Posting your rating...
Mezan XO Jamaica rum

Mezan XO Jamaica

Caribbean | Aged

7.1/10 (72 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
3
11
24
24
4
2

Rate Mezan XO Jamaica

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


72 Mezan XO Jamaica ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Pretty clear gold color. Floral and fruity notes and the oak stay discreet. Lot of banana flavor. The taste is sweet with a short dry finish . First rum from this company. Nice discovery .

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by tesibaer from Germany with 9 ratings

On the nose: Mild, tropical fruits, banana, pineapple and some sugar cane, some rubber, cotton candy / powdered sugar, some baked banana with honey.

On the palate: tropical fruits, grilled banana, pineapple, molasses, spices, sweet, then a little bit tart.

In the finish: spices, oak, first sweet, then a little bit tart with little tannins, some dark chocolate.

In der Nase: Mild, tropische Früchte, Banane, Ananas und etwas Zuckerrohr, etwas Gummi, Zuckerwatte / Puderzucker, etwas gebackene Banane mit Honig. Am Gaumen: tropische Früchte, gegrillte Banane, Ananas, Melasse, Gewürze, süß, dann etwas herber werdend. Am Gaumen: Gewürze, Eiche, erst süß, dann etwas herb mit wenig Tanninen, etwas dunkle Schokolade.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Flauda from France with 14 ratings

This is a Rhum in its purest expression, without addition, only filtering, which make you appreciate his honest taste, smooth but not too sweet, with many flavours for a pleasant moment.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Alejandro F. from Germany with 31 ratings

Ron sin aditivos ni colorantes, notas de banana y tabaco

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Nevoras from Germany with 10 ratings

Der Rum riecht recht sprittig. Geschmacklich ist er recht "scharf", trocken und bringt eine gute Würze mit sich. Wer das mag, wird hier sicherlich glücklich. Für mich ist das leider nichts.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by DFW.TX from United States with 24 ratings

Like the fact that it is basically untouched. A bit more funk than something like Appleton but nothing like a Hamilton Jamaican Pot Still. It was a nice pour neat. A little on the thin side perhaps but has a medium-long finish to it. Held up nicely in a mai tai with Clement VSOP & PF Dry Curacao. TW had it marked down to $20 so I picked up an extra. Turns out to be a good decision because it does really well neat or in a cocktail.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by rfnovo from United States with 7 ratings

This is a good rum, specially for the price, but it has a particular aftertaste that might not be enjoyable for everyone

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Declan from United States with 2 ratings

This rum is pretty good but not an every day supper for me. I definitely have to be in the mood for this one. It has a strong nose of banana, nuttiness, floral, and a slight hint of vanilla. On the palate I taste banana, leather, a good hit of petrol/rubbery taste, and sweet floral notes. A sophisticated rum drinker may like this but a traditional whiskey drinker would not. Overall a good funky rum for when you are in the mood for something different.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by kheiligh (PREMIUM) from United States with 41 ratings

this is a nice introduction to Jamaican rums... had a taste at false idol, and it has the usual banana, spice and tobacco, but not as strong as younger ones, like doctor bird. it's more approachable for sure.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

This is a nice bottle of lower proof, slightly hogo, unadulterated, Jamaican rum. I'd put the funk above any Appleton product but below or around some of the Plantation.

Good solid Jamaican flavor for sure.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Simon_W from Switzerland with 17 ratings

Typical fruity Wedderburn style aroma, altered through long years of tropical aging. Nice and fruity, but you taste the aging, it's not like bold unaged funky Jamaican rum, it does have that certain extra that makes it more pastry-like, deep and complex. I must say it reminded me a lot of the Plantation Jamaica Vintage 2005 13 yo. rum. The flavour and aroma are very similar. Hence I'm rather surprised about the difference in their ratings on this site! Apparently the Plantation rum does have some added sugar, while this Mezan doesn't. But in the big scheme of things this is a small detail. It wasn't a striking difference to me. To me this great rum is the perfect choice for the Tiki cocktail classics Test Pilot and (with the addition of a nutty Spanish style Sherry cask aged rum) the Mai Tai.

EDIT: IIRC the Plantation 2005 Jamaican is even somewhat more intense in the nose.