" (Google it)...and run across a single bottle in a little store called The Port Fine Wine & Spirits in Port St. Joe, Florida.

Just goes to show that you never know what you'll find if you'll just look.

The color is a rich amber...almost mahogany...that sits clear in the glass. Swirling it in the snifter leaves nice ringlets and legs that slowly slide down the sides.

It has an aroma of sweetness and astringency at the same time. Tickles the nose.

The flavor it quite smooth with noticeable sweetness. Not overly sweet but enough to make me think it may have been sweetened a bit. However the master blender at Afrohead claims it has not been sweetened (NOTE: This is from various interviews I read online.) According to the label it has been aged in oak barrels for 15 years which explains the smoothness. However there is little bitterness which seems to come from barrels may have been toasted but not charred but according to what I have read online they use ex-bourbon barrels which normally are charred. It is bottled at 86 proof so it is a little more potent than the typical rum. It has pronounced vanilla and toffee tones to the flavor and I seem to detect a bit of butteriness to it. It has a pleasant finish which lingers on the tongue. There is no real burn to it but offers a slow warmth instead.

A delightful rum worthy of sipping as well as using in mixed drinks.

Posted about 5 years ago by Felipe P from United States with 70 ratings

Honestly didn't give this run much hope. Then I tried it. Then I tried it 2 more times. I was impressed by the smoothness. And unlike all the other "aged" rums offered at the Miami Rum Renaissance festival that day, it didn't have that odd chemical smell that has begun to permeate most established brands.