Posting your rating...
Diplomatico 2001 rum

Rate Diplomatico 2001

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


86 Diplomatico 2001 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by A.Greenleaf from United States with 51 ratings

The first thing I noticed is the caramel and sweet smells coming from the glass. When you sip this rum the soft body of the rum just floats across your tongue. Getting baking spices and caramel or brown sugar on the palette and cinnamon on the finish. Good sipping rum.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

Diplomatico single vintage rums are one of my all time favorites. I drank the 2000, 2001, and 2002 side by side, and I really struggled to tell them apart.

Has an amazing smell of rich butter toffee, caramel, and butterscotch, with a light sherry taste that isn't strong enough to detract from the rum. Taste is an amazing follow up to the nose. Strong at 43%abv, but so good the added strength is perfect. Another amazing rum from Diplomatico.

Posted over 4 years ago by Mikkel Nielsen from Denmark with 32 ratings

I like this one alot, great taste but it is abit expensive.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Diplomatico 2001 Single Vintage is an amazingly smooth rum, but the reality is that Reserva Exclusiva is less than half the price and offers you 98% the same experience. Both 2000 and 2001 Single Vintage bottles are very hard to find in the US, but taste exactly the same. If you find one, you have tasted both.

Here's my top 30 list:
1. Ron Tres Loco de Vinos from Vinoble Skanderborg
2. Ron Esclavo XO Cask Strength
3. Legendario Gran Reserva 15y
4. Cubaney Centenario 25-30y
5. Companero Panama
6. Ron Esclavo XO
7. Ron Millonario XO and 15y
8. Plantation Barbados XO 20th Anniversary
9. El Dorado 25y
10. Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva and Single Vintage
11. Presidente Marti 23y and 19y
12. Cubaney 18y
13. Pusser's 15y
14. Black Tot
15. El Pasador de Oro XO
16. Bavaro Black Ultra Premium
17. Punta Cana Esplendido
18. Edmundo Dantes 15y
19. Pampero Aniversario
20. Bacoo 12y
21. Ron Esclavo 15y and 12y
22. El Pasador de Oro Gran Reserva
23. Brugal Leyenda
24. Exquisito 1990 and 1995
25. Koloa Kaua'i Coconut
26. Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala & Belize
27. Unhiq XO
28. Ron Hero 21y Solera
29. Punta Cana XOX
30. Ron Cartavio XO

Posted about 4 years ago by hyenik from Czech Republic with 110 ratings

fruit, fruit, fruit :) smooth, sweet rum with touch of power = diplomatico

Posted almost 4 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 206 ratings

Great sipper, long aftertaste. În buna tradiție Diplomatico un rom minunat!

Posted about 4 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

My first foray into the Diplomatico range and must say interesting but a very welcome to have a single vintage which I have never come across within my short rum journey.

Dark Amber/reddish in colour. Very nice aroma, complex am getting notes of burned sugar, some tobacco, maybe dried fruits.

This tastes silky smooth, mouth enveloping, sweet but balanced with the other flavours of spice. Long sweet, rich dry finish with a spicy tingling.

Perfect after dinner drink.

Posted 9 months ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- After the underwhelming 2002 and 2004, hopes are not high with this one, but it turn out that this particular vintage are well crafted and restore some respect on this special vintage release to commemorate the few excellent harvest years on sugar cane in Venezuela history. Rock sugar jar, white coffee and also dark cherries, thick and smoggy strength teases the nose well, landed quite full with distant rubbery scents and ashy roughness. Well layered for long nosing and this gives you something recognizable. (87/21)

P- Balanced of waxy dried fruits, oily, floral and roasted brown sugar. Sugar probably added, but at good measures. Oak came thru well with hearty feels. (85/19)

F- Medium long, lasting gingery coat. Waxy, hint of creamy bitter oak, unsalted peel nuts. (87/21)

B/B- 86/20

Weighted Rate - 81pt
— at The Rum Bar KL.

Posted 9 months ago by Swervin_Kervin from United States with 44 ratings

This is almost a perfect rum. I call it the fear because I can easily down the bottle in a night. The 2004 is a but more dry. This rum is sweet chocolate coffee with a burn.

Posted over 1 year ago by Meikomat from Germany with 34 ratings

Schön kräftig und würzig. Abgang ist gut, könnte länger sein

Posted about 2 years ago by Hynek from Czech Republic with 5 ratings

Light at start but strong startling and woody go through with herb ending. Of course sense of alcohol is present.

Posted about 2 years ago by Pavel Strnad from Czech Republic with 19 ratings

Diplomatico special. Like improved Reserva. Excellent present, to cabinet, delicate but still sweet and very fruity taste.

Posted over 2 years ago by Werner from Switzerland with 1 rating

Ein herrlicher Rhum. Gut in der Nase. Dunkle Schokolade, Banane, Melasse. Am Gaumen, fruchtig und langer Abgang.

Posted over 2 years ago by Brett Johnson from United States with 32 ratings

I am into fruity or mostly molasses flavored rums. But this is a nice burn rum

Posted over 2 years ago by fedebelga from Belgium with 8 ratings

Comparable to the Reserva Exclusiva but an even more tasteful and smoother nose, aroma and overall tast. Top-notch!

Posted over 2 years ago by Tomas Venturi from Sweden with 17 ratings

Väldigt hög smak av lång lagring på ekfat och inte så söt utan fatkaraktären är starkast i smakspectrat, men ändå god i mitt tycke. Men som sagt inte min favorit rom då jag gillar något sötare smak.

Posted over 2 years ago by Steven Atkinson from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

One of my personal favourites, took a few tastes to true ly appreciate it, but love the sweetness from the sherry casks!

Posted over 2 years ago by Ronnie bo jensen from Denmark with 27 ratings

Nice, good, easy drinkeble rum... i am sure you Can do better for apox. 700kr.

Posted over 2 years ago by Daniel from Denmark with 25 ratings

This is definitely a tasty rum, but unfortunately it's just a little too oaky for my taste.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Philip Rademaker from Curaçao with 50 ratings

Really delicious! Extremely good rum, not as good as the 2000, but hard to distinguish. You'd be hard put to find a better sipping rum!

Posted almost 3 years ago by CamelRum from Switzerland with 5 ratings

wowowowowowowowowoowowowowowowowowowwowowowowowow!

Posted almost 3 years ago by Reto from Switzerland with 89 ratings

it's a very good one ... sweet & harmonic taste ... wow.

Posted about 3 years ago by Pako from France with 11 ratings

I have got one bottle and might not buy another one near soon cause of the price but the taste is there !

Posted about 3 years ago by Jiri from Czech Republic with 29 ratings

One if the best rums, fantastic smell and taste. To be honest I cannot differentiate between 2001x 2000. The only price limits in regular sipping.

Posted about 3 years ago by Golfm from Denmark with 153 ratings

Diplomatico Single Vintage 2001 is a unique vintage rum developed from a single harvest, the best ever recorded in Venezuela.




#