Posting your rating...
Mezan XO Jamaica rum

Mezan XO Jamaica

Caribbean | Aged

7.0/10
78 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
3
13
25
25
5
2

Rate Mezan XO Jamaica

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

78 Mezan XO Jamaica ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 204 ratings

I had higher hopes for this one given prior tastings of Mezan rums. I better understand the Jamaican flavor. This was a bit strong, but it mixed fine with Coke. I have it as a 5.5

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Nevoras from Germany with 10 ratings

Der Rum riecht recht sprittig. Geschmacklich ist er recht "scharf", trocken und bringt eine gute Würze mit sich. Wer das mag, wird hier sicherlich glücklich. Für mich ist das leider nichts.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by rfnovo from United States with 7 ratings

This is a good rum, specially for the price, but it has a particular aftertaste that might not be enjoyable for everyone

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Declan from United States with 2 ratings

This rum is pretty good but not an every day supper for me. I definitely have to be in the mood for this one. It has a strong nose of banana, nuttiness, floral, and a slight hint of vanilla. On the palate I taste banana, leather, a good hit of petrol/rubbery taste, and sweet floral notes. A sophisticated rum drinker may like this but a traditional whiskey drinker would not. Overall a good funky rum for when you are in the mood for something different.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by kheiligh (PREMIUM) from United States with 47 ratings

this is a nice introduction to Jamaican rums... had a taste at false idol, and it has the usual banana, spice and tobacco, but not as strong as younger ones, like doctor bird. it's more approachable for sure.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

This is a nice bottle of lower proof, slightly hogo, unadulterated, Jamaican rum. I'd put the funk above any Appleton product but below or around some of the Plantation.

Good solid Jamaican flavor for sure.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Simon_W from Switzerland with 32 ratings

Typical fruity Wedderburn style aroma, altered through long years of tropical aging. Nice and fruity, but you taste the aging, it's not like bold unaged funky Jamaican rum, it does have that certain extra that makes it more pastry-like, deep and complex. I must say it reminded me a lot of the Plantation Jamaica Vintage 2005 13 yo. rum. The flavour and aroma are very similar. Hence I'm rather surprised about the difference in their ratings on this site! Apparently the Plantation rum does have some added sugar, while this Mezan doesn't. But in the big scheme of things this is a small detail. It wasn't a striking difference to me. To me this great rum is the perfect choice for the Tiki cocktail classics Test Pilot and (with the addition of a nutty Spanish style Sherry cask aged rum) the Mai Tai.

EDIT: IIRC the Plantation 2005 Jamaican is even somewhat more intense in the nose.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Swisslet from United Kingdom with 28 ratings

This is very pale and initially the lack of sweetness brings the alcohol to the fore. But actually, on the palate, a more subtle fruitiness comes out, leaving an intriguing, lingering aftertaste. It doesn’t taste rich and deep, but it is light and has a fine top note.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by PierreM from France with 14 ratings

Premier nez surprenant de poire, puis, on découvre un Rhum de mélasse très sec. Avec des notes de whisky, dues à la finition en fûts de bourbons. Pas mon style, j'avoue. D'où la note, malgré un rhum bien fait.

First note with pears, surprising. After : a dry taste, like a whisky, due to the bourbon cask finish I think. Not my personal taste, that's why only 6. But a good rhum for those who are looking for a non syrup rhum without added sugar.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 247 ratings

A very lightly colored Jamaican. The nose is nice and inviting with lightly fermented notes of pineapple, prunes, banana peel and soaked raisins, but also a vinous character with spicy hints of cloves and nutmeg.
The taste has less sweet elements then I would have geussed from the nose but it’s still what i would describe as a well tempererede Jamaican with notes of walnuts, apple wax, leather and milds spices in the drying finish. I’m a little surprised at the delicacy of this rum, given it’s Jamaican. But that’s not a bad thing I geuss, unless your looking for an explosive ester adventure.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by raypoignie1 from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

Delicious taste, not over sweet with a long drying finish.