Posting your rating...
Rumbullion XO 15-Year rum

Rate Rumbullion XO 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


23 Rumbullion XO 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 1 year ago by Quintin from United Kingdom with 61 ratings

It lives up to it's hype. It has very strong flavours to start. A mixture of of aniseed, cardimon, orange peel and a whole lot of spices. A proper "Christmas pudding" as another reviewer said. Easy sipping once it's sat on an ice cube for a minute or two.

Posted over 1 year ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 374 ratings

This is not for me , far too harsh on flavours of orange and aniseed . Like a Christmas pudding I'm a glass which some people in the market will love, sadly not this pirate ...

Posted 7 months ago by Harry Molema from South Africa with 22 ratings

Smooth and full of flavor...gives u a bit a head with cola.

Posted over 1 year ago by Tony Lindo from Panama with 133 ratings

Buen Día feliz año 2019 este mi primer reporte de este año hemos seleccionado este ron totalmente espaciado con canela como predominante

Posted over 1 year ago by chasles22 (PREMIUM) from United States with 46 ratings

I feel like the base here could be so much on its own. As it's presented i get a lot of orange peel and lemon lime soda. Too much anise. Generally too medicinal and yet too sweet. Just not as good as i was hoping.

edit:
had another chance to try it.

Posted over 1 year ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 237 ratings

On the background, there is interesting sweet spice. Now lets go to the negatives. The base might be rum, but the spices turn it into mouth wash. Also I noticed slight beer flavor, which does not add any points either. And it needs to be diluted with a spoon of water because 46% is too much.

Posted over 1 year ago by Peter from Estonia with 92 ratings

As said earlier, not a big fan of spiced ones, but this is OK

Posted over 1 year ago by Simon Doherty from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Cardamom, Orange Peel, Cinnamon. It was the favourite at a tasting I had with with non rum drinkers.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Twice as World Best Spiced Rum, so must be quite good. Appeared shy and mellow, perhaps a mistake to try this after the Navy. But still with promising curious mineral nuance with burning waxy candle, subtle and rounded spices with toasted oak. However, neither as chic as PCA nor expressive as the Navy. Stay in the middle of the lane and harmless. (18/25)

P- Medium body, wood shaving, toasted spices and toffee, a light kick up of citrus peel, but then remained muted and do not develop well if you are expecting it. Again, trying this after the far better Navy do not help. Everything seems too gentle and lack notable attribute. (18/25)

F- Short, decent texture, pleasant mouthfeel with coat of spicy toasted oak. (17/25)

Balance:- Fairy decent but lack the stamina to gives more when the expectation is high. World Best Spiced Rum, certainly I am expecting more. (17/25)

Weighted Rate:- 70pt

— at The Rum Bar KL.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Chris L from United Kingdom with 78 ratings

I was expecting just a smoother version of the original Rumbullion, but what I got was a more full bodied rummy taste, and the spices were more subtle than in the original.
Still a slow sipper, not that easy to drink when downed fast due to the huge warmth you get from it, very good though

Posted over 2 years ago by Teis Madsen from Denmark with 113 ratings

Smager for meget af stjerneanis ikke lige min kop te

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Had very high expectations of the Rumbullion XO 15y since its so rare find here in the US, but what a big disappointment. Bottle is very nice, points to the execution, but then it's downhill from here onwards. Smell test reveals a weird metallic odor and very artificial smells. Hardly any burn, but the aniseed flavor just simply does not work for me. Flavor profile is similar to the awful Don Papa 10y rum from the Philippines which struggled to earn a score of 2.

Posted over 2 years ago by Mr Prickle from United Kingdom with 9 ratings

One of my favourites.

Fantastic aroma of cinnamon, cloves burnt wood etc.

Taste bursting with lots of flovours, a little mulled wine. Follows with nice long spices and lots of oak -

Reminds me of Christmas in front of an open fire!

Posted at Burlock over 2 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 136 ratings

Amazing nose to start. Sweet hazlenut and nutmeg. A lot to like about the taste, starts really nice and sweet - just like I like it. Then a little spice with a medium finish. Only thing holding this down is a little bitter/tart taste that comes through. Still good sipper and I'd have it again.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Threepwood from United Kingdom with 86 ratings

This 15 year old batch is very nice, and a slightly smoother improvement over the regular Rumbullion. A rum full of flavour - perhaps delivers less of a spicy punch as the original rum, but a decent sipping rum over ice.

It's a bit pricey, but worth it for a special occassion.

Posted about 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I had this side by side with Rumbullion Spiced, and I definitely preferred this one. The Rumbullion spice was mostly spice and orange, while the XO is mostly spice and rum, with a nice 46.2% kick (vs 43% for the Spiced).

Smells and tastes of cloves and rum, with just a little vanilla, orange, and cinnamon. It's the added rum flavor that makes this better than the Spiced to me.

To the user that asked if there's a better spiced rum, I believe the Koloa Spiced Rum tops this one. :-)

Posted over 3 years ago by Celia Miner from United States with 30 ratings

Not a spiced rum fan, but Rumbullion converted me. The only reason I held back from 10 is that the regular Rumbullion spiced was better.

Posted over 3 years ago by Craig from United Kingdom with 35 ratings

A huge hit of creamy, sweet vanilla and juicy, freshly sliced oranges. There is a mulled wine-like delivery of toasted cinnamon and cloves. Aromatic notes of dark chocolate and fragrant oak develop in the glass.

Palate: Exceedingly thick, mouth-coating palate-entry offering up orange marmalade and even a hint of blackberry. Leathery an wood provide a complex backbone alongside a huge dosing of cinnamon, cloves and liquorice.

Finish: Long in fact huge! sparkling finish with notes of old-fashioned cola cubes and intense bittersweet orange. A final flutter of toasted oak appears on the tail.

Posted over 3 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

The spice is mostly vanilla, some anise. Very sweet. Not something I could drink a lot of, but that's pretty typical for commercial spiced rums.

Posted over 3 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 206 ratings

In stilul caracteristic dar aroma de rom este mai puternic prezentă din cauza vechimii.

Posted over 3 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

A very interesting spiced rum. The aftertaste was great. Nice texture.

Posted about 5 years ago by Grand Master Jay from United Kingdom with 80 ratings

Initially this has a nice kick however the cloves and aniseed make this off putting as it is not balanced. The more you drink it starts to become cloying and disgusting. Must add that it lingers in the mouth and does not burn afterwards.

Posted over 5 years ago by Michael Evans from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

The standard Rumbullion is my favourite spiced rum so I was expecting big things from this and it didn't disappoint. If there was anything bad to say about this rum it would be that it is maybe a little heavy on the cloves and star anise but its got a great kick and bags of flavour.