Posting your rating...
Bundaberg Small Batch rum

Rate Bundaberg Small Batch

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


20 Bundaberg Small Batch ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 4 months ago by Paul from Australia with 104 ratings

Tasty and has a punch. has nice fragrant etc and the bottle is cool
worth having a bottle on the self

Posted 4 months ago by Jaroslav Nečas from Czech Republic with 54 ratings

Na rozdíl od Bundaberg Original se jeho chuť a vůně blíží středoamerickým rumům. Prozatím jde o nejlepší rum co jsem od značky Bundagerg ochutnal.

Posted 6 months ago by Skene from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

Loved this at first. Drank a bottle over a couple of days. Not too sweet, some complexity, long finish. The 2nd bottle has been held in reserve for occasional sipping and now seems to have more of an antiseptic taste. Less pleasant by far, so drink it quickly!

Posted 8 months ago by I3R0K3N7FEET from United Kingdom with 63 ratings

This is a fairly non-offensive rum, easy to drink. Lacks any real notable character. Neat tastes like a smooth sweet whisky with an ever-so-slight caramel flavour. Actually, I am rather underwhelmed, considering the price there are so many better choices as far as rums go. Those that appreciate a single malt looking to move to a sipping rum might find this a pleasant surprise, but as far as rums go, this is a slightly better version of Ron Zapaca in my books, some might think thats a compliment, but what I mean by that is, it lacks any real rum-like aspect, and bold flavour.

Posted 9 months ago by Tab44 from Australia with 19 ratings

Smoother than normal Bundy, not a smooth as central aAmerican rums.

Posted 9 months ago by Pete034 from Australia with 20 ratings

Not quite to the standard of the Caribbean and South American runs, but still a nice neat rum to drink

Posted 11 months ago by Doc (PREMIUM) from United States with 26 ratings

I’m a huge Bundy fan, sadly living in the US it’s a rare treat. But being blessed with an Aussie daughter-in-law does have its privileges 😎 This is a smooth, aromatic, perfect sipping rum with a fantastic finish. A special thanks to the Quantas purser that introduced me to Bundy many years ago! 👍

Posted 11 months ago by Mr_s888 from Australia with 6 ratings

As an avid Bundaberg UP avoider it too me years to pluck the courage to sample the Small Batch. I shouldn’t have waited for so long. It’s a much smoother rum. Mixes well. Definitely worth spending a few extra $$ to enjoy a much better product.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Matt_M from Australia with 1 rating

Throughout my younger days always loved the up bundy and coke. After trying this it's hard to go back to up. So much smoother than regular bundy while still similar in taste. Price increase is worth it just for the perfect cork opening sound every time you have a drink.

Posted over 2 years ago by Cameron from Australia with 19 ratings

Great as a mixer with coke or in cocktails. I probably wouldn't drink it neat myself but I am sure a few do!

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

I had an amazing opportunity to try a dozen different unopened Bundaberg's with my Aussie colleague last year and the Small Batch is one smooth rum. Has a lot of whisky like flavor profile and a bit of a afterburn at the end, but out of all the Bundy's I had a chance to try out, this was one of the smoothest of them all. Very close to the 10 year old Bundy in flavor profile.

Posted over 2 years ago by Rick from Netherlands with 20 ratings

Tis een heerlijk rummetje om lekker weg te drinken in de kroeg.

Posted almost 3 years ago by mitch from Australia with 5 ratings

Probably my favourite from the bundaberg range, worlds apart from up bundy. Full bodied flavour with a sweet after taste very nice on the tongue

Posted over 3 years ago by anoinoz from Australia with 9 ratings

Normal Bundis tend to be mixer drink at best. This is more caribbean in its flavours.

I got it discounted from VintageCellars, and at that price point it was the best option on the shelf.

It's quite far from the MDC rums though, which is a shame.

Posted over 4 years ago by Dave from Switzerland with 30 ratings

When I started drinking rum I liked the good old classic bundaberg, but as I moved forward experiencing carribean rum I felt the difference and the rest of the classic bundaberg would only be used for some mix cocktails. As I saw this bottle I gave bundaberg another chance and really wasn't disappointed. A nice, dark and sweet rum for easy straight up drinking.

Posted over 4 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 194 ratings

Nice nose , sugarcane honey smell , sweetish tasting and pretty smooth.Has a bit of an alcohol burn at the finish but all in all not a bad offering from Bundaberg. Struggled to sip straight after a couple of mouth fulls but does make an excellent mixer with their own brand of Ginger ale and a slice of lime with ice.For the price though there are several i would prefer...

Posted almost 5 years ago by Tony from Australia with 1 rating

Its smooth and full flavored. ..goes really well mixed strong with cascade ginger ale mixer....its in my top two along with the Double Barrel

Posted almost 5 years ago by Shane Evans from Australia with 4 ratings

This I have on special drink days. Nice drop as a dark and stormy (rum mixed with ginger ale). Still have some left in bottle in fridge but for not much longer b

Posted about 5 years ago by NickTheGreek from Australia with 18 ratings

Easy quaffable rum. More than a few times I have drank a bottle before I knew it and was off chops.

Small Batch is a mid-range Bundaberg Rum at around $50. It's above their standard range of UP/OP products ($35), but below the Master Distiller Collection (MDC) range at $90.

Not as oaky as a lot of their rums. Which is a bonus. A lot sweeter than a lot of the Bundy range as well. Also not as hot on the throat with the alcohol burn.

Beautiful golden colour. You can do 1 or 2 shots neat, but I'd draw the line there.

Because of its sweetness and distinct lack of oakyness this will mix with a lot of other drinks other than Coke.

But for what it's worth, lots of ice, 2 shots of Small Batch, few shakes of Coke Zero (no sugar) and we are in business here.

Beautiful stuff.

Posted over 5 years ago by MalB from Australia with 12 ratings

For your buck there are better options out there. Its drinkable on the rocks or neat in a pinch, if you like a bit of warmth in your throat. The unfortunate part is this is meant to be a cut above this distiller and unfortunately it is well short of some of their other offerings at similar or lower prices (Distiller's NO.3, Bundy Red and Select Vat).
I wouldn't call it a sipper, not the worst I have tried, but not comparable with others in the same price range.
There also seemed to be a definite flavour difference between Batch 1 and batch 2, with batch 1 being far more mellow.