Posting your rating...

8.7/10 (87 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
10
17
42
16

Rate Diplomatico 2001

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


87 Diplomatico 2001 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Pako from France with 11 ratings

I have got one bottle and might not buy another one near soon cause of the price but the taste is there !

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

Diplomatico single vintage rums are one of my all time favorites. I drank the 2000, 2001, and 2002 side by side, and I really struggled to tell them apart.

Has an amazing smell of rich butter toffee, caramel, and butterscotch, with a light sherry taste that isn't strong enough to detract from the rum. Taste is an amazing follow up to the nose. Strong at 43%abv, but so good the added strength is perfect. Another amazing rum from Diplomatico.

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by Mikkel Nielsen from Denmark with 32 ratings

I like this one alot, great taste but it is abit expensive.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Diplomatico 2001 Single Vintage is an amazingly smooth rum, but the reality is that Reserva Exclusiva is less than half the price and offers you 98% the same experience. Both 2000 and 2001 Single Vintage bottles are very hard to find in the US, but taste exactly the same. If you find one, you have tasted both.

Here's my top 30 list:
1. Ron Tres Loco de Vinos from Vinoble Skanderborg
2. Ron Esclavo XO Cask Strength
3. Legendario Gran Reserva 15y
4. Cubaney Centenario 25-30y
5. Companero Panama
6. Ron Esclavo XO
7. Ron Millonario XO and 15y
8. Plantation Barbados XO 20th Anniversary
9. El Dorado 25y
10. Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva and Single Vintage
11. Presidente Marti 23y and 19y
12. Cubaney 18y
13. Pusser's 15y
14. Black Tot
15. El Pasador de Oro XO
16. Bavaro Black Ultra Premium
17. Punta Cana Esplendido
18. Edmundo Dantes 15y
19. Pampero Aniversario
20. Bacoo 12y
21. Ron Esclavo 15y and 12y
22. El Pasador de Oro Gran Reserva
23. Brugal Leyenda
24. Exquisito 1990 and 1995
25. Koloa Kaua'i Coconut
26. Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala & Belize
27. Unhiq XO
28. Ron Hero 21y Solera
29. Punta Cana XOX
30. Ron Cartavio XO

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by hyenik from Czech Republic with 110 ratings

fruit, fruit, fruit :) smooth, sweet rum with touch of power = diplomatico

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 213 ratings

Great sipper, long aftertaste. În buna tradiție Diplomatico un rom minunat!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

My first foray into the Diplomatico range and must say interesting but a very welcome to have a single vintage which I have never come across within my short rum journey.

Dark Amber/reddish in colour. Very nice aroma, complex am getting notes of burned sugar, some tobacco, maybe dried fruits.

This tastes silky smooth, mouth enveloping, sweet but balanced with the other flavours of spice. Long sweet, rich dry finish with a spicy tingling.

Perfect after dinner drink.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by koomander from Singapore with 17 ratings

feels sophisticated . First few bottles of rum that I started collecting.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- After the underwhelming 2002 and 2004, hopes are not high with this one, but it turn out that this particular vintage are well crafted and restore some respect on this special vintage release to commemorate the few excellent harvest years on sugar cane in Venezuela history. Rock sugar jar, white coffee and also dark cherries, thick and smoggy strength teases the nose well, landed quite full with distant rubbery scents and ashy roughness. Well layered for long nosing and this gives you something recognizable. (87/21)

P- Balanced of waxy dried fruits, oily, floral and roasted brown sugar. Sugar probably added, but at good measures. Oak came thru well with hearty feels. (85/19)

F- Medium long, lasting gingery coat. Waxy, hint of creamy bitter oak, unsalted peel nuts. (87/21)

B/B- 86/20

Weighted Rate - 81pt
— at The Rum Bar KL.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Swervin_Kervin from United States with 45 ratings

This is almost a perfect rum. I call it the fear because I can easily down the bottle in a night. The 2004 is a but more dry. This rum is sweet chocolate coffee with a burn.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Meikomat from Germany with 34 ratings

Schön kräftig und würzig. Abgang ist gut, könnte länger sein