Posting your rating...
Mezan XO Jamaica rum

Mezan XO Jamaica

Caribbean | Aged

7.0/10
78 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
3
13
25
25
5
2

Rate Mezan XO Jamaica

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

78 Mezan XO Jamaica ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 204 ratings

I had higher hopes for this one given prior tastings of Mezan rums. I better understand the Jamaican flavor. This was a bit strong, but it mixed fine with Coke. I have it as a 5.5

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 471 ratings

I tried this alongside the Mezan Jamaica 2000. I prefer the 2000.

Both were dry, but the 2000 had a lot more flavor to it, while the XO was relatively plain in comparison. Smells and tastes of oak and spice with a touch of bourbon.

Not bad, but I recommend the Jamaica 2000.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Martin Roman from Slovakia with 39 ratings

Good taste, not very bitter and I like this types.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I think I may have come across another brand to really enjoy to go along with Plantation and Clement.

According to the label, this rum (and I assume based upon their website all Mezan rums) is "unblended, unsweetened, uncolored, and only lightly filtered".

In the bottle and in my snifter this rum is a light yellow hue reminding me of something I dare not mention here (TMI). It has a very nice aroma and good legs. This is small batch rum with only 5000 bottles produced. One they are gone, they are gone for good. My bottle is labeled as coming from batch number 008146.

According to online sources this rum is a blend from two distilleries in Jamaica: Monymusk and Hampden. Then the rum blend is re-aged (whatever that is) in used bourbon barrels.

The flavor is quite interesting. There is an initial sweetness to it that is subtle but the aging in bourbon barrels bring about a noticeable oakiness to it. I get some vanilla and banana (?) mixed in. There is a nice warmth to it...not really a burn. And the finish is somewhat dry with the oak tannins present.

No two ways about it...this is a sipping rum par excellence. It would be a crime to use this in mixed drinks. Maybe a little water on one cube of ice to bring out the subtleties but that's it. This is a very smooth rum.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Pretty clear gold color. Floral and fruity notes and the oak stay discreet. Lot of banana flavor. The taste is sweet with a short dry finish . First rum from this company. Nice discovery .

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Chris from Belgium with 100 ratings

With his 'untouched' caracter, this Mezan has a nice light gold color. On the nose , as annouced the banana is well present. Smooth and a little too short in mouth.
It was quite a suprise and a like the idea of honest rum which do not try to change what it is by adding extra ingredient.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by rumfan69 from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

Ok I feel really mean giving this a 4 as others really loved it and it does have some plus point, ie no detectable added sugar and only a small amount of added E150. The thing is even with all that, I didn't like it and here's why - that overripe stewed banana taste. Now don't get me wrong, I like bananas but not the banana that’s in this. You can taste other things too, it gives complex oaky tobacco and I'm guessing it's been aged in American and the finish is fairly long but.. it's not for me. Sorry all the folks at Mezan and thanks for trying to really cut down on additives too.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by RumRas from United States with 7 ratings

Jamaican funk, dry finish and some years in wood. Relatively new in the market but great quality overall. Pot still notes and great complexity, full of depth and character

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Chris L from United Kingdom with 77 ratings

Only tried a quick sample of this, but had a nice smooth and complex taste but not overpowering.