Posting your rating...
Mezan XO Jamaica rum

Mezan XO Jamaica

Caribbean | Aged

7.0/10
77 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
3
13
24
25
5
2

Rate Mezan XO Jamaica

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

77 Mezan XO Jamaica ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Bamboleo from Germany with 21 ratings

I think I rated this too low the first time around. It is actually a pretty decent jamaican rum, not super funky, a good entry jamaican.

Small 20210106 185826

Posted over 3 years ago by Hans-Durstig from United Kingdom with 45 ratings

This is something else.
I love the concept of the "untouched rum" and my favourites come from Foursquare distilleries where Richard Seale is the Barbados advocate of the unadulterated rum.
Bought from Marks & Spencer at reasonable price the box and bottle are attractive and do well for a present.
Remarkably light in colour, due to lack of caramel colouring.
Nose: Described as "pungent" they're not kidding. It's an esther filled punch of overripe bananas. Initially overwhelmed I came round to it after 10min in the glas as the funk had tamed. Does will with an ice cube.
Mouth: Aromas of (over)ripe fruit fade quite quickly, there is a sizeable vanilla hit. Fruity but not sugary.
Sweetness 2/5
Throat: Moderate burn, aromas don't linger long.
I'm not rushing to get another bottle but I relish the experience.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 472 ratings

This is a good quality clean rum that is not a load of added suger but flavour is rum ... Sadly the market has overtaken this one

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Tom Rhoads from United States with 88 ratings

This is my first of the Mezan rums and it has an aroma I was not expecting. Can't quite place it but it is very different from other rums I have tried. I would recommend this to anyone who want to try something different.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by guewen from France with 97 ratings

Belle réussite encore pour mezan, un rhum rond, léger, sec en fin de bouche, sur le bois et le fumé.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Alan from United States with 87 ratings

A solid Jamaican rum for the price. Super fresh, funky and fruity. No additives and pure flavor. This is a solid 40%abv mixer.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Olivier from United Arab Emirates with 21 ratings

Belle couleur claire qui surprend pour un XO. Parfum de banane mêlé de pointe vanillées.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by declan walker from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

Lovely rum, not quite a sipper i have to say, but I really haven't tasted a better rum in a rum and coke with ice and a lime. Also great quality for the price. Would recommend. Very interesting.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Ryan from United States with 33 ratings

Overall good taste and flavors. It had a good profile to it and was full flavored.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by David Bliss from United States with 2 ratings

On paper this rum seemed like it would be a good choice, but it just didn't work for me. It has a strong odor and a bold taste with a forceful dried banana note. Personally, I find it overpowering. Though, I wonder if I'd change my mind, were this rum in a drink combined with flavors that complement banana.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Craig from United Kingdom with 35 ratings

Very pale colour and not much going on in regards aroma - at first. Leave this in the glass for at least 20 mins because it just comes alive, gorgeous natural aromas, nothing woody or smokey which I prefer (selfish) and a nice amount of vanilla sweetness finished of by buttery banana. The palate is left with a slight tingle of spice and a lovely warm coating which lasts just long enough. A great rum and a bottle will be added to my collection very soon