Posting your rating...
Ryoma 7-Year rum

Ryoma 7-Year

Japan | Aged

Ryoma 7-Year rum is made from sugar cane grown in Japan's oldest cane plantation, then aged for 7 years in oak casks. The rum produced by Kikusui, a distillery located about 300 km SW of Osaka, Japan.

The Ryoma Rum's namesake is Sakamoto Ryōma, a prominent figure in the Tokugawa shogun's overthrow, marking the end of Japan's last feudal military government that transitioned in 1868.

5.5/10(49 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
8
4
19
8
3
1

Rate Ryoma 7-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

49 Ryoma 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by AndReginald from Italy with 48 ratings

Is this a Rum? Yes, by definition it surely is. But it just stops there. The best thing I can compare it to is cachaça. But it is a second cousin of cachaça. Is it a good liquor? Sure it is. Is it a good rum? Not even close.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Johannes from Germany with 62 ratings

The smoky smell lingers for quite a while in the glass, really a rum (Cachaça) you should try

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Raph C from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

This was not particularly my style of rum. A mix of bitter & dryness. Also closer to the taste & flavour of Sake than Rum.
I'd say - if you like Sake, this one is worth testing !

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Kamamura from Czech Republic with 31 ratings

The bottle is quite attractive with its minimalist design, resembling those ceramic bottles sake is poured from we all know from old black and white Japanese movies.

In the glass, the color is pale straw yellow, obviously a natural color obtained just by barrel aging, so points for that! Stern contrast with certain brands that are aged for a few years, yet resemble maple syrup due to heavy caramel dose.

The nose is delicate, vegetal, grassy, and earthy, wet grass, moss.

On the palate, this rum is very delicate and complex, resembling agricole rhums, but much less assertive, with a distinct brine note, but perfectly harmonious. There is an underlying hint of a sweet note, resembling a fleeting smile of a sympathetic stranger.

The finish is warm and medium-length.

This is a very clean-tasting honest rum, without any additives, sugars, fruit extracts and suspicious wine cask "finishes" many producers use to cater for the popular cravings for sweet taste. Beginners will tell you that it's "raw" and "young", because their taste buds are pampered with loads of sugar and other additives they are used to, but don't listen to that - in this rum, you are tasting the pure distilled cane spirit
aged in oak barrels, nothing more, but also nothing less.

Therefore, I am compelled to give this rum the perfect score. It won't please everyone, but neither will an original book or a daring painting.

This rum goes its own way, regardless of opinions of others, and that is something I must appreciate. We need more rums like this.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by PeteRR from Finland with 3 ratings

Feels like Sake + Rum= Advance
Nopea maku, jälkimaku on pitkä
Toimii oluen kanssa

Small img 20201204 wa0013

Posted 1 month ago by Dannyvdh from Netherlands with 10 ratings

Tasted this Rum since i am a big fan of Japan and tje bottle looks like it comes directly out of the move the Ring.
The rum is Interesting until you take a sip. The harsh flavour takes away the fun in my oppinion. You are better of with Japanese Whisky

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by attalal9 from Sweden with 17 ratings

Ryoma is somewhat of an acquired taste, something is funky but not in the Jamaican-kind-of-way. Still agreeable, grows on me.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Komatus from Slovakia with 36 ratings

If you expect smooth rum, you will be disappointed for sure. But as trying sth new, worth to taste

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 162 ratings

N'est pas dans mes goûts. Très cher pour seulement un 7 ans. J'ai goûté des meilleurs rhum pour la moitié de son prix.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Marty from Czech Republic with 66 ratings

Bleee. .

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Stadaik from Greece with 38 ratings

Light color. Very very strong alcohol nose and taste. I tried net at the begining and i added 2 drops water after. I will never tried again. Didnt liked...sorry Japan